how much do u spend on groceries
^oops ! Wrong use of word - should be scald, like how we treat pork in hot water before putting into water to cook soup.
AS for last minute thawing of frozen food, i use the microwave. Must be careful not to let the food cooked. Otherwise i’ll shift the food from freezer to the fridge in the morning. But even that is so sian, hub can last minute called and say can’t eat or boss have last minute late meeting. And i will have problem picking the kids from childcare on time, let alone cook. -
whoa..good topics to discuss cuz I am wondering whether i am overspending on my weekly groceries..
i go to the wet market once a wk to get my fresh supplies of fish,chicken,beef,pork,veg and ended up always spending at least $120.00, the most $150.00..does that consider expensive? after reading the post, getting doubts whether wet market is cheaper as I perceived it to be? husband want salmon every wk (cause among all fishes, best value for money for it omega fats, etc) 1kg i got fr the regular fish uncle will cost $19.00. I think I better start comparing prices in NTUC too!
for me when I go to wet market, I dun care, I will ask them how much is a kilo etc...but I dun go to the extend as to bargain with them cause still shy..hehe...
*sigh*...so many prices increase for things we need to use & buy but why not our salary! :stupid: -
^ fish and meat from wet market, hard to say which is cheaper. For sure when supermarkets like NTUC have promotion, their salmon can be really cheaper like $12/kg. I know Carrefour’s pork is relatively cheaper.
Even for wet market, it depends on the location. Kopitiam Square in Sengkang is sheer crazy. The pork is even more expensive than Cold Storage. As for vege like brocoli, capsicum, celery, supermarkets ship in by bulk, so i feel they tend to be cheaper. Leafy ones from malaysia can be cheaper at wet market. And wet market i feel is cheaper in a way when u know the seller and u buy quite a variety and they throw in free spring onions and chillis which u wld need to buy separately if u buy from supermarket. Hawkers will usually introduce new products to try and teach u how to cook them. Supermarkets tends to have less of these and i always have problems buying fresh noodles or kway tiao in supermarket. 1 packet too little, 2 packets become too much. -
I also estimate grocery shopping to be about $600 per month. As I have a 13 mo, I usually buy a whole sakura chicken or beef/pork fillet chunks, use my hand-held braun blender to blend the fillet before freezing into 5 portions. With the beef, I pair with fresh corn kernels which I mix-in before blending. With the pork/chicken, I blend it with onions and garlic. On a weekday, I thaw 1 portion in the fridge in the early morning and it is ready to be cooked with porridge by evening. The porridge is extremely tasty.
I recently found out how easy it is to cook stew which can keep for 2 days in the fridge. We redeemed the white porcelain pot from ntuc. The great thing about it is I can stir-fry/brown my ingredients (chicken fillet, potato cubes, onions, garlics, mushrooms, babycorn then add soup stock) in the pot, cool it, refrigerate it, and heat it up in the same pot when ready to eat. I simmer the stew on fire for 15 minutes and its ready. I cook this on a late Sunday afternoon, and we can have it for dinner on Monday and Tuesday. Because I use soup stock (yellow beans, potato, fish bones, or any combination), I do not need to add any sauce or sugar. Maybe just pepper. So I am happy to let my 4yo have it with white rice. Just add on a steam vege dish (ladyfingers or plain spinach leaves) for her.
Going to experiment to make tomato sauce with onions, garlic, ginger and freeze it this weekend. My 4yo can have it with spaghetti. Hope the taste is strong enough cos I will not be adding sauce/salt/sugar. Maybe I can save some of my soup stock for this tomato sauce. -
I have 3 kids and 3 adults at home, so groceries are between $800-900! This doesn’t even include diapers, milk powder etc.
michyms:
I have 3 kids and 3 adults at home, so groceries are between $800-900! This doesn't even include diapers, milk powder etc.
山珍海味 for breakfast lunch dinner and supper ? :rotflmao: -
My home consists of 1 kid, 3 adults and 3 dogs and my monthly groceries about $1200.
Myeo:
My home consists of 1 kid, 3 adults and 3 dogs and my monthly groceries about $1200.
may be your dogs are glutton ? :rotflmao: :siam:
Verykaisu, actually we hardly even eat much of expensive meats like beef. But my hubby and kids likes organic cereals and granola, so that must be what’s busting the budget!
Things are getting very expensive nowadays. Not surprising to spend more than $200 a week at NTUC for a family of 4. I don’t even eat the top range stuff and my bill comes up to $900 - $1000 a month with milk and diapers included. I only go to supermarkets. I actually find wet markets more expensive, esp for fish.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.