Raising Resilient Children
:hi5: my exact thought!Think most moms can pass off the drama queen part.

Markfch, you mentioned you're six times older than DS which makes you roughly 42 yrs old! Really arh! *gasp*
No lah, I typed wrongly. I meant to say I'm 6 years older than ds. :please:Busymom:
If my ds forgets his watch, he'll get the same rant from me. This is part of training to be responsible right?markfch, good thing that your DS actually remembers to bring back his watch after putting on and taking off several times a day. My forgetful DD had left her watch behind in the classroom before. That time she really got my full :rant: as the watch was like a week old.
Last week ds told me something which shocked me again. He said, \"I noticed that kind people are normally weak people.\" :yikes:
Life lesson No. 2.
For better or for worse, I concurred, \"Yes. Next time don't be too kind when you grow up, otherwise people will take advantage of you.\" Not sure whether I taught the right thing, it just came out of my mouth in that instant. :? -
My dd2 is 7 too. Another sensitive soul. I read a book about distinguishing friendly teasing (remarks) vs unfriendly ones. Explain to her before P1 commenced.
It's working. Now she's not the least affected by such remarks. Say if classmates commented about her earrings (not stub) she would retort she has special permission. Stood by her (or rather my) taste for water bottle holder designs.
Told her 'you set the trend, let others follow' :evil: -
No lah, I typed wrongly. I meant to say I'm 6 years older than ds. :please:
:rotflmao: -
sleepy:
That's great. You prepared her in advance. You're a conscientious parent.My dd2 is 7 too. Another sensitive soul. I read a book about distinguishing friendly teasing (remarks) vs unfriendly ones. Explain to her before P1 commenced.
It's working. Now she's not the least affected by such remarks. Say if classmates commented about her earrings (not stub) she would retort she has special permission. Stood by her (or rather my) taste for water bottle holder designs.
Told her 'you set the trend, let others follow' :evil:
I'm only faced with the problem recently. Still not too late lah. At least he's learning to be stronger. Today he decided that he should wear the watch the whole day, regardless of possible comments by others. That's my boy! -
U GO BOI BOI! U da man! :rahrah:
They dare say stuff abt your Transformer watch again... you... you...
You just transform ok? I love Optimus for his deep man voice and which
chick doesn't like em' chesty plates so man like that uh and i also like the
cheery yellow BumbleBee. Yellow n black is such a cool contrast. :offtopic:markfch:
Yaa.. yaa.. :roll: We believe you bro.. we believe you.. :roll:
No lah, I typed wrongly. I meant to say I'm 6 years older than ds. :please:buds:
Yaah you know! :rant: Auntie buds here kena stepped on like a doormat hokay! :frustrated: But i'm not weak.. just waiting for the perfect time to get back... thats all. :wrongmove:Last week ds told me something which shocked me again. He said, \"I noticed that kind people are normally weak people.\" :yikes:
Life lesson No. 2.
For better or for worse, I concurred, \"Yes. Next time don't be too kind when you grow up, otherwise people will take advantage of you.\" Not sure whether I taught the right thing, it just came out of my mouth in that instant. :?
He's gonna be a great philosopher!
Last week ds told me something which shocked me again. He said, \"I noticed that kind people are normally weak people.\" :yikes:
Life lesson No. 2.
For better or for worse, I concurred, \"Yes. Next time don't be too kind when you grow up, otherwise people will take advantage of you.\" Not sure whether I taught the right thing, it just came out of my mouth in that instant. :?
Being kind is good.
Being nice is great.
But overly so might not be too wise! -
Kind is not the same as being a doormat. One is motivated by wanting to do the right thing or being tolerant out of a big heart. The other is motivated by fear of repercussions. I would have asked the child what incidents he had observed in school to lead to that conclusion and discussed that. It is not a zero-sum game. He raised a very good point, and it is something worth pursuing and a chance to impart some life values as well as parameters.Last week ds told me something which shocked me again. He said, \"I noticed that kind people are normally weak people.\" :yikes:
Life lesson No. 2.
For better or for worse, I concurred, \"Yes. Next time don't be too kind when you grow up, otherwise people will take advantage of you.\" Not sure whether I taught the right thing, it just came out of my mouth in that instant. :? -
Of course it's not the same deminc. :slapshead: I was jesting with brader markfch... a not so private ILs joke. But ppl do take advantage of someone who's too kind... hence in my \"case\", patience n kindness ain't necessarily a virtue. My tolerance level is beyond magnanimous. Extremely tolerant.. kind.. patient.. and all out of love.
Thus far it has been worth it. :love:
:xedfingers: -
deminc:
Hi Mark, just want to share my personal views.
Kind is not the same as being a doormat. One is motivated by wanting to do the right thing or being tolerant out of a big heart. The other is motivated by fear of repercussions. I would have asked the child what incidents he had observed in school to lead to that conclusion and discussed that. It is not a zero-sum game. He raised a very good point, and it is something worth pursuing and a chance to impart some life values as well as parameters.markfch:
Life lesson No. 2.
I agree with deminc. There is no single general term to explain this situation - discussion and reasoning is best for a growing child.
Your instant comment 'Next time don't be too kind when you grow up, otherwise people will take advantage of you' is rather misleading and inappropriate for yr DS, in my humble opinion ( No offence intended, paiseh). His view of 'nice people are weak' is similar to the old saying 'nice people finish last'. That is not necessarily true. It is all a particular angle of perception. Better to explain the pros and the cons and have a nice discussion to your bright and perceptive DS.
But I can understand that angle as well. When my DS was in lower primary, he was always helping out, being kind to teachers and students - so in a way, he was 'taken advantage- of sometimes. My sis, his caring aunt, would always say ' why so goon ? do so much for what ? lugi wor. ' etc. However, if you look at it in a bigger picture, what do you lose out on ? time ? effort ?
I had a talk with him, and I sincerely believed him, when he said he dont feel that he was disadvantaged in anyway. He simply wants to help and be nice. It does not bother him much what others think or do. I think as young boys, that should be a good thing, not being calculative, being open minded, having a big heart.
In upper primary, he stood up for the smaller kids against bullies, occasionally getting into scruffles with the bullies. So we get called up once or twice. Though the teachers was quick to point out he did it out of good, but the method was wrong. ( Secretly, I told him, I was on his side, coz thats what boys do. ). But some of the other classmates appreciate his 'actions' because the bully toned down after these incidents. Likewise, his aunt would say \" why u kaypo? none of yr biz, now u kena reprimanded, not worth\". Always 2 sides to a coin.
At their age, they are learning very fast. Groom them, guide them but we should not harness them totally in our views. Share with them and let them see the good right choices, thats what I would do.
when they reach their early teens, then new sets of problems come - seeking atttention, wanting to be popular, BGR, etc , but hopefully the foundation has been built solidly, so they can continue their lesson curve well.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.