Petition to Review the Singapore Education System
actually being the 'top' is a stressful thing too..as u might not be the top for the next exam or next next exam and u would feel even more stress if u need to upkeep to be the 'top'...Actually it depends on the kids..some kids would strive to achieve their best ...some kids don't bother (happy go lucky)... some kids feel stress when they see their parents' face expression after knowing their unsatisfactory results..
So as a parent, I think first of all, we need to know our kids character..from there we know how to motivate them and encourage them. I have 2 kids with pretty different character...till now I am still 'learning' how to motivate them accordingly though most of the time can be a bit naggy but bopian...So sometime, I got to be relax and they will also feel relax....
hope I am not off topic
vlim:
My PhD was in Human Motivation. It was quite easy to turn a goof-around kid into a very driven one.actually being the 'top' is a stressful thing too..as u might not be the top for the next exam or next next exam and u would feel even more stress if u need to upkeep to be the 'top'...Actually it depends on the kids..some kids would strive to achieve their best ...some kids don't bother (happy go lucky)... some kids feel stress when they see their parents' face expression after knowing their unsatisfactory results..
So as a parent, I think first of all, we need to know our kids character..from there we know how to motivate them and encourage them. I have 2 kids with pretty different character...till now I am still 'learning' how to motivate them accordingly though most of the time can be a bit naggy but bopian...So sometime, I got to be relax and they will also feel relax....
wow..in that case u should have no problem in motivating your children
My PhD was in Human Motivation. It was quite easy to turn a goof-around kid into a very driven one.vlim:
actually being the 'top' is a stressful thing too..as u might not be the top for the next exam or next next exam and u would feel even more stress if u need to upkeep to be the 'top'...Actually it depends on the kids..some kids would strive to achieve their best ...some kids don't bother (happy go lucky)... some kids feel stress when they see their parents' face expression after knowing their unsatisfactory results..
\" I suggest that your gal or yourself bring it up with the teacher. It is the teacher's responsibility to everything within the syllabus. However, we tend to skip or just summarise the the topics when the class claim that they have learnt and understand the topic. The reasoning is that we don't want to bore the students and allow them to lose interest\"
Hi Meinteel, we did sms her FT and request him to intervene ... however he seem to agree with the trainee teacher 'light speed' teaching & even told us that the class would then have more time to do challenging problem solving ... he seem to missed our point .... :slapshead: how to do challenging sums when basic Maths concept is not even there .... so needless to say .... we have to self help lor .... anyway, I am so looking forward to the day when the school can do its job well & we, parent just spend time bonding with our kids ..........
vlim:
wow..in that case u should have no problem in motivating your children
My PhD was in Human Motivation. It was quite easy to turn a goof-around kid into a very driven one.Chenonceau:
[quote=\"vlim\"]actually being the 'top' is a stressful thing too..as u might not be the top for the next exam or next next exam and u would feel even more stress if u need to upkeep to be the 'top'...Actually it depends on the kids..some kids would strive to achieve their best ...some kids don't bother (happy go lucky)... some kids feel stress when they see their parents' face expression after knowing their unsatisfactory results..
[/quote]Nope... nope... nope I don't. Hee!!
I allowed the goofing off in P1 and P2 as part of a long term strategy to build internal drive. My daughter was bottom 25% of her year in P1 and P2. By the time she got to secondary school she was so driven she landed in hospital from not enough rest. It comes with its own set of problems.
But oh dear... we have gone off topic hor....
:clubmyself: Sorry! Time to stop boasting and be humble. -
I think you can't stop this from happening. The Ivy Leagues are what they are because they pick the best. Your intention of having your son get into RI or HCI originates from the impression/realisation that these 2 best schools open up so many more opportunities/doors, right?Even if PSLE is best tool to divide children into ability groups. Why is it necessary to pick the best, and set them apart?
Does setting the best apart from others really develop their heart and their skills for leadership?
Actually, your current thinking is molded by what you saw your daughter experienced in the IP school. Aren't the better secondary schools also giving the same opportunity to their best? Just like in neighbourhood primary schools, the cream of the crop get special attention and are sent for all kinds of free enrichments (I have seen that from my friends' kids in neighbourhood schools).
Just my opinion, but if MOE really randomly allocates students with PSLE score of between 240-280 to a list of so-called good schools, more parents would be even more stressed. Just look at what is happening in P1 registration each year. People doing all sorts of things to get into their school of choice through the earlier phases so as to avoid having to go through balloting.
On the other hand, if you ask any parent whose child has scored above 260 or 265 in PSLE, would they agree that the system here should be one that randomly allocates their child to a list of good schools (and not forgetting one that may be far from home) that accept anyone from 240-280?
Apart from that, what are we telling our children? That it is right for one to accept what one is given (as in allocated to a school), and not work hard for what one desires? A bit similar to working in an organisation where whether you work hard or not, you receive the same bonus as everyone else in the company. :roll: By the way, this is the way most companies in Australia distribute bonus to their staff.
