Why do they want to know?

67 Posts 24 Posters 10.9k Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

babyblissnz:

Thank you guys for many replies! I've gained an insight into your culture and learned new words. It is out of harmless curiosity - yes it must be.

As for my son's sec sch pursuit, I had encountered three persistent mums who had \"extraordinary\" curiosity. I finally explained them in separate occasions that my son didn't do well on PSLE and I would appreciate if she could spare me the question.
      The first mum went to my other child to get a sch name. The second one called up my friends. The third one approached my son's ex-form teacher to find out. :scared: That was the reason I started this topic - to find out why they cared so much. I guess I can smell some sort of schadenfreude? Any other interpretation?

BTW, I do my best not to stand out and never brag about anything really; scratch that, ahem, I mean I don't have anything to brag about.

You sound like such a gem. Welcome to KSP.

Acing the PSLE is nothing to brag about either. It just means you spent a lotta time trying to answer Science questions just so... write compos according to a strict set of criteria (which doesn't really define all that is good writing... but are used to get more marks)... etc... it's a uniquely Singaporean quirk.

Some people ask because they like you and wanna show they care. My mother-in-law does that. If you dun wanna answer just smile happily and say \"Aiya... donno lah... don care lah... why you ask so much?\" then give the person a nice pat on the back and ask a question.

I like your response. Must remember it. šŸ™‚

jtoh

er, so, babyblissnz, what's your son's t-score and which secondary school is he in!??

:cheeky: :peekaboo:

• iRabbitI Offline
          iRabbit

Oh dear, I just recalled that I pm vk2010 to ask about his ds's T-score and secondary school last year. Does that make me a kaypoh? Yes, but that's only because I'm a true blue born-and-breed Singaporean. :boogie:

The only time I'll refrain from asking this seemingly innocuous question is when I've advance knowledge that the student is academically weak. For this case, I'll not ask as I don't want to create any awkwardness.

Next time I better be careful, don't anyhow shoot my mouth off. Next time maybe I kay-kay say, 'Finally PSLE is over and your son must be enjoying himself now.' If the other parent keeps quiet, then I'll get the message and don't poke my nose in the wrong place. šŸ˜‚

FQW:
            Oh dear, I just recalled that I pm vk2010 to ask about his ds's T-score and secondary school last year. Does that make me a kaypoh? Yes, but that's only because I'm a true blue born-and-breed Singaporean. :boogie:

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: did I give any answer ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

• iRabbitI Offline
              iRabbit

Your exact reply was 'He did ok.' So open in your sharing hor. šŸ˜†

But in my defence, you're the only person I asked here in KSP - because I knew that your ds did extremely well. šŸ˜‚

• iRabbitI Offline
                iRabbit

babyblissnz:

That was the reason I started this topic - to find out why they cared so much. I guess I can smell some sort of schadenfreude? Any other interpretation?

BTW, I do my best not to stand out and never brag about anything really; scratch that, ahem, I mean I don't have anything to brag about.

I've learnt a new word too - schadenfreude. šŸ™‚ Your friends were overly curious I have to say. Maybe all three are in the same gossip club? Take heart. Not all parents are like that. šŸ™‚

Hey babyblissnz, are you related to this guy called 3Boys? How come your England so cheem? I catch no ball leh. šŸ˜‚

iFirefly

pacetone:
                  Like most parents have already told you, they're trying to make small talk and really no harm. My next door neighbour loves to ask me questions, \"going out?\", where to?,etc...... and most of the time, I'll say, yes.... and walk very fast to avoid answering more.

Once I took the lift with a neighbor.. He was in his swimming trunk (only), dripping wet all over.. I asked \"Just came from the pool?\", and he answered politely \"Yes\".. Then there was silence in the air.. I broke the uncomfortable silence and asked \"Forgot your towel?\", and he answered politely again \"Yes\". Then the lift reached the floor on which I stayed, and I scurried off, feeling really silly!!! :siao:

Sometimes, we ask questions not coz we are Kay-Poh. Many a times, we already know the answers to our questions (where else could my neighbor come back from in his swimming trunk.. the market, or the library???), but we just blurt out the questions without giving it much thought, or just to make small talks, and end up asking silly questions!!! :oops: :oops: :oops:

blessed777

Beansprout:

This is part of our culture you need to adapt and learn how to manage your response. We are all members of kiasuparents henceforth i think we are all curious about each other as well eg. kids academic performances, where your kids are studying, which tuition centers do they go and etc. However, we normally ask such questions more tactfully so as not to sour the relationship.

If you choose to come here then need to adapt to our culture.

that is more kaypoh parents than kiasu parents ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

FQW:

[quote=\"babyblissnz\"]That was the reason I started this topic - to find out why they cared so much. I guess I can smell some sort of schadenfreude? Any other interpretation?

I've learnt a new word too - schadenfreude. šŸ™‚ Your friends were overly curious I have to say. Maybe all three are in the same gossip club? Take heart. Not all parents are like that. šŸ™‚

Hey babyblissnz, are you related to this guy called 3Boys? How come your England so cheem? I catch no ball leh. šŸ˜‚[/quote]Woi... never read properly between the lines arh. :slapshead:
                      They are expats you know. Hence the curiosity magnet. šŸ˜‰

PS. babyblissnz... actually sweetheart... your schadenfreude interpretation has very much made you stand out from the local crowd. :preen:

FQW:

Your exact reply was 'He did ok.' So open in your sharing hor. šŸ˜†

But in my defence, you're the only person I asked here in KSP - because I knew that your ds did extremely well. šŸ˜‚

Brader... very quick defense there hor. šŸ˜†
                        Btw.. :pokeeye: ... I oso tru-blu Singaporean u know..
                        but not kaypoh (like you leh)... :siam:...
                        at least not until I heard or rather \"we\" all heard abt your piano. :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 7