Asia spending billions on tutors: study
Yes... we can do without the subtle nuances from \"limlim's camp\" (unnecessarily provocative)... even as we can do without the word \"rubbish\" (also very provocative) from people in the \"alternative camp\". Though... this notion of \"camp\" is rather polarizing, and I do know that from whichever the camp, there are overlapping areas that we do agree upon.
The latest posts that I have just read, the subtle or not so
subtle nuances towards the alternative group shocked me. Now who is stoking the fire huh??autumnbronze:
Limlim did concede that he had a \"bad idea\" or something like that?in what the alternative group have to say and choose to read what they want to read
This is inspiring. It comes at the right time to calm our spirits in the months before PSLE. :love:In the recent years, I have seen 4 cousins-in-law picking themselves up after their secondary education because they imbibed the same qualities mentioned above and are doing very well now. 2 of them were from Rosyth, one from a neighbourhood and one from the normal technical stream. So not all from good schools do well in their PSLE. And there are a myriad of reasons why pupils may not do well in their studies in their younger days.
Peace everyone. -
Yeah...he is still an adjunct teacher. Teaching technical subjects...he must have been in the school for about 3 years already.[/quote]Ok lah... adjunct teacher... ok... not an untrained full teacher. Adjunct teachers do strengthen the system by helping out full teachers. This is good, no? Or do I misunderstand the role of Adjunct? Adjuncts get to teach full classes and be wholly responsible for full classes?
He is still teaching? After how many years?Chenonceau:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]
A friend of mine didn't get a pass in English. So he could not get the formal training at NIE. -
This friend didn’t have it easy in his career…happy for him to get a teaching job.
Sometimes they may perform better coz they r not directly under MOE’s payroll and not required to do those non-academic related stuff.
Have a friend who quitted and re-joined a school…not sure what is the title but he just go and teach, no CCA, no non-academic activities…he’s very happy with the arrangement. -
There are a handful who do not sent for training at NIE. For eg, if the person didn't get a pass in Eng...but this friend of mine is ok with it since he doesn't have to attend endless meetings and get to coach his kids in their school work.Sometimes they may perform better coz they r not directly under MOE's payroll and not required to do those non-academic related stuff.
Have a friend who quitted and re-joined a school...not sure what is the title but he just go and teach, no CCA, no non-academic activities....he's very happy with the arrangement. -
Busymom:
Just to clarify, I am writing this with reference to tuition centres because we were comparing school versus tuition centre in moonlighting scenario, not about sharing across schools when Sun_2010 shared about the materials. In line with what limlim has mentioned, when used in tuition centres, it is for personal gains. So our understanding has been consistent.Limlim
This is what you may have overlooked.ksi:
This is only one area, there could be more and Sun_2010 has mentioned about materials designed which should rightfully belong to the school. Also, how is MOE or school going to track if a teacher is teaching their own students or not? It is again an issue of span of control. In any case, this moonlight issue in the commercial world is clearly spelt out in the hiring contract for most large companies with protection over intellectual property rights and their customer base. -
oxyleo:
I wanna take a break and abandon post liao.. if my (guard)post doesn't come under direct fire (worst.. nuclear strike).. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
WWIII leh. You can run, but you can't hide!
When I first joined KSP last year, I simply loved this forum... :love:
I remember the first 2 threads I participated in were ''2011 DSA'' and ''2011 PSLE Discussion & Strategy'' threads.. Never once had I come across any 'MOE/teacher-bashing' or 'tutor-glorifying' remarks.. The 2011 PSLE parents discussed (most of the time, with lots of humour), encouraged and supported each other in our DSs/DDs' DSA/PSLE journey.. Ex-PSLE parents (ksp2010, strparent, jtoh, intermezzo, to name a few..) also joined in to give us advice & support.. How I treasure those fond memories.. :grphug:
VSK2010 started a ''2012 PSLE Discussion & Strategy\" thread, even before 2011 PSLE ended, with the good intention to allow the 2012 PSLE parents to discuss & share, and give each other support & encouragement during the tough period of PSLE preparation (for their kids).. However, the thread has turned out to be... :sad:
I was shocked to read (in another thread) that a parent actually told her kid not to listen to his school Math teacher (who was either not teaching, or teaching the wrong things), but to follow his private Math tutor's methods in solving Math problems.. :shock:
Wonder how the kid will respect his school teachers, if the parents keep slamming that their school teachers are no good, lousy, lazy, giving them loads of other school's exam papers to do, instead of revising with topical papers (which the private tutors are doing).. :skeptical:
I feel that most kids handle topical test papers well, but they stumble if they have to do the full paper within a stipulated time (all topics coming together, no time to finish paper, poor time-management etc).. Hence, the school teachers are doing the RIGHT thing to let the kids practise with other schools' exam papers.. What better way to prepare the kids for PSLE than to give them a taste of the ''real'' thing.. :roll:
I remember my DS' teachers gave them lots of other schools' exam papers to do in the final months of PSLE prpearation last year.. I loved it, as I didn't buy any for DS to do.. DS loved it too and would look forward to his teachers giving him more, especially over the weekends.. And we parents also posted our questions and discussed the answers in the ''2011 PSLE'' thread, whenever we needed clarification (sometimes, the model answers given were wrong) or had doubts on any topics/issues..
Well.. those were the days.. where have they gone..
there you go spouting nonsense and rubbish againjanet_lee88:
[quote=\"cherryc\"]Are all teachers NIE trained before they teach in schools? I have seen teachers who taught for one semester and then the school announced that they are leaving for NIE for professional training so they are not certified teachers yet ?
Teachers are not NIE trained when they start teaching in schools...they are untrained teachers until the principals decide whether they deserve that chance. Some of these untrained teachers may never get that NIE training. This was what I heard from a reliable source :censored:
http://www.moe.gov.sg/careers/teach/career-info/training/[/quote]Appreciate more kindness in words..
Just post the MOE link, and clarify will do.
Also, she share her personal experience.
Are you on watch 24/7 at all schools to discredit her as such?
It may be isolated case where certain school \"may\" not have followed MOE directives. who knows?
Reader can judge from what you shared, no need to verbally abuse anyone who posts or share their experience.
I may have doubts too over what she wrote, as it seems to different from what I'm aware from MOE official guide. But either I'll clarify or ask again, or just leave it as it is. No need to \"Nuclear\" bomb her post and attempt total annihilation.. -
i thot adjunct teachers are also under MOE's payroll, no? :scratchhead:Sometimes they may perform better coz they r not directly under MOE's payroll and not required to do those non-academic related stuff.
Have a friend who quitted and re-joined a school...not sure what is the title but he just go and teach, no CCA, no non-academic activities....he's very happy with the arrangement.
If not mistaken, as an adjunct, there is virtually no career prospects, no performance & annual bonus, no medical/dental benefits and probably not paid during the school hols.
Trade off is that there is minimal admin duties and no CCA duties. So, there are pros and cons. Still, the adjunct teacher's role is also important as it plays a supportive role to the school teachers.
Must also qualify that not all adjunct teachers are untrained NIE teachers. Some may be retired teachers or some NIE-trained teachers quitting their full time teaching jobs, preferably to work part-time.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.