Ministerial Salary Review
I can only say....... TOUCHE 3Boys :imcool:
First of all, I don't believe in welfare state, and I don't feel that govt should freely give handouts either.. just to set the record straight.
However, I do not agree with some of the policies..
What is TH doing?
How they choose the TH CEO?
How they choose the SMRT CEO?
etc etc... and the list goes on..
Where is TRANSPARENCY & ACCOUNTABILITY?
Your line of argument is that if they are not highly paid, they are not talents, which is Not true.
My line of argument is that even if you pay top dollar you may not get top talents.
what's yr view on TH ? :imanangel: :imanangel: -
well, I did warn earlier, these rebuttals will lead to a never ending loop................ :sad: :sad:
errr agreed but........ the last time I checked... they ARE politicians wor :scratchhead: U expect them do what ?read Pritam, CSM, Yaw lor....sensible comments mixed in with stuff calculated to score political points only. e.g. \"Money saved can be distributed....\" yada yada yada....
The much admired WP not so pure as snow or heroic as imagined hor...?
guessing nia hor - the point is after so many years of submissive silence, some people has decided that they are 'the LESSER of two evils'. :evil:
unlike similar to yr type of stand is more towards ' BETTER the devil we know, than the devil we don't' :evil: :evil:
:torchme: :torchme: -
Just read Pritam, CSM, Yaw lor....sensible comments mixed in with stuff calculated to score political points only. e.g. \"Money saved can be distributed....\" yada yada yada....
Really, really? I didn't noticed...what did I miss ah? Share leh, 3Boys...concern2:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]If there is one thing I take away from this series of exchanges, is that WP is scary good.....at politicking. Much better than the PAP.
Old as the hills......
The much admired WP not so pure as snow or heroic as imagined hor...?[/quote]Thanks, 3boys! Will go catch up on their videos!
I've just read a blog (http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/2012/01/mother-of-all-sacrifices.html) and he mentioned an interesting point which hadn't occurred to me.
In my own words, the old birds from PAP have spoken, right up to LKY, but only new birds from WP has spoken on the issue of ministerial pay. In other words, 小兵出招,怎么都是老将在接招? -
[quote]
Just read Pritam, CSM, Yaw lor....sensible comments mixed in with stuff calculated to score political points only. e.g. \"Money saved can be distributed....\" yada yada yada....
Old as the hills......
The much admired WP not so pure as snow or heroic as imagined hor...?[/quote]Thanks, 3boys! Will go catch up on their videos!
I've just read a blog (http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/2012/01/mother-of-all-sacrifices.html) and he mentioned an interesting point which hadn't occurred to me.
In my own words, the old birds from PAP have spoken, right up to LKY, but only new birds from WP has spoken on the issue of ministerial pay. In other words, 小兵出招,怎么都是老将在接招?
the more these guys talk, the more news generated
the more news generated /either good or bad
the more well known these guys will be
and so it will increase their chances of being elected next time round (hopefully)
anyway minister salary debate is WASTE OF TIME
LHL already put the whip in place
he vote 1 thing, the rest of the whiteys MUST follow
no matter what, 6 blue ppl cannot outvote 80 ppl
LTK already fight parliament battle for 20+ years, might as well let the young ones gain experience points and increase their level
by the way, WP not that noble one la, I think they are just very practical
but between them and the whites, I would rather choose them -
And what is wrong with the GST at 7%? Give me some examples of mature economies that do not have some form of consumption tax or VAT? Name a few that have VAT LOWER than Singapore. If they do not use this, there from where else should they raise revenue to FUND the types of programmes that opposition and supporters thereof seem to clamour for all the time?
First of all, I don't believe in welfare state, and I don't feel that govt should freely give handouts either.. just to set the record straight.
GST 7%?
Look at the well being of majority of citizens.. were they better than they were 10 years ago? even in mist of increasing GDP.. which was used as a basis to pay obscene bonuses.. is it FAIR to the pple?
Look at the facts.. not theories or beliefs..
Define 'majority' of citizens. 51%? I challenge the notion that the 'majority' of citizens have not had their standard of living improved over the last 10 years. I agree the progress has been uneven, but real incomes have risen for the 'majority'.
Next think beyond our borders. Which developed nation in the world is not suffering for the competition from the rise of the Asian giants, Eastern Europe and Latam? Are things getting tough for us? Of course! If a Tsunami hits the coast of Japan, is it the fault of the government that sea wall built for a magnitude 8 earthquake could not take a magnitude 9 one? There is an economic tsunami enveloping the developed world right now, they (we) are all struggling to deal with it. But we have strong reserves, we have control of our currency, we can continue to educate our young. All great things to have in this environment. You want to chuck the present team overboard and have an untested group help navigate the waters for you? Yeah, they can do so for a short while, burn through the reserves, then what?
Perhaps it will pander to your sense of injustice, but talk about cutting ones nose to spite ones face.
I am a Singaporean too, I've lived here almost all my life. I think the PAP is best thing since sliced bread, that the only reason we are where are, instead of a sleepy fishing village. You think our workforce is so great? Mediocre as hell....
Yes, they have gotten complacent, yes, they have made quite a lot of mistakes recently, yes, their politics stink, yes, they deserved to get their behinds kicked at the last GE. But they do not deserve to be treated unfairly.... -
CPF minimum sum increase?
Lower corporate tax?
What is TH doing?
How they choose the SMRT CEO? What is transport minister doing?
Your line of argument is that if they are not highly paid, they are not talents, which is Not true. CSM is one example. How about the past extra-ordinary ministers.. like GKS, OTC etc.. were they paid obscene salaries? But they delivered, didn't they?
Errr....until quite recently, CSM was indeed, VERY highly paid!
And how many of you actually think the CPF minimum sum is going to get you through retirement? Ad if they don't take action now, when the silver tsunami hits, and inflation erodes savings then how? More old ladies collecting cardboard boxes in the streets, more opposition tear-jerker videos claiming non-compassionate g'ment, taxes raised for the younger generation, low economic growth as a result.....
Sound familiar?
I wish WP comes to power soon, see how they can perform magic to solve these exact same problems.....then MY turn to throw brickbats. -
Strparent:
well, I did warn earlier, these rebuttals will lead to a never ending loop................ :sad: :sad:
errr agreed but........ the last time I checked... they ARE politicians wor :scratchhead: U expect them do what ?3Boys:
read Pritam, CSM, Yaw lor....sensible comments mixed in with stuff calculated to score political points only. e.g. \"Money saved can be distributed....\" yada yada yada....
The much admired WP not so pure as snow or heroic as imagined hor...?
guessing nia hor - the point is after so many years of submissive silence, some people has decided that they are 'the LESSER of two evils'. :evil:
unlike similar to yr type of stand is more towards ' BETTER the devil we know, than the devil we don't' :evil: :evil:
:torchme: :torchme:
Indeed.....
but be careful what you wish for, you might just get it.
And Prince Charming might just turn into a frog. -
Yes, so what if they left due to disagreements?
Oh.. btw.. just a mention.. somehow.. a few talented or well-liked MPs left the white camp in the past.... isn't it? and probably it is not related to low pay.... but due to disagreements? but these are just speculations.. so can disregard them.. -
Strparent:
I can only say....... TOUCHE 3Boys :imcool:limlim:
What is TH doing?
How they choose the SMRT CEO?
Where is TRANSPARENCY & ACCOUNTABILITY?
Your line of argument is that if they are not highly paid, they are not talents, which is Not true.
My line of argument is that even if you pay top dollar you may not get top talents.
what's yr view on TH ? :imanangel: :imanangel:
What about TH?
Did badly recently? Sure
How about the long term record? I don't have the figures about how they benchmark against other sovereign funds and am happy to be educated on their non-performance.
SMRT is listed company, whilst Temasek was possibly represented on the board (do they hold a seat?), the decision is a private one not dictated by the g'ment.
Really befuddles me how anyone can attribute SPH's appointment to the the g'ment and blame them for any fall out.
So limlim, you have someone you'd like to nominate to SMRT board as their next CEO, since you have a strong opinion about the previous one? -
3Boys, we have not reached the point to worry so much yet about opposition taking over the house. Having some opposition brings many dimensions to an issue. For example, in the forum, we discuss until we can see things for each other’s views. It is certainly not a bad thing, both Chenon and I can attest to that. Positive diversity brings about progress. As citizens, I believe we are all watchful not to tip the balance in the scale for the macro picture, we still have faith in the leadership but we need a voice to bounce ideas so that things are not so top-down approach. I believe even for your sons, you will give them a chance to ask why and offer their different views before you come to some middle ground with them, no? If opposition is not constructive, I am sure it will be obvious to many as seen in past cases of undesirable oppositions. Singapore has reached some level of maturity to be able to manage this by its people. Of course I am with you when we read some of the very extreme views on the net that sometimes raise our brows the way the leadership is being brutally bashed. Balance is what we need.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.