Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      matrix0405

I suspect your maid was sent back to the agent for inappropriate behavior so she's unlikely to change her ways. She'll continue to see the man, call him, chat with him etc regardless of what you say. Worse, she might even invite him into your house when no one's home. Best to send her back.

Agree with yr 'analysis'. Esp if you are staying landed, with the maid's room at the backyard, , high chance of sneaking out and bf sneaking in. She has the 'downside' of an experienced maid. Her 'focuses' in life are body whitening and handphone and BF, unlikely to change her ways. For an experienced maid, u are already paying premium. No need for all these additional trouble.

peapot

Sigh! Headaches… Sometimes we worry the maid might be lonely and wants friends. Then we worry their friends might include a boyfriend. very hard I think. That’s why I really long for the day that I can do without maids.

Peace Charlie

HI SMH forest

I’m in d same shoe…recently sent my fili maid off last wk…got a transfer indon still trying out she kept forgeting stuff i told her that she has to remember as i’ve got 3 kids to handle, she needs to bring them to school and get their stuff ready on time… i’v been training her for the last few days…but she kept apologising tat she cannot remember n her cooking are lousy…i find that what she lacks was confidence… she has been in sin for 10 mths looking after elderly…so shd be able to handle my chores, quite straightforward am clean up hse, when kids r up make sure they had their meals b4 tey go school. PM jus clean up and cooking for dinner yet still cannot remember but nowsday their quality is really bad…Teaching indo can kill my cells but fili are way too smart n lazy…

SMH FOREST

ZuEn, Minty Min..

Thanks for the kind words... :thankyou:

Peace Charlie...

:hugs: i hope your new indon works out... so, why did this indo leave the prev employer while taking care of elderly??

haizz... am having a maid drought situation... my 1st agency where i got my indon.. says no new bios available till AFTER Hari Raya! Faint.. how to wait so long?? whereas the agency where i got my fili... is trying to give me some bios... on sunday she let me interview one but again cmi... cos' never been a maid bef.. n i am not going to take anyone who hasnt been a maid bef even in their home country... cos' they will simply have no idea what being a housemaid is like! i had wanted to see if she has any indon bio, but she says must top up $200 for agency fee leh... walau ehhhh... really feel like i am being ripped off... sigh.. but she at least gives me call n sends me fili bios.. first agency no sound at all!! 🤷 :roll:

have been cleaning my house on my own since sending off the fili.. and i have absolutely no time to bond with my boy cos of this... :sad: i have to leave him to play with his toys himself, let him watch tv or play w the ipad... and i simply hate it.. i can't leave too much dust ard for too many days cos of his asthma... and will need to wash his uniform and iron them daily.. and argghhh... am just hating the fact that the time spent with him now is sooo little! 😢 😢

• Z Offline
              ZuEn

I need to rant.

My mum is driving me crazy bcos of the maid. :frustrated:
              I am a FTWM with 2 kids and my mum shifted in when I gave birth to DS 9 months ago. This is my 3rd PHL maid and she has been with us for the past 10 months.

Hb and I found her quite OK, can get by if we close one eye at times but recently my mum has been complaining and nagging about my maid very frequently. It has come to the point that whatever that my maid does irk my mum and my mum take it out on me for things that my maid do. :stupid: :slapshead:
              My mum insists that the maid argues with her and is defiant towards my mum. The maid doesnt show the same attitude in front of me (if what my mum says is true lah). When I tried to reason with my mum or explain that it could be communication breakdown (my mum speaks really broken English), my mum jumped to the conclusion that I side the maid and misunderstood that I put the maid in higher regard than my mum. :torchme:
              My mum wanted me to lecture my maid, which I openly did to show that I am not siding the maid but she is still not happy. I think it has come to the point that the mere presence of my maid irks my mum.

It might come to the point that I have to change this maid to get back my peaceful life. Both hb and I really feel that this maid is not too bad, no off day, no handphone, do housework pretty well and can play with my kids.

