multiplication table or timestable
U mean calendar η time-table, or Maths η multiplication table?
I see Liao also blur...
:razz:
How is your DD? -
chloecube:
DD1 school hasn't started on grouping yet.
yup, she is doing grouping now in school too, but i realised some of the section C math paper actually ask on timetable.
eg, there are 3 apples in a basket, how many apples are there in 5 baskets..
thus asking if i shld start her with it now
Easier way is to memorise the timestable but if we are following the syllabus
it would be drawing 5 baskets with 3 apples in each basket (Pictorial way)
and shift towards 3+3+3+3+3= 15 -
Wah... I haven't start on multiplication table... Dun stress me leh...
I teach dd add/subtract up to 20 also want to vomit blood liao...
Simi \"make 10\" method... With renaming, without renaming...
Faint... Add ε°± add mah, subtract ε°± subtract mah... Use all these terms more confusing...
:faint: -
i agree, teaching kids to study now is not easy, need lots of patience.
she hates to memorise timetable, i can understand her feeling bcos when i was younger, i also hate it when my dad forces me to memorise
make 10? you mean number bonding?
Faint... Add ε°± add mah, subtract ε°± subtract mah... Use all these terms more confusing...
:faint:
With renaming, without renaming :? -
:rotflmao: Daddy D.. thought yours have started le..
Mine think PCF starts with simple de..
Now I am teaching my girl simple addition and subtraction.
My boy is fine with the timestable. -
U never see their Maths textbooks right?
make 10? you mean number bonding?Daddy

:faint:
With renaming, without renaming :?
:razz: -
Make 10 = group of 10β¦
Make 10 = group of 10..
U got do your homework... :razz:
The sch says no need learn multiplication now... So I stopped teaching... Later make dd blur only...
That day ask dd if she knows multiplication table... She replied \"I only know multiplication of 1\"
Donβt expect your kids to be able to remember all the multiplication tables at the tip of their fingers. They will tend to forget after learning since at P1 it is not frequently in use yet.
I did not make DD, who is now in P3, memorise the multiplication tables. At the start of the year, she struggled a little with counting in multiples when it involves the bigger numbers. But with her school work requiring her to apply the concept very frequently, it is kinda programmed into her little mind oredi.
Getting your kids to memorise the timestable has its advantage since they will be able to complete their work a bit faster and learning division will also be easier. But at P1, go easy. Start with the 2, 5 and 10.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.