hi fellow parents!
i'm DD Mommy. Desperate & Delirious
Can I get some help on preparation for balloting in primary schools?
Does anyone know if there's affiliation for members of Teochew associations?
Thanks!!! -
eeyore_wei:
May I ask which phrase will your child be qualify in both school?Hi,
I'm in a dilemma on which school should I choose to send my kid to.
a) Red Swastika
b) Pei Chun Pri
I'm staying in the east which is 10-15mins drive from Red Swatika. But apprently, Pei Chun seems to be a better school as compare to Red Swastika.
Thanks! -
mummy of 3:
Just send to CHIJ OLN your own school at Phase 2A. No competition at all and it's a better school than Edgefield bah...
If u r using ur parent's address, it will be within 2km not 1km.dokomo:
Hi Parents,
Need your advise here, I am in a dilemma as to which school i should \"target\" for my girl (Yr 2008).
-within 1km of my mum's house, there's PLMGS (abt 20 mins from home)
-within 1km of my MIL's house, there's CHIJ St Nic (abt 30 mins from home)
-within 1km of my house, there's Edgefield PS (next to my block)
-My own primary school - CHIJ OLN
My 2 main considerations are Christian school (grow up in Christian environment) and shorter distance from my home to the school. Should I target on PLMGS and PV there? Will I have a better chance there or should I just settle on Edgefield which is the nearest?
:thankyou: very much!
Just fyi. I think u stick to your own school or the school next to ur block.
Dun bother with CHIJ St Nic's... too hard to get in and you have no chance unless you PV/Catholic and live within 1km yourself (not your MIL). -
eeyore_wei:
Do read the info on registration phases before considering which schools to select. Many factors come into play - alumni, distance, associations etc. It's not by whim or fancy.Hi,
I'm in a dilemma on which school should I choose to send my kid to.
a) Red Swastika
b) Pei Chun Pri
I'm staying in the east which is 10-15mins drive from Red Swatika. But apprently, Pei Chun seems to be a better school as compare to Red Swastika.
Thanks!
You also need to read the info on balloting history on this website. Better school = more competition. How to beat the competition when you live so far away from Pei Chun? You won't even get a chance to ballot. Don't be like Zoe Tay who volunteered for nothing at Nanyang Primary when she lived more than 2km away... do research first.
Only try Pei Chun IF you are an old boy/girl or live within 1km of the school. Many pple may think Pei Chun may lose popularity after the former principal's prostitute scandal but most parents are rational and will still apply coz it is still a good school. -
DD Mommy:
Which school you looking at? I never heard of schools formed by the Teochew association. Only the Hokkien Huay Kuan has a group of schools under their care. The best is to call up your association and ask them.hi fellow parents!
i'm DD Mommy. Desperate & Delirious
Can I get some help on preparation for balloting in primary schools?
Does anyone know if there's affiliation for members of Teochew associations?
Thanks!!! -
Hi jheng & cherrygal ,
Iβm a old sch girl from Red Swastika, Hubby is old school boy from Pei Chun.
From what i read, I feel that Pei Chun is better than Red Swatika, am i right?
I just worried about the travelling time for the kids. Not sure if it is worth the travel as i stay in the east. -
eeyore_wei:
both are popular schools and popular schools should be good for their reasons.Hi jheng & cherrygal ,
I'm a old sch girl from Red Swastika, Hubby is old school boy from Pei Chun.
I just worried about the travelling time for the kids. Not sure if it is worth the travel as i stay in the east.
Peichun is SAP sch so better focus on chinese.
both have no affiliation to any sec sch.
if you ask me, i go for distance. -
I agree with jedamum. If you are concern with travelling time on school bus, perhaps you can call the bus operator to get a better idea before you decide
both are popular schools and popular schools should be good for their reasons.eeyore_wei:
Hi jheng & cherrygal ,
I'm a old sch girl from Red Swastika, Hubby is old school boy from Pei Chun.
I just worried about the travelling time for the kids. Not sure if it is worth the travel as i stay in the east.
Peichun is SAP sch so better focus on chinese.
both have no affiliation to any sec sch.
if you ask me, i go for distance.
While Pei Chun is a good school, dun forget that many parents also need to ballot for a school like Red Swastika. So, in many parentsβ minds, RS is a good school. Hence, unless you are willing to move nearer to Pei Chun, I would choose RS for the convenience. East to Toa Payoh is quite far.
a lot of parents staying in Bedok are dying to enrol their child in Red Swastika.
You ask Bedok residents around - which school you targeting at ? Many will reply, \"i just pray hard my son / daughter can get into Red Swastika\". :nailbite:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3487&start=250
2011 phase 2C -
Red Swastika was 3.5 times over-subscribed. Yes ! so hot in demand !
Pei Chun -
in contrast, only 1.9 times over-subscribed.
so you know how popular RS is!
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=462&start=1160
you stay too far from Pei Chun Toa Payoh.
one trip alone is enough to make you tired. Why not ... you try out yourself first. Because if you enrol your child in Pei Chun, this is the realistic truth he's going to experience everyday. Make a few trips up and down from your home in the east to Pei Chun, for ONE week consecutively. If you're an adult and can't tahan, what more for a young child at P1. You know the answer in your heart.
at the same time, call up Pei Chun school driver to your area. Ask how long is the travelling time journey to pick up pupils staying around your area. If you can accept the travelling time, decide carefully.
but if you really desire Pei Chun and want to shorten travelling time on school bus, then try to rent / shift nearer for next 6 years.
if you don't want to shift but still want to go for Pei Chun, maybe persevere for minimal 2 years first. After 2 years, then transfer him out to Red Swastika, if RS has vacancy.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.