Q&A - P3 Science
atutor2001:
What about the seeds in the apple. Are they living things?
Hi atutor2001
Some interesting articles on seeds.
http://infopedia.nl.sg/Research/opendoc.aspx?doc=pls/pf_ie_is%20a%20seed%20a%20living%20thing_08.pdf
Best wishes -
leeven:
Hi
but any way the question also didnt specify it was in the tree or out of tree. That is the question from my brilliant son who is asking me since they dont say so he assumed it can be anyway.. Hmmmm :x
Is this question from your son's SA science paper?If it is, take a look at the complete question after you have the opportunity to see it.
If the location of the apple is not indicated, then the answer to this question is subjective.
Best wishes -
elkniwt:
There's this question on an experiment. It shows a magnet attracting many nails. Then after the magnet is heated, it shows the number of nails attracted by the magnet is greatly decreased. And the qn asked : What does the experiment above show about magnets?
My dd's ans is \"If you heat a magnet, it will lose its magnetism.\" And it was marked wrong. Her teacher's ans is \"A magnet loses its magnetism when heated.\" What's the difference?? :?
For info. My dd checked with her teacher, teacher said must put the words \"over flame\". i.e. if my dd's ans is \"If you heat a magnet over flame, it will lose its magnetism.\" Then, it will be correct.
Hmm.. confusing..
elkniwt:
But the teacher herself or himself also never put 'over flame' leh.
Hi,elkniwt:
There's this question on an experiment. It shows a magnet attracting many nails. Then after the magnet is heated, it shows the number of nails attracted by the magnet is greatly decreased. And the qn asked : What does the experiment above show about magnets?
My dd's ans is \"If you heat a magnet, it will lose its magnetism.\" And it was marked wrong. Her teacher's ans is \"A magnet loses its magnetism when heated.\" What's the difference?? :?
For info. My dd checked with her teacher, teacher said must put the words \"over flame\". i.e. if my dd's ans is \"If you heat a magnet over flame, it will lose its magnetism.\" Then, it will be correct.
Hmm.. confusing..
You mean 'heated' is still not clear ah? 'Heated' - of course is over flame lah, then over ice meh? -
Hi Muffins, Full.Cream, watmekiasu, tianzhu
(deleted by writer)
ps
Please ignore my post. I have got the definition of fruit all wrong. Didn’t realise that seeds are not part of a fruit. -
atutor2001:
1stly, if they say 'apple', it's almost always a standalone apple. It wld be very cheeky to insist that the apple is still on the tree.Hi Muffins, Full.Cream, watmekiasu, tianzhu
Thank you very much for your feedback and information.
Going back to the \"apple question\" and lets say that the question shows an apple on a table (i.e. plucked from the tree)
I am still confused as to whether how a student should define \"apple\" in this question. In science, \"apple\" is a fruit and by science definition, a fruit is made up of flesh, seeds and ... ( :oops: other parts that I don't know).
I have \"a fruit\" where the flesh is non-living thing while the seeds are living thing. Should I call the fruit a living or a non-living thing?
However, if \"apple\" is intended to mean only the part we eat (flesh) as under normal usage, then I feel it is not appropriate as it is a \"science question\"
Hope to hear your views. Thank you in advance.
Regards
Eg, if there's a science qn on which of these (chick, puppy, tadpole) hatch from egg, we don't try to be funny and ask what if the egg is not fertilized, ya? -
I think we have to go back to the very basic requirements of all living things - they need air, food and water to survive. A plucked apple does not need any of those, hence, it is not a living thing.
About the oxidation on the apple, it is not proof of a living thing cos even metals can rust under the right conditions. This reminds me of a question my dd posed to me, hoping to catch me off-guard. :lol: Her question was \"Is a live volcano a living thing?\" As I dithered, she went \"No, silly! It may blow its top and spew fumes and ashes like mummy, but it's not a living thing!\" :oops: -
(deleted by writer)
ps
Please ignore my question. I have got the definition of fruit wrong. Didn't realise that seeds are not part of a fruit. My apology for asking nonsense. -
Tang:
If you want to be exact the word in most materials state as GROW.Grow in size is not a condition for classifying living thing. My parents do not grow in size, but I do.
Basic needs of living things are air, water and food. Once an apple is plucked, it does not need air, water and food.
I was trying to be fast when I make the explaination. Living things grow.
Living things grow , including your parents - they grow old, they grow fat, etc., etc, -
rains:
Hi, for me both answers are acceptable, think the teacher is strict in her marking. But this has also prompted me to tell my dd to be more specific in answering her questions. If you relook at the question ..But the teacher herself or himself also never put 'over flame' leh.
You mean 'heated' is still not clear ah? 'Heated' - of course is over flame lah, then over ice meh?
\"What does the experiment above show about magnets?\"
So answer should start from \"A magnet .....\", so in this case \"A magnet loses its magnetism when heated\".
If the question is \"What will happen to the magnet if it is heated over a flame?\" Then the answer could be \"If you heat the magnet over a flame, the magnet loses it magnetism\"
Still I think both answers are acceptable if I am a teacher :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.