I ask myself why do I want to push so hard?
insider:
If I were her mum, I will train her life surviving skills coz she looks like one who will be conned easily if during her teenage years, someone sweet talk her into doing 'bad' things, she will agree. My training will not be so much on academic coz I think there's a max that her brain power can go in this area...
I can relate to where you're coming from for i have similar experiences
with a few of my students before too. Building on confidence and
familiarity will hopefully boost more that's embedded in her
and the foundation you worked with her on a pace she
can better cope with will be absorbed better.
While it takes a knowledgable educator to know and understand..
to be able to help one with such concerns... i do find that with parents
it is a different ball game altogether esp where expectations are concerned.
It sometimes comes as a case where educators cannot work with the
parents actually and not the child in mention. Unless the parents realize
the concern at hand and break that barrier, not only the child's esteem will
suffer but the suffering (academically & emotionally) may even be prolonged. -
smurf:
ε Buds ah, u have the upper hand lah, u r a trained teacher leh, not many parents can teach their kids mah...

Then parents can choose to send to a preschool with more holistic
programme, right? If of course, the price is right.
What if the child is in primary sch already? :?
Then let good teachers work the magic of the Teach
Less Learn More method in primary schools.
Not many good teachers around...if got plenty good teachers, many forummers wouldn't be so stress over this method Liao...

Got lar. Think positive k?
My girls have been so blessed with aplenty. :please:
Some more just normal neighbourhood school.
Met good teachers before but haven't met excellent teachers as good as your gals ones who would go all out to help the kids.

They each have their strengths... my girls' teachers i mean. :love:
Not entirely excellent as in without fault lar... however, as parents we
need to know which battles to fight.
But having said that, they are
definitely fantastic, hence going back to this post title... cos they are that
good, i don't need to push so hard... cos ideally the role of the teachers
are indeed to inspire children to try work towards their potentials... so the
parents don't have to work so hard or rather don't have to work at all. :snuggles: -
I feel comforted after reading the posts here and knowing that I am not alone. I am also having trouble with my DS who is in P5. His results are not too bad, but my problem is his attitude. He does not have the drive, gets distracted very easily and needs a lot of reminders to get a job done. He is also very disorganised and tend to misplace things. His problem was manageable until P4, when I started getting complaints from teachers about poor quality work and homework not done.
I feel like a broken record reminding and pushing him to do his homework daily. The thing is, I am not pushing for good grades, but more for an improved attitude. I believe his grades will improve when he has the right attitude. All these are getting to me. I am losing my temper a lot more. :x I am not sure if he is showing signs of ADHD, or is he just being "a kid".
From the many encouraging words posted in this forum, I want to believe that he needs his time to grow up and think for himself. I will, on the other hand, try to control myself and not lose my temper too often. Hope things will get better. -
eureka:
If you suspect he got ADHD, do consider to get him 'tested', early intervention can help him. Otherwise it may manifest into other behaviour: anti-social, bully, lazy, don like to study (because low attention span) etc.I feel comforted after reading the posts here and knowing that I am not alone. I am also having trouble with my DS who is in P5. His results are not too bad, but my problem is his attitude. He does not havdone.
I feel like a broken record reminding and pushing him to do his homework daily. The thing is, I am not pushing for good grades, but more for an improved attitude. I believe his grades will improve when he has the right attitude. All these are getting to me. I am losing my temper a lot more. :x I am not sure if he is showing signs of ADHD, or is he just being \"a kid\".
From the many better.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.