I don't think this can last. At some point, some parents are going to say that we need a privately-run school for those who do well in their PSLE. In that case, only those who could afford are able to attend such a school? This is like what has happened in the UK. The privately-run schools are so expensive, but some parents feel that they don't have a choice as these are the better schools.
Maybe one way to make primary school here less stressful or academically driven is to make PSLE easier to score. That way, many more students will get A* for all subjects, and there will be many who could qualify for top schools. Selection of students by schools will then have to be based not just on PSLE score, but CCA record, school colours &/or leadership qualities.Chenonceau:
:salute: More parents should remind their children that.Later, in the car, I have to make sure I remind my daughter that she is the best at NOTHING as yet, except selfish studying. I make sure I bring her back down to earth.
Busymom:
:goodpost:
I think you can't stop this from happening. The Ivy Leagues are what they are because they pick the best. Your intention of having your son get into RI or HCI originates from the impression/realisation that these 2 best schools open up so many more opportunities/doors, right?
Actually, your current thinking is molded by what you saw your daughter experienced in the IP school. Aren't the better secondary schools also giving the same opportunity to their best? Just like in neighbourhood primary schools, the cream of the crop get special attention and are sent for all kinds of free enrichments (I have seen that from my friends' kids in neighbourhood schools).
Just my opinion, but if MOE really randomly allocates students with PSLE score of between 240-280 to a list of so-called good schools, more parents would be even more stressed. Just look at what is happening in P1 registration each year. People doing all sorts of things to get into their school of choice through the earlier phases so as to avoid having to go through balloting.
On the other hand, if you ask any parent whose child has scored above 260 or 265 in PSLE, would they agree that the system here should be one that randomly allocates their child to a list of good schools (and not forgetting one that may be far from home) that accept anyone from 240-280?
Apart from that, what are we telling our children? That it is right for one to accept what one is given (as in allocated to a school), and not work hard for what one desires? A bit similar to working in an organisation where whether you work hard or not, you receive the same bonus as everyone else in the company. :roll: By the way, this is the way most companies in Australia distribute bonus to their staff.
I don't think this can last. At some point, some parents are going to say that we need a privately-run school for those who do well in their PSLE. In that case, only those who could afford are able to attend such a school? This is like what has happened in the UK. The privately-run schools are so expensive, but some parents feel that they don't have a choice as these are the better schools.
Maybe one way to make primary school here less stressful or academically driven is to make PSLE easier to score. That way, many more students will get A* for all subjects, and there will be many who could qualify for top schools. Selection of students by schools will then have to be based not just on PSLE score, but CCA record, school colours &/or leadership qualities. -
jtoh
" A balanced and happy is more important than grades "
Hey, we share identical philosophy. My kids are high average in very good schools. I am happy even if they are not at the top. -
I also tried to let my DD take ownership of her tingxie from an external class at the beginning of this year. We missed the first few classes and she ended up having to study harder for tingxie initially, as there were many difficult words and some were repeats of the earlier tingxie which she missed. She was lucky to get full marks on her first tingxie. Thereafter, it became 8/10, 6/10 and maybe even lower if the teacher hadn't let her copy one word that she could not recall. I could really see her confidence dropping to the lowest level ever, and she started saying that she could not manage the tingxie even though she had started learning from Monday. I had to remind her that she had always gotten full marks for tingxie in her K2 tienhsia class. That gal actually forgot that!
These days, I try to ensure my son stays in the top 10 in class. I try to push him just enough for that, and if he wants to do better, he pushes himself a bit more. Why do I do that? Because as long as he is in Top 10, his self-efficacy and sense of self-worth stays high. He maintains a positive view of his studies.
And I really had to push her hard to get that 10/10, just for that one time to boost her confidence. It was just a tingxie, not even from school, but I was worried that it would affect her self-image
Busymom:
:goodpost:
I also tried to let my DD take ownership of her tingxie from an external class at the beginning of this year. We missed the first few classes and she ended up having to study harder for tingxie initially, as there were many difficult words and some were repeats of the earlier tingxie which she missed. She was lucky to get full marks on her first tingxie. Thereafter, it became 8/10, 6/10 and maybe even lower if the teacher hadn't let her copy one word that she could not recall. I could really see her confidence dropping to the lowest level ever, and she started saying that she could not manage the tingxie even though she had started learning from Monday. I had to remind her that she had always gotten full marks for tingxie in her K2 tienhsia class. That gal actually forgot that!Chenonceau:
These days, I try to ensure my son stays in the top 10 in class. I try to push him just enough for that, and if he wants to do better, he pushes himself a bit more. Why do I do that? Because as long as he is in Top 10, his self-efficacy and sense of self-worth stays high. He maintains a positive view of his studies.
And I really had to push her hard to get that 10/10, just for that one time to boost her confidence. It was just a tingxie, not even from school, but I was worried that it would affect her self-image
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.