All about Transferring to Other Primary Schools

641 Posts 463 Posters 811.8k Views 1 Watching
      Chengkek

Actually, on question 3, it's not so much about DD's personality but the heavy workload that she needs to get used to immediately. The pedagogy and assessment methods are totally different and she needs to get used to all the cramming of materials after coming back.

Not a criticism, our system is what it is, i'm just wondering what can i do to prepare her/ourselves.

jacsplace:
      It's best to call MOE to ask. Generally,

1) I expect the transfer from Shanghai to Singapore would be the same as for within Singapore. That is, you'll have to complete the school's transfer form, be prepared to attach results slips. If the Shanghai school's curriculum is on par with Singapore's, then I shouldn't think there would be a need to repeat P1.

2) Nobody can reserve seats. But I think you can ask someone to do the registration for you. Check MOE's website on P1 registration. Their FAQs cover this.

3) This depends on how different the international school is from Singapore schools. Ask the international school how their lessons are conducted, then compare this with our schools.

Young children adapt much better to different situations than adults. Since you are returning when your daughter is just seven years old, she shouldn't have any problems getting used to our school system. The key thing is that she's sociable and likable, and she'll get along with anyone regardless of where she is.

keroppi

Chengkek:
        2) I will not be around during the P1 registration process - how do i still reserve a seat in the school that i want?
        For this, what I did. Write to MOE, furnish them with all the information needed for P1 application and get them to apply on your behalf. They will do it for you and then send you all the info via email. Then apply for LOA with the school that you have gotten a place in.

• 2 Offline
          2hotTOhandle

Chengkek:
          Dear all,

I'm not sure where to ask this question so I choose here since it's about transferring.

I will be moving to shanghai soon with DD who was born very tail end of 2008. The assignment to Shanghai would be at least 3 years, from 2013 to 2016. When we come back in 2017, DD would be P2.

Question to ask is:
          1) Anyone know what is the criteria to go into P2 here directly? Will MOE require my DD to take P1 again? she will be attending international school when in shanghai.

2) I will not be around during the P1 registration process - how do i still reserve a seat in the school that i want?

3) Do you all know the potential challenge of students brought up in international school assimilating back to Singapore education system? What are pitfalls? they need to get used to mugging system practically when they come back..

Any help or advice is highly appreciated!
          Questions 1 and 2 have already been answered. I was in shg for many years and moved back in time for p1 registration. There are many international schools in shanghai and they generally fall into a few categories -American system, British system, Chinese international sch with strong Chinese focus such as Shanghai High, YK Pao and Aiju, and of course French Sch, Singapore Intl Sch etc.

If employer is paying 100% of the fees then u can pick which sch u want with no budget constraints. But if u are worried about assimilation then u shd prob stick with Singapore Intl Sch. but note most intl sch have wait lists and conduct some kinda entrance test/ interview etc in selecting students.

Once u register her for P1 here in 2014 can send her back for Immersion in the sg pri sch during summer holidays (June/July 2015).

Sch yr for intl schs starts in late aug so she should start K2 in Aug 2013 so time your move properly. Kindy have wait lists too...

If u send her to schs like shanghai high and yk Pao rest assured she will be used to lotsa hw ( more than here).

Hth.

Hey

I forgot to mention that some international sch take in kids based on their age in August/Sept. So if your kid is born at yr-end she may enter pri sch one yr late. That is, she may not be able to join P1 in August when her peers join.

Sg Int' Sch of Shanghai accepts kids to start P1 in August even though the child is born in Sept-Dec of her birth year. You should confirm this with whichever sch u are aiming for. This age thing will limit your sch choices.

mummy so kiasu

Chengkek, You could get some Singapore assessment books or textbooks from Popular bookstore & use them to teach your DD. These books will able you to follow the Singapore syllabus closely & she will not have any problem when she goes to P2.

mummy so kiasu:
              Chengkek, You could get some Singapore assessment books or textbooks from Popular bookstore & use them to teach your DD. These books will able you to follow the Singapore syllabus closely & she will not have any problem when she goes to P2.

a)
              Primary schools in SG have 2 Maths components :-
              Foundational Maths + Heuristics Maths

for Foundational Maths Textbook(s) cum Workbook(s) -
              most Primary schools using either \"My Pals are Here\" (very popular - majority schools are using this) or \"Shaping Maths\" (somewhat popular), both by the same publisher Marshall Cavendish. Minority schools using \"Discover Maths\". You can just drop by any Singapore Popular bookstore buy both P1 / P2 Textbooks AND Workbooks, bring back overseas let your child practise at home.

