2009 DSA(Direct School Admission)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    801 Posts 104 Posters 171.0k Views 1 Watching
      kohjl

Recently I spoke to a neighbour whose son is in RV Sec1 this year. The dad says everyday his son is busy with sch work. I always see the boy coming home ard 5pm. Is this the norm?
      My son is not in RV but in another IP school. And yes, 5pm is very normal as they have CCA, project work, discussions, etc. In fact, during the period before competitions, he finishes CCA practices around 6pm. Last year, during the rehearsal run-up to Dramafest which he participated for fun (ie, not a CCA), he came back at 10pm a few times. This year, he has to go NUS for some classes, and finished around 5 to 6pm+, which meant he reached home at around 7pm+.

chengsmummy

MdmKS:

My friend's son (from GEP) is still there, said she has to send the son for home tuition for most subjects as the school \"don't teach\". :?
        The way of teaching in the IP schools is very much similar to the one in uninersities. In my daughter's school, although they have text book, but teachers hardly follow the text book, and expect the pupils to do their own supplementary reading after school. That's why some parents mentioned in this topic before, that the pupils in IP program need to be very independant and self-discipline.

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

chengsmummy:
          [quote=\"MdmKS

My friend's son (from GEP) is still there, said she has to send the son for home tuition for most subjects as the school \"don't teach\". :?
          The way of teaching in the IP schools is very much similar to the one in uninersities. In my daughter's school, although they have text book, but teachers hardly follow the text book, and expect the pupils to do their own supplementary reading after school. That's why some parents mentioned in this topic before, that the pupils in IP program need to be very independant and self-discipline.[/quote]
          Hmm...but this also sound v much like my girl's sch which is non-IP, leh. No exams at all. Just tests, assignments, reviews, projects, presentations, own portfolio, no textbooks. Classes until 3pm. CCA until 7pm.

daisyt

john.316:

You sounds like a pupil in RV, right?

Recently I spoke to a neighbour whose son is in RV Sec1 this year. The dad says everyday his son is busy with sch work. I always see the boy coming home ard 5pm. Is this the norm?

A casual acquintance told me her dd's pri sch classmate flunked most of her class test in RV. Is it only RV or most IP schs are like what you hv mentioned- pegged sec 1 at sec 3 level?
            No! I am not a parent from RV, but just like you, friend told me about the problem that RV student are facing, many of them could not cope with the work load. One of the main different is most of the GEP students went to the top IP school that why there are relatively fine and ok[/quote]

Hi, just to share ... My girl in RV, not in GEP before. Coping fine so far. No tuition. Has not failed any class tests so far. There are a few would fail class tests but its quite common as far as I know. Even students in other IP schools would fail class tests. Schedule is tight with two days CCA till 6pm, extra remedial for those who need. At first I also wondered if its normal, then I realise, its quite common. If compeition coming for CCA, extra time to spend on other days and weekends too. Not to include class and CID project works that need to stay back as well to work with your team mates. There is another thread about time schedule in sec schools, you can find out more from there too. 😄

daisyt

john.316:
              Hi Every Kiasu Parents,

If you have any doubt pls check with those student from RV. The current Sec 1 students are doing some of Sec 3 Maths. Thank u
              Errrhhh really ???? How to tell they are doing Sec 3 Maths ? I only notice that my girls's phyisc, Chem and Bio books are O level books printed outside on the cover.

john.09525316

daisyt:
                Errrhhh really ???? How to tell they are doing Sec 3 Maths ? I only notice that my girls's phyisc, Chem and Bio books are O level books printed outside on the cover.

Of course! I am not referring to the whole yr syllb but only a few topics. My point is a IP program is on a \"faster track\" program therefore the sch would like the student to learn things as fast and wider scope as possible. The sch could not let their own IP program fail. Thank u!

Fairy

wmd:
                  only three simple questions, Why you like math? how do you think about leadship? etc.

3 student, 30 mins each session, there are total 6 student (2 sessions) attended today RGS interview under math domain.

If I am not wrong, all are SMOPS platinum winners.
                  wmd,

Heard from some who applied via Maths Domain to RGS already got their DSA results. Has your daughter receive hers?

whysoserious

NdHelpParent:
                    Hi doesn't matter which IP school really...but it's not ACS ( I) and Dunman High is all i will say. And also he was not from the gifted program. And yes even i hv to \"make appointment\" to talk or discuss things with him because he's usually home late and lots of assignments to do ...tests etc..

1. why the slight discrimination against ACS (I) and Dunman High?
                    2. And all IP students need is good time management, and everything will be fine. Gradually assignments and tests become part of a routine and way of life, and they learn to cope with it. It's just a matter of how well they manage their time, and they can have time to spare for relaxation as well.
                    It isnt that bad.

NdHelpParent

whysoserious:
                      NdHelpParent:

Hi doesn't matter which IP school really...but it's not ACS ( I) and Dunman High is all i will say. And also he was not from the gifted program. And yes even i hv to \"make appointment\" to talk or discuss things with him because he's usually home late and lots of assignments to do ...tests etc..

1. why the slight discrimination against ACS (I) and Dunman High?
                      2. And all IP students need is good time management, and everything will be fine. Gradually assignments and tests become part of a routine and way of life, and they learn to cope with it. It's just a matter of how well they manage their time, and they can have time to spare for relaxation as well.
                      It isnt that bad.

Hi WhysoSerious , may i know why u so serious ? U read too much into it...
                      not discrimination just want to help narrow down the IP school for the person who asked me this quesiton..then the person who ask can then roughly guess which part of the island mah? Sigh...too b so stressed up lah 😢 :stupid: :!: And please read this : I have TOTAL respect for ALL children in the world.. gifted , not gifted ALL schools . Doesn't matter IP or not...C'mon...we are parents they are children ...I love all of them and NO discrimination becos discrimination, jealousy and what not causes stress...As parents we hv enough stress already! Case closed.

turquoise

Fairy:
                        wmd:

only three simple questions, Why you like math? how do you think about leadship? etc.

3 student, 30 mins each session, there are total 6 student (2 sessions) attended today RGS interview under math domain.

If I am not wrong, all are SMOPS platinum winners.

wmd,

Heard from some who applied via Maths Domain to RGS already got their DSA results. Has your daughter receive hers?

That's fast. Were these girls successful in their DSA applications?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 55 / 81

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo