Inconsiderate people - what would you do?
I tried pushing a baby stroller into the big mrt gate that is meant for the purpose- stroller or luggage. Inconsiderate people rush to tap their card using the same gate to come out, while I waited for them all rushing out.
Imagine both sides of trains are arriving full of passengers rushing out... :mad: Why they don't go and que other gates to tap their card :? -
You were not at the scene, so pls don't pass judgmental remark that my mum was \"lecturing\" the inconsiderate couple. To you and that guy, it may sound like a lecture, but to others it's a fair comment (he is INDEED sitting on a reserved seat and refused to give up his seat to a elderly), so it's very subjective whether the comment is a lecture or not.
We've \"crossed swords\" before in the PE thread cos we both hold different views on the PE candidates and I've got the impression that you are quite confrontational. But now the PE is over and there is no need to bring the hostility over to this thread. I love this forum and I just wanna surf and post with ease without fear or dread of being \"slammed\" for every comment I posted. Thank you.limlim:
You say your mom is not \"bold enough\" to ask, but bold enough to lecture someone that the seat is \"meant for someone with special needs\"? Trying to give a lecture will likely invoke the kind of response that she encountered. Maybe if she just ask nicely and say she needs the seat, the outcome might have been different..?
To the question of someone more needy, that is very subjective.. a 60yo can look fit, and a fat woman can appear like pregnant. If the person never say, how can others tell? Unless it is very obvious case.
Or if they are really paiseh and cannot open their mouth to ask, then, wear a tag or something so that others can identify them as \"needy\" people. Or wear the senior citizen pass outside.
As for pregnant woman, they should help themselves by always wearing maternity dress etc.. that way, it is easier for pple to judge and offer their seats accordingly, w/o end up embarrassing both parties. Saw some woman, looks like pregnant, wearing a loose dress but not a typical maternity dress, and wearing heels?!.. really can't tell whether they are fat or pregnant.... -
Angelight:
I'm just stating facts. You don't have to take it too personal.You were not at the scene, so pls don't pass judgmental remark that my mum was \"lecturing\" the inconsiderate couple. To you and that guy, it may sound like a lecture, but to others it's a fair comment (he is INDEED sitting on a reserved seat and refused to give up his seat to a elderly), so it's very subjective whether the comment is a lecture or not.
The thing is, Why can't the needy just say \"May I have the seat? Please?\", instead of \"This seat is for someone with special needs\".
If you still don't get it, look at it this way, you're pointing out to someone that they're wrong, and generally pple don't like it this way. In the end, your mom doesn't get the seat and instead got angry. is it worth it?
The word \"lecture\" doesn't meant scolding someone. It just meant you're telling someone that he did something wrong. The fact is that your mom is giving a critical statement more than making a \"request\". It's not necessary to be at the scene to judge the kind of response that she can expect. And I'm not assuming that the tone is harsh.. but it probably doesn't sound too pleasant to invoke that kind of response, maybe? And quite obviously, the magical word is missing..
Towards a gracious society, I feel that not only the able can be gracious, but the needy can also be gracious and request for assistance when they need it.. In a PROPER way..
Anyway, it's okay if what I say doesn't makes sense to you. And certainty it is nothing personal. Just want to highlight that the needy should adopt a correct attitude. They should view it that someone giving up their seat to them is a privilege, not an entitlement. -
if i am given a seat, i would treat it as a thoughtful gesture which i will express my gratitude through words and body language. i’ve given up seats to pregnant ladies, old and infirmed but what turns me off is the "i’m entitled to it" body language and not even a murmur of thanks. for those who don’t thank me for my gesture, i only have pity for them cos they probably didn’t have anyone to guide them in their upbringing.
thus giving up seat is but a personal consideration and those in needs should not treat it as an entitlement. -
I ever tried to give my reserved seat to some lady whom I thought was pregnant but she became paiseh and said no she isnt preggie... so how now?
haha, happened to me before. that was like in the late 80s or early 90s when baby doll dress and long flowing dress were the rage. you really cant tell if they are pregnant.
offered this lady my seat on the mrt and lady wasnt too happy snapped \"i am not pregnant\". that time, me very young so felt paiseh. now come to think of it, why should i be paiseh????
actually i have seen pregnant ladies wearing high heels (even skinny heels) and i sometimes wonder do they really deserve the seat. -
recently in a ulu airport in a big country
the airline has a mini bus to ferry their 'vip' pax
one particular flight i was in happened to have so many vip pax, so one bus was not enough
after we deplaned, we all got into the first bus but there is a problem
someone insist his bag must be on the seat next to him but there is no other seat
so no choice got to tell him within earshot of everyone in the bus : the seat is for human, not for bag
sorry did not know he was some official but he threw his own face lah ....... not my fault ... :rotflmao: :evil: :evil: -
in spore, the person who put his/her bag on the seat, would just stared at you and looked away or pretend to fall asleep.

Haha. So how did you find out he was some official. kacang official or vip?recently in a ulu airport in a big country
one particular flight i was in happened to have so many vip pax, so one bus was not enough
someone insist his bag must be on the seat next to him but there is no other seat
so no choice got to tell him within earshot of everyone in the bus : the seat is for human, not for bag
sorry did not know he was some official but he threw his own face lah ....... not my fault ... :rotflmao: :evil: :evil: -
his boss got car come to tarmac to fetch him at the foot of the steps coming down from the plane, we lesser mortal take coach lor ... :rotflmao:
Haha. So how did you find out he was some official. kacang official or vip?verykiasu2010:
recently in a ulu airport in a big country
his boss got car come to tarmac to fetch him at the foot of the steps coming down from the plane, we lesser mortal take coach lor ... :rotflmao:[/quote]Maybe he has a few million cash inside his bag? You should have offered to carry on your lap while seated on that seat.
Haha. So how did you find out he was some official. kacang official or vip?jtoh:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]recently in a ulu airport in a big country
sorry did not know he was some official but he threw his own face lah ....... not my fault ... :rotflmao: :evil: :evil:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.