Really :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

Haiz..

• U Offline
                UncleLim

micollh:

Insurance for 14 months? :?
                Thought std is 24+2 months?
                No Diff in Premium, Right?

there have 2 types. one is 14th months, one is 26 moths.. another is extension (given that u have bought from the same company before). u can get this either from scanwell(tenet) or ntuc. last time my maid agentcy got from tenet. but i find their price higher, but they allowed refund if u return ur maid within 60 ot 90 days. ntuc no refund. for this time, i will get from ntuc cos i wont worry abt return maid mah.

14 months only hundre plus.. 26 months 200 plus.

Hi micollh,

Thanks for sharing. Can I trouble you to start a new thread/topic listing down the steps for renewing a work permit ? This will be very helpful to dummies like myself ! I paid many hundreds the previous time to the agency to get it done.

beanstalk

If you are very sure your helper is not hoodwinking you (since you're not around all the time), do what you can to keep her!

Since it's your mum, you can be straight with her (impossible if it were your MIL). Tell your mum that if you cannot find another good helper, you will have to stop work and there'll be loss of one income...and her allowance might have to be cut :evil:

Tell her to just limit communication with the helper and leave the disciplining to you. Plead with her to tahan the helper until the kids are more grown up and you all can do without one.

• Z Offline
                    ZuEn

Beanstalk,

That is exactly what hb is thinking. He even suggest that he will talk to my mum but at the end of the day, I get the blunt of it bcos I am the daughter and he is the Son-in-law.

My mum now nags non-stop at me, repeating to me every evening (after work) and during the weekends about how the maid argues with her. For the same incident, my mum can repeat a few times. Otherwise, bcos the maid irks her, she talks to me sacarstically and drives me crazy. We had a meltdown in the past bcos of the maid during my maternity leave and I had to apologise to her eventually. I also thought it is not worth souring family ties over a maid.

I actually prefer her to discipline the maid directly leh. How to lash out at the maid for something that I didnt see? I also somehow think that the issues could be due to communication problem. In the past, similar occurences took place and when I confronted the maid, I get a different story. When I tried to explain to my mum, my mum thinks I side the maid.

My mum is helping us supervising the maid now. We are also worried that if she’s really pissed and decides that she doesnt want to help and shift back to my brother’s place, we are doomed. DS is still very young and we dont want to send the kids to CC bcos of our long working hours, which will mean that the kids will have to stay in the CC for long hours as well.

Hmmm… I guessed I must be one of the rare kind who have problems with my own mum. Haha.

• Z Offline
                      ZuEn

I hope I will get the opportunity to speak nicely to her tonight.

Cannot explode, endure, endure, endure.
                      Hopefully, she will see that maids will be maids and dont expect too much from them. At least keep the maid until when DS is 18 months so that I can pack both of them to CC?

Wish me luck.

Peace Charlie

HI SMH Forest

D Indo maid is helping to cook and look after the elderly… but elderly has been scolding she’s d timid type even when i was telling my girls off she got a shock…i told her mus speak up so that kids will know if she kept her mouth shut how would d kids knows that lunch is ready for them… she came to me tis pm and told me mdm porridge cold already i told her off she shd tell d kids not me n u can see her eyes were teary… my previous Fili maid was too smart once u told her she will know and do it but will act to be forgetful at times…

ZuEn…
                        I know how u feel cos i was once like u…sandwich in between…i stayed wif my mil…she’s doesn’t like my previous maid which was with me for 8 yrs she’s very good with d kids till today my kids still remembers her… she’s good in her cooking, cleaning and multitasks too bad she decided to venture in taiwan… thus till today we cannot find a good loyal maid…

I’m a FTWM too…leaving my 3 kids with a stranger really scars me…i was tempting to put d kids in after school care but my girls refused as they might be lack of sleep and no freedom… thus I told my girls have to be smarter than this maid and react fast i’ve been brainwashing my girls with lots of emergency tips… SIGH keeping my finger cross…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 545 / 1032