markfch

if i remembered correctly, one from each section, do at least 5....complete by term 2 - hand in after Jun holiday...

If your ds on, then do all lor....
      What? Do all and spoil market. In the army there's a word for these type of pple. They're called sabo king. We ain't gonna to do, brudder. :lol:

lizhi:

Does PH have Mathematical Olympiad extracurricular classes? My dd1 has joined such class before in Chongfu...I'm thinking to let my dd to join maths hub's MOT programs, is it necessary or too earlier?

I read somewhere here that PH will select students good in maths (is it in P5?) and co-pay for one term of math olympiad course conducted by maths hub. Iirc, vk2010 mentioned in the maths olympiad thread before that this is insufficient, as other maths olympiad competitors are actually having training consistently on a weekly basis throughout the year.

I thought the most impt competitions are at P5/P6 level so not so sure whether starting formal training at P3 is too early. Is it possible to train her yourself for the moment or die-die must outsource? Nevertheless, if your dd is really keen & can afford the time (you did mention that she looked tired after TLL lessons), then go for it lor.

Most imptly, come back here and update us whether the course is good. We are all waiting patiently for your evaluation. :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

starting math olympiad too early may result in :-

1. loss in interest due to more effort needed to understand questions of higher difficulty pitched at P5 / P6 level....child will lose interest if always \"don't understand\" .......

2. burnt out by the time competition are in P5 / P6

IMHO, starting in P4 would be alright and build the interest from foundation onward

Caveat : every child is different

lizhi

if i remembered correctly, one from each section, do at least 5....complete by term 2 - hand in after Jun holiday...

What? Do all and spoil market. In the army there's a word for these type of pple. They're called sabo king. We ain't gonna to do, brudder. :lol:

spoil market... :lol: here should be called kiasu king. hehe

php

hey...if do all, maybe end of the year the school presents him a Most Hardworking Student Award....

markfch

lizhi:
              anyway, once we try, will update to you. hehe ... πŸ˜‰ :lol:

Actually I'm not asking for myself lah, I'm asking for my brudder, you know the one that posted one post before yours. πŸ‘…
              hey...if do all, maybe end of the year the school presents him a Most Hardworking Student Award....
              What about PH most on-the-wrong ball award? πŸ˜‰

lizhi

1. loss in interest due to more effort needed to understand questions of higher difficulty pitched at P5 / P6 level....child will lose interest if always \"don't understand\" .......

IMHO, starting in P4 would be alright and build the interest from foundation onward

:roll: :roll: It does make sense for your saying so ...thank you, verykiasu2010

markfch

lizhi:

Makes sense to me too :celebrate:

hl124273

My gal is currently in PHPPS P2, and I started thinking about whether to transfer her to pri schools with affiliation to sec school e.g MGS. Not sure if this is worth it, but I was told that 2 of her friends are considering transfering to NanYang! I read that the cut off points for reputable sec schools are at least 150 and above.

lizhi:

it is our experience that school's prep for MO is insufficient - even for the 'select' group under AMEC - inadequate and insufficient exposure

if your child is truly passionate about math, invest in systematic math training, not just in MO. There are also courses conducted by NUS SMS... held in June / Dec, $150 for 5 mornings over a week

S6169

Agree! Like what you said, we try our best to build son's interest from foundation of math.
                        BTW, what is IMHO?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 724 / 2049

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog