Healthy breakfast for school kids
daddybear:
You do get kampung eggs in NTUC fairprice. They come in pack of six. I think I also saw in Sheng Siong.
The old myth about limiting eggs is no longer true as research have found. Kumpong eggs is, of course, the best. But how to get? If you have lobang, please PM me. I am very enthu about eggs!!! -
Oh Didn't know that... I think I should stop buying ham/sausages....Thanks lots
becos of nitrite or nitrate used in the curing process of ham, sausage, bacon, etcmicollh:
i give my girl hard boil egg, but she eats yolk and don't want the white.. mm.. anyway, did you all buy normal egg or kampung egg ? i heard kampung egg better but it costs more lor.. dunno really true or not it's better as in free of chemical stuff la..
try not to give ur children Ham/sausage tt often as these are not healthy meat and it contains substance tt's not good if take in long run.
try to use steam chicken meat and shred them to make the filling for sandwiches. (if have time, of course)
under suitable conditions will react with nitrogen to form nitrosamines which is a potent cargcinogen.
so it's better to eat less such food......
having said that, think most kids would like to eat them
Yesterday i got my P2 boy to write down breakfast menu (Mon to Fri) , hopefully a good breakfast will wake him up. To share :
Monday: Cup cakes and fresh milk
Tuesday: Bread and milo
Wednesday: Oat cereal
Thu: Roti Prata and milo
Friday: Bread , half boil eggs and fresh milk
Subject to change.
Remember to ask your child write down "subject to change", as child is quite serious sometime. -
You can give eggs to kids 5 times a week. If serving half boiled, I won’t suggest you buy those unbranded ones from the market.
Try to buy the Omega 3 enriched ones as Omega 3 is harder to find in normal food than Omega 6.
I add Nestum Cereal (the adult type) into my son’s milk drink if he doesn’t have time or doesn’t feel like eating solids. -
Anna Ng:
That's an interesting menu. Maybe I should start one for DD. She has been complaining that her breakfast's so boring.Yesterday i got my P2 boy to write down breakfast menu (Mon to Fri) , hopefully a good breakfast will wake him up. To share :
Subject to change.
Remember to ask your child write down \"subject to change\", as child is quite serious sometime.
cherrygal:
Hi Cherrygal, can we add Nestum to cold fresh milk? Or do we have to heat up the milk?You can give eggs to kids 5 times a week. If serving half boiled, I won't suggest you buy those unbranded ones from the market.
Try to buy the Omega 3 enriched ones as Omega 3 is harder to find in normal food than Omega 6.
I add Nestum Cereal (the adult type) into my son's milk drink if he doesn't have time or doesn't feel like eating solids. -
Get your DD to write down by herself. From my observation, my son is more \"willing\" to has his breakfast now. Can change menu after he feels boring.
That's an interesting menu. Maybe I should start one for DD. She has been complaining that her breakfast's so boring.Anna Ng:
Yesterday i got my P2 boy to write down breakfast menu (Mon to Fri) , hopefully a good breakfast will wake him up. To share :
Subject to change.
Remember to ask your child write down \"subject to change\", as child is quite serious sometime.
tisha:
i bought from Fairprice too, round packaging, 6 inside, i think is $3 one tray. i ever bought from wet market in redhill where the auntie(Malay) sell, she said from Msia ownself rare the chicken. not sure how true, but my mum said the eggs not fresh, she said fresh eggs wont stick on the shells ?so we never buy from her anymore.
You do get kampung eggs in NTUC fairprice. They come in pack of six. I think I also saw in Sheng Siong.daddybear:
The old myth about limiting eggs is no longer true as research have found. Kumpong eggs is, of course, the best. But how to get? If you have lobang, please PM me. I am very enthu about eggs!!! -
micollh:
You mean after boiling?
i bought from Fairprice too, round packaging, 6 inside, i think is $3 one tray. i ever bought from wet market in redhill where the auntie(Malay) sell, she said from Msia ownself rare the chicken. not sure how true, but my mum said the eggs not fresh, she said fresh eggs wont stick on the shells ?so we never buy from her anymore.tisha:
You do get kampung eggs in NTUC fairprice. They come in pack of six. I think I also saw in Sheng Siong.
Once DH had bought the kampung eggs from the wet mkt(admiralty). Never checked whether fresh or not. I must be more careful next time.
To check whether an egg is fresh or not, can put the egg in a glass of water, if it sinks it is fresh, if it floats dump it.
Im not so sure abt that too, whether stick on egg shells means not fresh or not, but my mum said so. yeah i read abt the floating test too. but is it before or after cooked?i forgotten.
now, i stick to the kampung egg bought fairprice , can get the same from cold storage too.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.