[Fun Poll] How satisfied are u with ur child(ren) results?

317 Posts 55 Posters 57.4k Views 1 Watching
      RRMummy

BigDevil:
      She did that for section A, but not for this question. I believe she also just checked her own working but didn't bother to read the question again.

Ah..mine did for section B and C but not for Section A :slapshead:

More training (=nagging)required 😉
      BigDevil:
      I was furious at how she could missed such vital information when the question clearly stated the number is between 900 and 1000. :mad:
      BigDevil:
      That's what I repeatedly told her to do...but I don't see any such markings on her paper. :rant: :frustrated:
      Ah!! I know that exact feeling!! :frustrated: :rant:

psst.. moving forward i'm giving her highlighters to encourage her to circle key point and hopefully the highlighting 'shouts' the key info to her! :xedfingers:

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

DD did quite well. Scored the highest in class for English (not the only one lah), improved tremendously in Chinese but again, fell victim to the dreaded C-bug for Math.

Overall, we are pretty happy with her results. She requested to go rock climbing as a reward and we are happy to oblige. DS of course is super happy to reap the benefits of DD’s hardwork.

pinky

BigDevil:

wow.. then you must surely reward her lor.... she is a good gal!!

Yes, yes....will probably bring her to Popular and let her choose any book she wants. 😄

this is a good idea, much better than those electronic gadgets

Chenonceau

DD did quite well. Scored the highest in class for English (not the only one lah), improved tremendously in Chinese but again, fell victim to the dreaded C-bug for Math.

Overall, we are pretty happy with her results. She requested to go rock climbing as a reward and we are happy to oblige. DS of course is super happy to reap the benefits of DD's hardwork.
            Highest in class for English... :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

BeContented

What about candy?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ct3KnfalfEI
              cute 😉
              if ever I eat up or promised any snack to DD, she'll remember for the longest time. Owed her one milo icecrem we saw somewhere 1.5yrs ago, DD still hunting & reminding me till now. If she would use such determination on her studies, ace liao 😆

HyperKiasu

My DS's school only released results of Maths, Paper 2 for Eng and Paper 2 for MT. All paper 1 results still unknown. But the overall ranking in class was announced 2 days ago.

In addition, no breakdown of Paper 1 for both of Eng and MT has ever been released in the past (DS in P2 this yr). I feel strange, is it confidential? (but nothing to be confidential what.....). :?

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

RRMummy:
                  BigDevil:

She did that for section A, but not for this question. I believe she also just checked her own working but didn't bother to read the question again.

Ah..mine did for section B and C but not for Section A :slapshead:

More training (=nagging)required 😉
                  BigDevil:
                  I was furious at how she could missed such vital information when the question clearly stated the number is between 900 and 1000. :mad:
                  BigDevil:
                  That's what I repeatedly told her to do...but I don't see any such markings on her paper. :rant: :frustrated:
                  Ah!! I know that exact feeling!! :frustrated: :rant:

psst.. moving forward i'm giving her highlighters to encourage her to circle key point and hopefully the highlighting 'shouts' the key info to her! :xedfingers:

I think this careless thing will be the death of many a parents.

I made dd do the highlighting of the key info in her practise papers for Math. Could see that she did that for the 1st page but thereafter she skipped that step and that is when all the carelessness happen.

Question clearly said 'in the morning' and she went to choose the timing that indicated PM. The question said 1 plate of rice and 2 chix wings, she missed out the 2 chix wings. Haizz.

In my opinion, this Math exam could easily have been a full marks paper for DD. And she agreed but she got complacent and did not do a proper check at the end of the paper. She, too, felt it was an easy paper and thought she got them all correct so all she did was to check that she answered every question. :stupid:

Oh well, still above class and level average. Some carelessness is expected of kids this age I guess. So she can go climb that rock and let off some steam.

silverhorse

HyperKiasu:
                    My DS's school only released results of Maths, Paper 2 for Eng and Paper 2 for MT. All paper 1 results still unknown. But the overall ranking in class was announced 2 days ago.

In addition, no breakdown of Paper 1 for both of Eng and MT has ever been released in the past (DS in P2 this yr). I feel strange, is it confidential? (but nothing to be confidential what.....). :?

Hyperkiasu,
                    My same sentiments. I ever checked with FT about it but they canno reveal. So until today, I have gotten partial marks for English and MT... which makes me \"kan cheong\" as I want to know the total marks my DS gets. Frustrating....

RRMummy

I think this careless thing will be the death of many a parents.
                      yalor.. vomit blood until dehydrated.. 😂
                      The question said 1 plate of rice and 2 chix wings, she missed out the 2 chix wings. Haizz.
                      same thing happened to mine too during practice 🤷
                      Oh well, still above class and level average. Some carelessness is expected of kids this age I guess. So she can go climb that rock and let off some steam.
                      Yes.. whatever our frustatration.. as long as they have done their best, we should celebrate!! :rahrah:

sakura_2009

silverhorse:
                        HyperKiasu:

Hyperkiasu,
                        My same sentiments. I ever checked with FT about it but they canno reveal. So until today, I have gotten partial marks for English and MT... which makes me \"kan cheong\" as I want to know the total marks my DS gets. Frustrating....

I've heard that many schools are adopting the same practice - especially for Paper 1 (Compo/Oral). Main reason was because some schools have problems with the parents who demanded to know why their kids are getting XX marks when they feel that their kids deserved more marks based on their own judgement etc. It ended up with parents challenging the teachers over the marks/grading etc especially for compo since the marking can be quite subjective, even if there are certain benchmarks to follow. Not sure if that is the only reason though... :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 18 / 32