3.6k Posts 838 Posters 1.1m Views 2 Watching
      cherrygal

eeyore_wei:

I'm in a dilemma on which school should I choose to send my kid to.

a) Red Swastika
      b) Pei Chun Pri

I'm staying in the east which is 10-15mins drive from Red Swatika. But apprently, Pei Chun seems to be a better school as compare to Red Swastika.

Thanks!
      Do read the info on registration phases before considering which schools to select. Many factors come into play - alumni, distance, associations etc. It's not by whim or fancy.

You also need to read the info on balloting history on this website. Better school = more competition. How to beat the competition when you live so far away from Pei Chun? You won't even get a chance to ballot. Don't be like Zoe Tay who volunteered for nothing at Nanyang Primary when she lived more than 2km away... do research first.

Only try Pei Chun IF you are an old boy/girl or live within 1km of the school. Many pple may think Pei Chun may lose popularity after the former principal's prostitute scandal but most parents are rational and will still apply coz it is still a good school.

cherrygal

DD Mommy:
        hi fellow parents!

i'm DD Mommy. Desperate & Delirious ๐Ÿ™‚
        Can I get some help on preparation for balloting in primary schools?
        Does anyone know if there's affiliation for members of Teochew associations?
        Thanks!!!
        Which school you looking at? I never heard of schools formed by the Teochew association. Only the Hokkien Huay Kuan has a group of schools under their care. The best is to call up your association and ask them.

• E Offline
          eeyore_wei

Hi jheng & cherrygal ,

Iโ€™m a old sch girl from Red Swastika, Hubby is old school boy from Pei Chun.
          From what i read, I feel that Pei Chun is better than Red Swatika, am i right?
          I just worried about the travelling time for the kids. Not sure if it is worth the travel as i stay in the east.

eeyore_wei:
            Hi jheng & cherrygal ,

I'm a old sch girl from Red Swastika, Hubby is old school boy from Pei Chun.
            I just worried about the travelling time for the kids. Not sure if it is worth the travel as i stay in the east.
            both are popular schools and popular schools should be good for their reasons.
            Peichun is SAP sch so better focus on chinese.
            both have no affiliation to any sec sch.
            if you ask me, i go for distance.

jheng

eeyore_wei:

Hi jheng & cherrygal ,

both are popular schools and popular schools should be good for their reasons.
              Peichun is SAP sch so better focus on chinese.
              both have no affiliation to any sec sch.
              if you ask me, i go for distance.

I agree with jedamum. If you are concern with travelling time on school bus, perhaps you can call the bus operator to get a better idea before you decide ๐Ÿ™‚

cherrygal

While Pei Chun is a good school, dun forget that many parents also need to ballot for a school like Red Swastika. So, in many parentsโ€™ minds, RS is a good school. Hence, unless you are willing to move nearer to Pei Chun, I would choose RS for the convenience. East to Toa Payoh is quite far.

a lot of parents staying in Bedok are dying to enrol their child in Red Swastika.

You ask Bedok residents around - which school you targeting at ? Many will reply, \"i just pray hard my son / daughter can get into Red Swastika\". :nailbite:
                  http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3487&start=250

2011 phase 2C -
                  Red Swastika was 3.5 times over-subscribed. Yes ! so hot in demand !

Pei Chun -
                  in contrast, only 1.9 times over-subscribed.
                  so you know how popular RS is!
                  http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=462&start=1160

you stay too far from Pei Chun Toa Payoh.
                  one trip alone is enough to make you tired. Why not ... you try out yourself first. Because if you enrol your child in Pei Chun, this is the realistic truth he's going to experience everyday. Make a few trips up and down from your home in the east to Pei Chun, for ONE week consecutively. If you're an adult and can't tahan, what more for a young child at P1. You know the answer in your heart.

at the same time, call up Pei Chun school driver to your area. Ask how long is the travelling time journey to pick up pupils staying around your area. If you can accept the travelling time, decide carefully.

but if you really desire Pei Chun and want to shorten travelling time on school bus, then try to rent / shift nearer for next 6 years.

if you don't want to shift but still want to go for Pei Chun, maybe persevere for minimal 2 years first. After 2 years, then transfer him out to Red Swastika, if RS has vacancy.

eeyore_wei:
                    Hi jheng & cherrygal ,

Red Swastika is a good school in the East, Pei Chun is in Toa Payoh. You are fortunate to have priority in 2 good schools. Traveling time is no joke for a young kid. Don't forget there is CCA & supplementary lessons along the way. With more traffic on the roads now, think long term for kids.

SP Mum

Dearl All,

Need some advice on St Margaret Primary and Marymount Convent School. Say if distance is not an issue, which is a better school? Anyone with kids in these schools to provide insights (school culture, quality of teacher, homework load, etc.)? My girl in P1 is offered a place in both schools, which to choose? Thanks.

mummy of 3

SP Mum:
                        Dearl All,

Need some advice on St Margaret Primary and Marymount Convent School. Say if distance is not an issue, which is a better school? Anyone with kids in these schools to provide insights (school culture, quality of teacher, homework load, etc.)? My girl in P1 is offered a place in both schools, which to choose? Thanks.
                        I will choose St Margaret PS

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 93 / 359