Daughter wants to stop learning piano

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Music, Singing, Dancing, Speech & Drama
    112 Posts 39 Posters 38.7k Views 1 Watching

chamonix:
      You mean \"Blunders Made by Future Pianists' PARENTS\" :shock: πŸ˜‰

Yaa!

That too! Kekekekee.. :lol:

chamonix:
      pianists only? Can we include violinists too? I have loads on that :rotflmao:
      Caaan.. of course can! We were on the topic of piano.
      So suggestion of piano came first lor. Pssst, chamonix.
      I got LOADS of those blunder takes from violin practice
      as well. :lol:

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

Ok, this musically challenged mum would like to know.

How often and how long do your kids practise their piano?

I started out with 30mins but DD is always complaining that she has been playing the same pieces over and over again and yes, after each practise session, I have those songs stuck in my head in a loop. So she negotiated with me each piece 5 times and most of the time, she is done in like 10-15mins.

I am actually quite amaze at how fast kids pick up all these. Until now I have problems remembering where CDEFG and A are. But even DS knows. I have half a mind to go learn how to read scores and play the piano too, but will skip all the exams. But still thinking lah.

Busymom

chamonix:
          Hi Busymom,

PMed you.

Oh dear! That's really a pity.

Was there any recording for the event? How about the teachers? Try asking around. Who knows, you might be lucky. πŸ™

Will your ds be joining the Suzuki concert next year? Not my kids cos their school will no longer be associated with Suzuki association soon...

Heehe, you do take recordings of your son's playing, right? Share hor...
          Thanks, chamonix! It was such a coincidence that you won't believe it. The CD player at home was playing the exact same song (from Suzuki violin vol 2) that your DS was playing just as I click the \"play\" button on the blog!

Thoroughly enjoyed it and I watch it again and again (younger 2.5 yo DS too) and I must say I like the way DS moved his body to the music, hmm... very professional. Congratulate yourself! You must have done something right with him.

It's my DD who is playing violin (DS is still waiting for a time slot from the teacher πŸ˜› ). Not sure about the graduation concert, haven't asked her teacher. As mentioned in my PM to you, her teacher is not really in the same school as yours. I have already heard early this year that the March concert might be the last one for the school. I still hope DD could have one next year though. In the meantime, she is just looking forward to playing that last piece in an upcoming concert together with other students.

As for recording at home, we don't do much of that anymore as she gets quite shy these days (and only violin in any case as her Yahama is really training more on hearing than playing... but it is starting to show result as I was pleasantly surprised last week when she played a piece with both hands after listening to it several times on the CD). Maybe your DS's video will inspire her! I shall ask πŸ˜‰

Busymom

I got LOADS of those blunder takes from violin practice
            as well. :lol:
            When it comes to violin, me three! :?

Busymom

Hi Funz

Mine on average perhaps 5 times a week (we usually do not practise again on the day that we have lesson). Each time would be at most 15-20 minutes. As we are with Yamaha's JMC, there is less emphasis now on note reading or technical skills (but as mummy here knows how to play, I do correct her when I see something not right), so our typical practice session is just to get her to play each song like once or twice (we always revise the old songs). I rarely ask her to play more than 3 repetitions as I know her temperament won't be able to take it... πŸ˜›

5 times sound like a lot to me already... Don't think I did that when I was a student too. :oops:

What's more important, is to play correctly each time, I think.

metz

Hi Busymom,

:oops: So sorry about mixing up your kid's gender. My memory must be failing me... 😞

Thanks for the encouragement. It is really his teacher's credit that my son is starting to play better. My job, erm, is to remind him to practise what the teacher requires of him. πŸ˜„

Indeed the concert would be something to look forward to. But tis not possible for us now. 😒 I'm sure your daughter will have a great time playing Gavotte with the other kids in the upcoming concert. I love the part when they pluck the strings together. Wonderful!

Congrats! That's a great achievement! Tell your daughter that Auntie thinks she is doing excellent. Keep up the good work!

metz

Hi Funz,

For us, it depends on which stage of the learning we are at.

We were quite lax in home practices in the beginning, usually just one practice (20 minutes) before the next lesson.

But along the way, the frequency increases. For my girl, she goes on the piano whenever she likes. On average, her practice time is about 30-45 minutes (which includes talking, laughing over her mistakes etc), 3 times a week.

For my son, we are trying to establish a routine. Still work in progress. But generally, he spends at least an hour on each practice nowadays. During a good week, he’ll do 3 sessions. But on a bad week, it will be just once.

In time to come, I hope we can achieve more regular practices like Busymom. And yes, playing properly is very important for us too. My kids, especially my son, have this tendency not to count and rush through the music pieces. So, quite a fair bit of time is spent on making them slow down and count.

Edit : Just wanna add on they will usually practise a few pieces, including the techniques exercises, each time. But at times, my son will also extract certain parts and zoom in on them. That helps improve the playing too.

kkl

sigh … my dd is 6 this year

asking her to practice her piano is like having WW3 with her
                    she gets upset and cries
                    but when i say to stop her piano class, she insist she wants to continue
                    she just want to attend lessons but not practice at home
                    i really don’t know why we still wasting money on her since she is like dat???

daisyt

kkl:
                      sigh ... my dd is 6 this year

asking her to practice her piano is like having WW3 with her
                      she gets upset and cries
                      but when i say to stop her piano class, she insist she wants to continue
                      she just want to attend lessons but not practice at home
                      i really don't know why we still wasting money on her since she is like dat???
                      hi kkl, I used to be in WW2.5 with dd too. She won't cry, so slightly better than you, WW2.5 πŸ˜„ I was exactly in the same position as you when my dd was young. I simply kept nagging, kept pushing her to practise. When she was in grade 5, that was during the PSLE period. After talking to her, I realised that the teacher and piano were part of her obstacles. I gave her a cooling period (since its PSLE time too) of 3 months. After 3 months, she confirmed she wanted to continue BUT she asked me to help her by keep nagging and pushing her to practise. Of course, I did but no need to push as hard as previous years. At the same time, I am trying to enourage her, to build up the strong interest. Even the teacher is saying, she has the built, talent and learn fast, but need to put in more effort in practising more.

Anyway, its important to find out why she not practising at home.
                      1) She has lost interest in piano, if yes, why ? It can be due to teacher, or the teaching method.
                      2) She is lazy to practise?
                      3) She finds it difficult. (BTW, which grade is she in now?)
                      4) She needs accompany when practising ? Need encouragement and praise ?

After your findings, then you can tackle on how to deal with it.

luckystar

Teacher plays an important part, check with the teacher. Do not pressure the kids for exam too, or take a slower pace.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 12