2012 P1 Registration Exercise for 2013 In-Take

3.0k Posts 515 Posters 864.1k Views 1 Watching
      meremortal

so far does MOE do any spot check ?

like send officials down to parents house to spot check that they do indeed move into the new property, within 2 years of the child’s entry into Primary 1 ?

recall one case last time dun know how ... but in the end advertised in newspapers that the father cheated by giving false info, let the child enrol into a school ... i wonder how they find out.
      He rented a place in Maplewoods just for registration into MGS and he told the landlord he had no intention of staying there. Landlord must have rented to someone else, who also used the same address to register in MGS!

But he was caught on a completely different charge, and this was a consequence of that investigation.

So the short answer is no, MOE doesn't really check, but you will be constantly looking over your shoulder, worrying for 6 years whether you will get caught!

But for those who went thru NS, you know the golden rule!

wongsansan

wah wongsansan, your condo house by the sea is very beautiful & lovely 😄 !

btw, you just joined KSP today. Welcome to KSP!

i forsee great competition for those living <1km, registering in July 2013 for P1 2014 at Tao Nan.
        haha no lah, that is just the condo project that i am thinking of going to see 🙂

but my intention of buying there is that my kid can register for Tao nan next time, kiasu mah, so must start early 🙂

wongsansan

dorisp:
          There are many new developments near Tao Nan coming up in year 2013?

well a lot of them will be completed by then, but i heard Tao Nan is going to move :yikes:

not really sure if that is true but that was what my sister heard from her neighbours :xedfingers:

i like the east coast area, at least if i dont get tao nan, i can still try other like CHIJ katong or even Ngee Ann.

haiz, even if mum and dad is trying so hard, boy boy must also contribute... my kid don't seemed to be very interested in learning actually, he is good at drawing and games, that worries me...

wongsansan

BigDevil:

Correct me if I'm wrong but that date is only applicable for 2011 registration to enter P1 in 2012 right? For wongsansan case, it should be a later date.

You are absolutely right. That date is forever updated with each P1 registration. The guideline is the last sentence of the quoted text:

Parents must move into the new property within two years of the child’s entry into Primary One.

so if i buy the condo in 2011, the place get completed in 2014 (assuming), then i rent it out, i dont think i will be making a nice profit, probably just to cover the mortage and maintenance fee and maybe be left with a couple of hundreds every month? i think that will work right? i don't have to physically stay there right?

SAHM_TAN

Errr…the add. u submit for P1 registration, u have to be physically living in it…

If u rent out and that person also uses your add to apply for P1 reg at the same school, then how?

BigDevil

wongsansan:
                BigDevil:

Parents must move into the new property within two years of the child’s entry into Primary One.

so if i buy the condo in 2011, the place get completed in 2014 (assuming), then i rent it out, i dont think i will be making a nice profit, probably just to cover the mortage and maintenance fee and maybe be left with a couple of hundreds every month? i think that will work right? i don't have to physically stay there right?

I think you need to read that again. It says

MUST MOVE IN....

:roll:

hquek

I did entertain that thought briefly…to use the address of a property that was tenanted out (and I won’t stay there). But someone reminded me that tenancy agreements are e-stamped - ie IRAS knows that the property has been tenanted out, so how can I still be staying there.

Anyway, decided to be rational and enrol my child in a school that is within where I physically stay. Better to play safe and sleep well at night, than have to worry about ‘pichar lobang’.

Worked out for the best becos the slightly further away school would have been a minor logistic nightmare compared to my kid’s current school. And I can stand tall and proud. 😛

wongsansan

@hquek

yup! you are right 🙂

i think we just have to replan our whole move again, thanks for the advice guys !

hi wongsansan,

where is Tao Nan shifting to - temporary or permanent shift ? which year start to shift ?

hi ksks3mum,

a) Nan Hua

how was phase 2C balloting (2011) like for schools in Clementi ?

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=358&p=517099#p517099

http://www.nanhuapri.moe.edu.sg/

Nan Hua was hot amongst Clementi residents==> 3 times over-subscibed (take 84 / 28), at phase 2C.

b) Fairfield

how was phase 2C balloting (2011) like for schools in Queenstown ?

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=408&p=517117#p517117

compared to Nan Hua (over-subscribed at 3 times), Fairfield is over subscribed at ==> 1.14 times (take 56 / 49). So, Nan Hua is even tougher to get in.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 34 / 304

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog