All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.4k Views 1 Watching
      sapphiree

at the stage where i am looking for a CC. there are so many montessori that its confusing!

I am now confused whats the diffce… Anyone can help to summarize the differences?

There are also some CC that uses Montessori in their name but when questioned, they say they use a holistic teaching and use some montessori materials?!? so am back to the square one.

babycub1

Anyone sent their kids to Buttercups Montessori at Clementi or Montessori for Children at Bukit Timah? Any feedback regarding these schools, like the quality of teaching/whether they are pure Montessori, etc. Am looking for a new sch for my DS who is 3.

Also can someone post the link to the Montessori Diploma? I only found one link which is to Montessorian World, does anyone know if this is good and are they accredited to the AMI? Am quite inspired to find out more.

Any feedback regarding the above would be much appreciated as I’m urgently looking for a good Montessori sch in these areas.

pinkitty

Hi all.

I had spend hrs reading this thread since yesterday… But still could not get my answer. Sigh. Wondering if anyone can comment abt the mmi at jurong west street 52?

Thanks a million

Kabby

I’m going to that MMI now. What do you want to know?

pinkitty

Aiya. Missed ur msg. I wanted to know if the teachers there are gd with active kids?

popkorn

Hi

I am new here and first time posting. Felt so motivated to sending my daughter to a Monte kindy after reading the postings esp fr buds. More so, even to attend the Monte courses for parents.

I need advice and hope to receive some comments. Currently, I am sending my daughter 2 times a week to a Monte kiddy at Kovan. Not sure whether is a true monte school but she is enjoying school. The ares is quite small and I think the principal is not very well organised. Tot of changing her school beginning next year to Bridges Monte. Anyone has comment about it?

Actually my plan is N1 and N2 at monte kiddy. Then K1 and K2 at main stream maybe at Dayspring Kindy. Izzit feasible? Worried that my daughter has to adapt too many changes in environement. But I tot by letting her attend mainstream will be better prepared for P1.But at the same time, cultivate her love for learning by going Monte in N1 and N2.

Also, buds mentioned, different kids different type of school. Maybe I can share that my ger is very attentive and focus. Careful kind. But she has been more outgoing since attending school. Now she enjoy her sat class at My Gym too.

hmmm, how?

sean wife

http://montessoriprogram.com/mathematics

Anyone interested in joining the above course in oct,pls pm me so we can save $47 each...
                  Tks.

• vivilingV Offline
                    viviling

I checked Summer Montessori in Jurong West already. This is their link. http://summermontessori.blogspot.com/

It is a new set up. I personally like it a lot because the teachers are warm, friendly and patient at explaining everything to me and in their interaction with the kids. They own the school and they teach themselves so I think it is vested interest that they do their best.

However, I am going to be objective here and list what I think are the pros and cons. For anyone living in the west to consider.

Pros

1. Low student:tr ratio.
                    About 4:1 for Montessori time, and during class there are 2 teachers, 8 kids, for the age group I am interested in, the 2yr old group.

2. Wonderful teachers
                    Super warm, friendly, patient teachers.

3. Good language modelling
                    The standard of English used is good, at least from what I observed.

4. Both owners are trained Monte directresses, each with many years of experience.

5. kids have 30-45min Monte time each day.

6. Very affordable fees, since it operates out of HDB RC center.

7. They have very interesting activities: field trips, cooking, acting, music, dress-up, keeping pets like terrapin and fish in the school etc.

8. They have a sound reading program. Using Oxford readers.

Cons
                    1. Operate out of HDB RC, so there are space constraints. There is a playground right outside the RC but within the school, it is not that spacious.

2. For those who like equal Chinese emphasis, this school has more English emphasis. Chinese takes up about 20-30min each day, but is mainly learnt through songs, stories and poems. I don't see many Chinese posters or books around, although the shelves are stocked with really many very good English books.

3. No transport service. According to the school P, most of the kids walk to school so there is no demand for a school bus yet.

Other points (can be a pro or con, subjective from parent to parent):
                    1. There is a good mix of Singaporeans and foreigners. Ethnic diversity also pretty diverse.

2. They do quite a lot of worksheets, from what I see. There are projects and books or writing and worksheets for tracing (younger kids) to higher level activities for upper level. Children may move at their own pace. SOme classes will have kids at different levels so they do different worksheets.

3. Snacks are brought from home.

hi kabalevsky, have you checked out ichiban Montessori too? can compare ichiban vs Summer Montessori ??

• laughingcatL Offline
                      laughingcat

sean wife:

Anyone interested in joining the above course in oct,pls pm me so we can save $47 each...
                      Tks.

I only interested in the Grammar. If you are....can consider me as well? :evil:

cantbearit2

laughingcat:
                        sean wife:

Tks.

I only interested in the Grammar. If you are....can consider me as well? :evil:

sean wife,
                        I sign up liao leh....KS mah, sign up both phonics & maths. 😆 Hee....but looks like we will c each other during e workshop. 😉

laughingcat,
                        grammar already attended leh. Will chk wif her wat other workshop in e pipeline for nex yr though.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 126 / 165