All About Aircon (New, Maintenance, related components)
kohwl:
Yes, it's never a good idea to pay for any service in advance. 1 of my air-con servicing guy (a sole proprietorship) died before fulfilling the contract. I never sign any servicing contract from then on. I rather pay more per servicing.
I have to agree with you - aircon contracts seem like a terrible idea to me, after trying it once. A three monthly service contract is pretty arbitrary, your aircon will need servicing more or less often depending on how you actually use it - probably a lot less often, in most cases!
I like the approahch i read about from http://www.igloo.com.sg about http://www.igloo.com.sg/booking/annual - just book when you need it, instead of signing up and handing over your money before they've delivered on their service!
For me, I would prefer not to change or repair any parts but replace the entire unit. It cost less in the medium term. If the unit is above 5 years, after repairing or changing 1 part, expect another part to be spoilt in no time. -
When the fuse blow, the electrical circuit is cut completely and no more current flows. so you experienced an explosion and probably nothing else…
If the fuse never blow, the high current will continue to flow, heating up the wires and anything in it’s path and possibly leading to fire… This is more dangerous… -
Update: aircon man came, he said the socket no good, might be the cause of affecting the inner wire broke.

Hello ,
Anyone installed star mex 18OOO BTU, care to share how much is the installation Thanks. -
Ya, of coz he did lah, else I would scold him! Haha...
He sort of 'blamed' my usual contractor because the usual contractor was the one installed socket and he only do the aircon part. Lame excuses lah, lousy material means lousy material. :faint: -
If it is socket problem, the shorting would occur "upstream" before the plug. In this case, your circuit breaker would trip but the fuse in the plug would not blow.
If the fuse in the plug blow, it muz be something happened "downstream", after the plug or on the plug. Hence, there is no way the person who do the aircon or aircon wiring can deny responsibility. -
Hahaha, looks like the poster is self advertising. :evil:
installed by your own company?chanel26:
Mine was Installed by http://www.airconservicesg.com and i am quite happy with them. So far no problem with my aircon.
You need to becareful and always look around to avoid being quote a high price. Also, if you are using it everyday, i would suggest an inverter, you can save more in the long run.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14191
In any case, aircon servicing is a minefield.
Any monkey can be taught to do simple cleaning and servicing. The nightmare comes when things start to go wrong. The servicing person will say it is not their fault, or that you need to top up gas or you need a new compressor.
The aircon company which I used is ISO 9000 certified. Yet they mess up my aircon (which they installed !! ) and I have to use a 3rd party to repair the damage they caused. -
I’m happy with coolserve. Professional and honest.
My trusted service company is Hong Tar.

agree with hapydino posting..
air con servicing can be a nightmare. i have just shifted to my place for 15 mths and air con gave me problem..can u imagine that?
before they came to service, air con no problem, then told me installer did not give a good job. I do not trust my installer at all, did not have a good experience with them and really regreted not letting my ID to \"bao\" the aircon job during renovation. If let ID \"bao\", at least can ask my ID to handle the problem now.
Now air con not working at all, need to call LG down to check & hope it does not cost a bomb? Can we trust air con servicing companies people? I do trust mine initially cause my mum has been using them but now...I really dun know :?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.