kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

Thank you, Happy Mama, don’t think she is that superduper. Haha. She tried her best and that’s good enough. Yes, I missed those stickers too. Haha. This year’s FT’s not in that habit. Kudos to your dd for her results. I’ve seen the CL paper. In general, the passages are pitched at P3’s readability and understanding but the answering skills are beyond them. I don’t think they are taught in advance in class on how to tackle these questions. Even if we had exposed them to good HCL compre assessment books, they are still not equipped to answer PH’s questions’ requirements.

Trapwithin

Other than Compre, she got full marks for the rest of the section in Paper 2. 😢 :stupid:

Wow that's very good. Well done.
        You just need to focus more on OE Comprehension.
        I think EPH has assessment for CL Comprehension called Yue Du Li Jie that is pretty good.

Trapwithin

E3:
          Mum4ever:

Count me IN too... for the CL workshop

Me 3...Me 3!!!

If it is open to all level, I also would like to go.
          OE Comprehension is so tricky.

Calling all parents of PHPPS with strong contacts ... you know who you are .... help to push for this sessions.

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

Trapwithin:
            I think EPH has assessment for CL Comprehension called Yue Du Li Jie that is pretty good.

This is one of dd's Compre books. It's not enough. She is coping well with questions in this book. I am afraid to go higher levels cos I don't want to cause her to lose interest. Furthermore, I think it's more than just practising Compre assessments to score for the OE Compre sections. Rote learning doesn't work in this case. They have to analyse in CHINESE, then express their thoughts out logically and comprehensibly. If these kids are eloquent in Chinese, I believe it's half the battle won.

Trapwithin

E3:
              Trapwithin:

This is one of dd's Compre books. It's not enough. She is coping well with questions in this book. I am afraid to go higher levels cos I don't want to cause her to lose interest. Furthermore, I think it's more than just practising Compre assessments to score for the OE Compre sections. Rote learning doesn't work in this case. They have to analyse in CHINESE, then express their thoughts out logically and comprehensibly. If these kids are eloquent in Chinese, I believe it's half the battle won.

That means no short-cut no drilling? .. then will have to cultivate CL reading habits.

• JenniferJ Offline
                Jennifer

Trapwithin:
                a new slogan in life: \"Space out to prevent Burnout\" :imcool:

Again, words of wisdom...

(coming from UNCLE...) :siam:

My boy has an very laidback schedule (from my perspective lah)- Tues CL tuition 2 hrs, Wed piano 45 mins and Fri TTLT EL (up to 4pm for this term). Once he is back home, he will do whatever he pleases (play or work) and we only revise for at most 45 mins in the evening. And HE IS ALREADY COMPLAINING :razz:

I think some kids strive in a competitive environment, some absolutely do not. So we must know which is which.

lizhi

Other than Compre, she got full marks for the rest of the section in Paper 2. 😢 :stupid:

ya, full marks, very good. My dd lost 3 scores in compre and lost 6 scores for the rest section. she thought this time she answered smoothly but the result... 😓

lizhi

dyh:

[quote=\"lizhi\"]
                    Flighty? Sounds the same as my dd. During examinations, she was looking out of the window watching the dark clouds gathering together. :faint:

errrrrrrrr ....
                    How U know ....
                    U Spying on her from a Pair of Binoculars outside -ah?
                    :laugh: :laugh:

I was wondering too.... :lol:[/quote]Haha...the detail was told by my dd lor. When she told me this, i almost :rant: to her, but i finally kept quiet. I would like to find a better way to 斗智斗勇 with her。

markfch

Trapwithin:
                      We started to give her a complete 1 hour \"do as you like\" time daily - half an hour in the morning and half an hour at night. Not that I am taskmaster, just that like many kids, my dd \"Space-out\" (Daydream) a lot and takes her time to do her stuff.
                      Hey I do that too for ds. It's called his 'daily time to play any gory computer games he fancies' period. This will be followed by an hr of piano practice to undo the damage that those computer games did to his brain. 😉

markfch

Mum1113:

Still waiting patiently for him to improve. He has one and a half years to do that ..... before P2 SA2.

Am sure this papa will do all things and add all types of oil to make it happen ,cheers! 😉

I got look so kiasu meh? :oops: :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1159 / 2049