In-law problems?
BeContented:
:hi5: I can relate to this. I also snack before heading MIL home for dinner last time. She would ask how come I eat sooooooo little
DH kept quiet
Sometimes it's not just leaving food outside for soooo long, it's the same food eaten over days!!
MIL do not wash their butter knife (for butter, jam, mayonaise etc). They would use and place it back into fridge on top of the magarine tub repeated.
Raw food can be placed next to it uncovered..... Tried telling her to change that bad habit, no use. So I wash it everytime before using and instructed maid to wash before using it for my kids. When MIL came to stay with us, she insisted on her way. I refused to bulge....open fridge see it there, I took it out. She would put back, I will take out....then she can't find in fridge, put back again.... After a while, she gave up
If you :yikes: bulged :yikes: , she would've seen your point much faster.
:siam: -
mommylow:
Son will always side with his own parents. Filial piety. It will probably take a lifetime if we want to make DH change sides.
worse still, dh sides with them...!!verykiasumummy:
[quote=\"mommylow\"]:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Sometimes when you think about the atrocious things in-laws do, ηζ―ζ°δΈε ζ°β¦β¦εΏοΌ
Come to think if it, we also want our DCs to take sides with us rite?[/quote]Ummm.....no. Married is married, loyalty is to the spouse. (In a fair way of course) -
verykiasumummy:
i know i'm not an angel when it comes to in law problems... have been suffering in silence for yrs as i try not to talk back at them but that was before i had kids... when i had ds1, i really max up my tolerance and cannot tahan anymore... if talk about all those problems, i could be writing 1 million word essay, or book!!
Lol, i thought i am the nasty DIL..... :siao:
When i am working, i closed both eyes, but now, i am SAHM, n mil also SAHM..... :roll: ε€§ηΌηͺε°ηΌ -
:oops: yes teacher :salute:BeContented:
:hi5: I can relate to this. I also snack before heading MIL home for dinner last time. She would ask how come I eat sooooooo little
DH kept quiet
Sometimes it's not just leaving food outside for soooo long, it's the same food eaten over days!!
MIL do not wash their butter knife (for butter, jam, mayonaise etc). They would use and place it back into fridge on top of the magarine tub repeated.
Raw food can be placed next to it uncovered..... Tried telling her to change that bad habit, no use. So I wash it everytime before using and instructed maid to wash before using it for my kids. When MIL came to stay with us, she insisted on her way. I refused to bulge....open fridge see it there, I took it out. She would put back, I will take out....then she can't find in fridge, put back again.... After a while, she gave up
If you :yikes: bulged :yikes: , she would've seen your point much faster.
:siam: -
Next time just bulge. :politebleah:
It won't be rude.
You didn't say any harsh words.
Just a :shock: look on your face nia.
verykiasumummy:
Youngest son is paying the most to upkeep them...although he is unpleasant, it is unfair he is paying so much monthly...this fella doesn't have kids but the amt is substantial. He gives the lump sum to the mother and she assumes the entire amt is HERS. But that is for food, telephone and PUB. Then the father will call hubby to ask for money. Rest of kids also contribute but not as much.
when it comes to money issue, dun they have other kids to share the burden?janet_lee88:
The 2 old ones eat economy rice from downstairs...both sharing one box of food. No difference from Thai workers who stinge on food so as to buy liquor.
If they have health problems, that is going to be a BIG issue bcos money is involved.
Old one refuses to cook...she is haggard and weak from malnutrition...preferring to smoke. She refuses to listen to anyone. -
Last time, our relationship is quite ok.
And there are differences in teaching my kids. Until last yr, while i am discipling my DS1, she came up to me n scolded me crazy :siao: .... N said that i shld not discipline my kids (i cane my kids when they r naughty), n started interfering. I am so :mad: that i almost wanted to move away, but while packing my barang barang n 3 kids barang barang, i realised that i could not leave with so many things. Even DH volunteer to send me to my dad's place.
After that, we had cold war, and i told my DH, less communication, less conflict. Poor DH. But now, mil started to use my kids to provoke me.... Knowing that i will be unhappy..... :yikes: my poor kids :sad: -
BeContented:
I thought my DH is the only one doing that. You are fortunate that your MIL gave up, I can't see the day my DH would stop doing it. :frustrated: The butter from the knife would smear the fridge making it oily. :sick: All my pleas fall on deaf ears so much so that I have given up.
:hi5: I can relate to this. I also snack before heading MIL home for dinner last time. She would ask how come I eat sooooooo littleverykiasumummy:
no point changing in laws.. they are already old and nothing u do will change their minds... i would rather try to change dh's mindset... it would be easier...
my mil knows i wun eat if i caught her leaving food on the table without covering them... she used to cook more during lunch and leave the food on the table all the way till dinner...
because of that, i always take a snack or eat with colleague before going back... this will ensure i wun hv to depend on the food \"quality\" that is made for the dinner...
DH kept quiet 
Thank God my DSs know that it's wrong and don't learn from their father. I have to wash up after him cos he's not thorough and does things haphazardly. Imagine e.g. after he has washed the pot he used for cooking noodles, I can find one or two tiny strands sticking to the side of the pot. :?: :?: DS1 is so fed up that he has his very own personal pot and keeps it in his room. DH's will use any cup he can lay his hands on and conveniently leave it around the house. Every day I've to go around the house collecting cups to wash - including the toilets. Everyone of us keep our personal cups from DH or he'll use them, leaving us with no cup. :slapshead: :slapshead: -
hi, am new here, just wanted to air my frustrations too !
recently sil wanted to bring mil for holiday, DH (always being the best big bro) paid for mil's holiday expenses. I told mil that for the hol she is gg with sil, all expenses will be paid by DH. FYI, I told her in a polite and respectable manner, you know what she replied me. θΏζ―εΊθ―₯η! I was so boiling mad but kept it under control ! Not even a word of thanks or a smile to my DH or ask why is he paying when my sil can well afford it anyway ! Pissed me off really !
I am sometimes so sick of DH being the kind one giving and giving and my in-laws just keep taking and taking. I am not asking for monetary returns, at least small kind gestures for my kids and at least my DH ? My best fren told me not to fret as long as DH doesnt stinge on my kids and I but I just feel very irritated sometimes... I cant tell DH cos he will think i am so petty....sorry just need to air my frustrations somewhere...thanks for bearing with me
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.