Parenting gone wrong?

21 Posts 13 Posters 6.8k Views 1 Watching
      INNOVATE

It doesn’t really matter what she thinks.

All i know is that with all her wealth, connections and top education, the end result is mediocre. Give her the opportunity to run a company, organisation or portfolio, it will become smaller or decline.

She doesn’t understand the practice of leadership and the humanities to work with people.

kiddo

Bless us :slapshead: ...where did she came from this \"cultured gal\"

jollyme

Samantha

me from bishan, can go OlanV anot…preasssssss

Sun_2010

So the latest …

THE woman who pitted Holland Village against the heartlanders of Singapore has apologised on public radio.

She once again called 91.3FM’s The Married Men on Friday morning and said that she wanted to retract her words expressed on radio in the above show, about the heartlanders of Singapore.

Known only as Samantha, she further explained that she was at a Starbucks outlet at Holland Village on Wednesday when she heard vulgarities from two men dressed in slippers and shorts.

She was ticked off by their actions and dressing and decided to call in to 91.3FM’s The Married Men - on Wednesday - to rant.

It caused a stir online among netizens, and on Facebook too among friends who found links to the broadcast segment.

The show has a daily segment for Singaporeans to call in and air their grievances. Nothing is off limits as the station does not want to restrict its listeners.

Samantha began her rant about heartlanders and their alleged invasion of Holland Village.

‘Oh gosh, I live in Holland Village and I just can’t understand why people from the heartlands want to come here, because we people are cultured and you heartlanders are definitely not cultured.’

HEARTLANDERS

She went on to define heartlanders as people who lived in areas such as ‘Ang Mo Kio, Yishun, Toa Payoh and ‘the nearby Bukit Batok’.

When asked how she could tell that somebody was a heartlander, she cheekily said that heartlanders were easily identifiable. She said they had no manners, talked loudly and wore cheap clothes ‘like those you buy off Bugis Street’.

One of her qualms with heartlanders was that they liked to ‘shove and push’ everybody. She added that some Caucasians along Orchard Road had also complained of the same thing.

91.3FM then opened the telephone lines once again and another woman, Maddy, called in to express her views.

She introduced herself as living in Bedok. To this, Samantha let out an audible ‘Oh my God’ in the phone exchange on radio.

The two argued for five minutes. Maddy defended heartlanders, stating that they are ‘pretty much well-educated and pretty much carry themselves well’.

Samantha refused to give in and said that heartlanders needed to stay were they were.

Maddy asked her: ‘Every heartlander earns their money, so why can’t we go (to Holland Village)?’

To this, Samantha questioned heartlanders’ ability to afford the things that people in Holland Village enjoyed, such as a bowl of laksa, which she claims is more expensive in Holland Village than in Bedok.

Deejay and host Rod Monteiro stopped the discussion due to time constraints, but that didn’t stop other listeners from calling in throughout the day to express their amazement and anger at Samantha’s comments. Not one caller supported Samantha and her comments in any way.

The blogosphere also reacted strongly to the stories and many outraged netizens began to attack Samantha and her opinions.

After a day of reflection, Samantha decided to make the public apology.

However, it seems that this isn’t enough for some listeners, who later called in and complained about the insincerity of Samantha’s apology.

Mr Monteiro admits that he was put off by Samantha’s comments, but told The Straits Times Online that he did understand where she was coming from - a place of anger.

'Everybody says things they don’t mean when they’re angry…three hours later…they look back and ask themselves ‘Did I really say that?’ he added.

Sun_2010

The link

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_649288.html

satyagraha

Reminds me of a recent encounter.

At a chess tournament, a mummy was complaining with controlled agitation (not too loud, just to the person next to her) about how her daughter's Indian opponent was naughty, very bad, scheming. I suppose the little boy (under-6 yrs old) probably did do something not acceptable, I'm not sure. But from the mummy's tone, can hear that there's a tinge of discrimination.

What shocked me was what I hear when the match was over and her girl come out to her.

Girl : \"Mummy, that boy is crazy!!\"
                Mummy : \"Yes, I know, dear. He really is crazy!\"

:? Is it just me being too sensitive? Or that parent really ought not respond in that manner, despite feeling unjust for her girl? Her girl won that match, btw.

SAHM_TAN

satyagraha:
                  Reminds me of a recent encounter.

At a chess tournament, a mummy was complaining with controlled agitation (not too loud, just to the person next to her) about how her daughter's Indian opponent was naughty, very bad, scheming. I suppose the little boy (under-6 yrs old) probably did do something not acceptable, I'm not sure. But from the mummy's tone, can hear that there's a tinge of discrimination.

What shocked me was what I hear when the match was over and her girl come out to her.

Girl : \"Mummy, that boy is crazy!!\"
                  Mummy : \"Yes, I know, dear. He really is crazy!\"

:? Is it just me being too sensitive? Or that parent really ought not respond in that manner, despite feeling unjust for her girl? Her girl won that match, btw.
                  My idea of chess playing is that apponents will try to outwit and outplay each other. It's the nature of the game to bluff opponents with moves to make them make the wrong decision. She should be glad her daughter is able to see through strategy of the boy.

I feel as a parent it's important to explain the situation in a rational manner to the child

SAHM_TAN

Sun_2010:
                    The link

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_649288.html
                    If she was angry, she should have complained to her friends via sms not to use the radio waves. It reflects on her maturity level

• DesertWindD Offline
                      DesertWind

Wah lau, what's so great about Holland V?

Although I can understand Samantha's distaste for vulgar old men (were they old?). Anyway I grew up in HDB estate and I too, dislike going to the neighbourhood coffeeshop very much when young. Usually there would be tables of middle-age men/ah pek drinking beer in evenings or coffee in morning and they would be staring at people coming to the coffee-shop to eat. Gave me the creeps. So I avoid going there and only in the rare occasion would I agree to eat dinner with my family at the tze char shop there.

Even now going to my neighbourhood's coffee shop is the same thing, still have such men around staring at those they found not so familiar to them. But now my skin a lot thicker bo-chap them just buy my food and go. Hello, just in case you think people look because I dress funnily or sexily - no way! I am as aunty as you can get and still people look at me up and down perhaps because my hubby is not Chinese!

But there is no need for this Samantha to talk about Holland V vs heartlanders as if Holland V is some great place just for the elite and cultured. Apartheid or what?

😛

• DesertWindD Offline
                        DesertWind

Wow, this RGS girl can really write!

I saw this was already a 2006 article. I tried clicking on the original Mr Wee's article but no longer available on the web-link given.

Just by reading this 18 years-old RGS girl's reply gave me an inkling on what it is about. I think she has a point somewhat about this \"cruel\" world whereby it is survival of the fittest and the best will win. She also talks about PMET being whiny instead of becoming more practical like becoming a sales assistant for survival purpose. That she thinks life for this Mr Wee is not that bad compared to the other worst sufferings.

But delivered at a cocky tone of a very young at her very best age (18 yo) with the whole world as her oyster at this point in time. They said the very best years of a students' life would be during university ie. between 18 to 21 yo whereby you dare to dream dreams and dare to implement your great ambitions without much fear or care in the world. True! The innocence of youth!

Fast forward twenty years down the road with 40 yo staring at you, having worked for 20 years in the \"real\" world, having seen many types of people, bosses, circumstances....will she still think this way?

Perhaps, same points still applies but probably delivered in a more subdued, humble tone.

It is not a matter of poor upbringing, but a matter of a privileged lifestyle, plain-sailing school-life, young and inexperienced in the way of life.

Hope time will season this young lady - God Bless her!
                        😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 3