first -
              get hold of your child's Primary school 2013 P1 booklist - to determine which correct series to buy, currently used by the P1 / P2 pupils. Don't buy wrong Textbook(s) / Workbook(s).

i) if school is using \"My Pals are Here\" series :-

http://resource.marshallcavendish.com/mcdoc/console/DocumentListing.aspx?viewType=catalogue&id=001004002&AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

ii) if school is using \"Shaping Maths\" series:-
              http://resource.marshallcavendish.com/mcdoc/console/DocumentListing.aspx?viewType=catalogue&id=001004004&AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

note:-
              Popular bookstores going to release the new updated / revised Maths Text / Workbook series before this year end December , due to changes in MOE Maths syllabus every 5 or 6 years. So hang on, don't buy now.

b)
              for Process Skills in Problem Solving, you may consider buying following Heuristics :-
              i)
              Primary 1
              Fan-Math Process Skills In Problem Solving Level
              author: Fan Li lan

http://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=0&vpd001=93206

ii)
              Primary 2
              Problem-Solving Processes in Mathematics (New Syllabus)
              author: Fabian Ng
              http://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=0&vpd001=70347

c)
              for Maths Assessment books -
              you may buy reliable authors like either Andrew Er or Fabian Ng.

Andrew Er
              http://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=0&vpd001=95912

overseas at home (home schooling) -
              you can supervise let your child attempt Workbook(s), Assessment book(s).
              if child get stuck, then you turn to Textbook(s) for guidance - the contents inside Textbook(s) will guide you how to teach your kid that particular topic, step by step.

This way, even though your family physically located overseas - your child is still very much in tune with our SG Maths syllabus. Your child won't miss out so much, when child return SG permanently.

Start off with the most basic, fundamental, elementary Workbooks to practise first. After your child gain confidence, slowly then move onto the next higher level, bit by bit gradually. Do not throw your child into the deep blue sea immediately, by letting him attempt \"Challenging Maths\" Assessment books - esp. when his foundation is weak. This will put off any child (not just yours), and they \"fear\" or worse, begin to dislike Maths. Every child is unique, learn at different pace.

likewise, do the same for English & Chinese.

for English -
              if you can get hold of your friends' / colleagues' / relatives' / neighbours' lower Primary Stellar programme worksheets, that'll be great ! Teachers read Big big stories in class & let pupils practise English Stellar worksheets in class for Vocabulary, Grammar, Comprehension components plus spelling.

also, write in to your child's primary school inquire whether there is any test(s) to sit for, upon his return back to SG. Some schools require children to sit for subject tests, to gauge their proficiency level. If your child return to study Lower Primary (ie. P1, P2), still not so bad - as child can catch up easily. But if child return to study Upper Primary (ie. P5, P6) - in some cases, if the basic level of proficiency not quite there yet in certain subjects, school may request your child to study at a - lower level than his normal age group to build back his foundation first. ie. although your child may be physically aged P5, but school may propose / allow your child study at a lower level than P5. Every child is unique, every child is different, learning at different pace.

MintyMin

Am considering to transfer DS to a school 5mins from where I am staying, anyone can advise what I should do?

TIA

Am considering to transfer DS to a school 5mins from where I am staying, anyone can advise what I should do?

TIA
                  Is it a popular school?
                  If yes, you may need to use your kids good results to help push your queue number in the wait list.
                  If no, just go down to the school general office and fill in a form to enter their wait list and cite proximity@ reasons. If your younger girl going to this school next time too, cite logistics benefit of having two kids in same school.

MintyMin

TIA

Is it a popular school?
                    If yes, you may need to use your kids good results to help push your queue number in the wait list.
                    If no, just go down to the school general office and fill in a form to enter their wait list and cite proximity@ reasons. If your younger girl going to this school next time too, cite logistics benefit of having two kids in same school.

jedamum, it is Lianhua.. dun tink it is popular.. 😉

Which school's general office? his present school or the school that i intended to transfer him to?

Yes, definitely proximity is the key plus future both dds will attend there as well.. 😄

Mintymin,

Go lianhua general office to fill in form on wait list to transfer. When they inform you of vacancies and sent you a letter , then you take that letter to your boy’s school office. My boy used to have transfer classmates in and out from p2 to p3. There was one girl who transferred for six months, then out again. Think shifted house and previously on rental.

MintyMin

Mintymin,

Go lianhua general office to fill in form on wait list to transfer. When they inform you of vacancies and sent you a letter , then you take that letter to your boy's school office. My boy used to have transfer classmates in and out from p2 to p3. There was one girl who transferred for six months, then out again. Think shifted house and previously on rental.
                        Called lianhua, they asked me fill up the transfer form at DS current sch leh, and wait till nov/dec for that transfer exercise.. :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 52 / 65