Hwa Chong Institution (High School)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    5.9k Posts 654 Posters 2.1m Views 2 Watching
    • Y Offline
      YumYum

yukilei:
      ProteX:

[quote=\"YumYum\"]Hi, may I know what are the 3rd language options offered at sec 1 and are the classes conducted in HCI?

Do students carry on with the 3rd language up to higher secondary or do stop after a while?

How much pocket money (excluding transport) is reasonable for sec 1 students? Thks.

Thanks

French, Japanese, German, Malay, Arabic, Bahasa Indonesia

Only Malay is conducted in HCI.

Many students quit by the first semester of Sec 1. Only those who are really passionate continue.

ProteX, I read that only Bishan language ctr conduct German, does it mean HCI student will travel to Bishan if he choose German? I've also read that many boys quit half way, am thinking to tell my DS not to take up 3rd language upfront. With this, can save time on travel ling, & can hv more time to cope w the sch work. May I know what's the benefit of taking 3rd language?[/quote]ProteX, thank you for the info.
      If many students quit after the 1st semester, others may do so as well. Will then need to consider the 3rd language option carefully if it's optional.

• O Offline
        Otah

PiggyLalala:
        ProteX:

[quote=\"PiggyLalala\"]

But subject combination in year 3 is based on the academic MSG?

Yes

Thanks for answering my post again. šŸ™‚
        Am keen to find out more abt hci especially isparks. The information that I have gathered so far is life in hci is quite stressful. Is it true that students are being assessed even on daily classroom participation?[/quote]Is there a daily assessment ? I have not heard of that from my ds leh. šŸ˜‰
        Need not worry and the boys just survive.
        U interested to send your ds to HCI? Is he from GEP?

• Y Offline
          yukilei

Otah:
          Is there a daily assessment ? I have not heard of that from my ds leh. šŸ˜‰

Otah, my DS will be at iSparks next year. Can I know is there any book that this year Sec 1 din use?? Thinking of not buying first.. Don't want my money :moneyflies: šŸ˜‰

Btw, I'm interested in the PSG for iSparks. Try to login to their FB, but found that FB not available. Do you happen to know anything abt their PSG? I'm a working mum, not sure if it'll be too taxing to join PSG.

I'm still pretty confuse on the subjects that account for MSG. For a start, for Sec 1, am I right to say that those core subj like English, Math, Science, Higher Chinese, History, Geography, Literature will account for MSG right? Btw, do they have CL for HCI?

wonderm

Otah:
            PiggyLalala:

Am keen to find out more abt hci especially isparks. The information that I have gathered so far is life in hci is quite stressful. Is it true that students are being assessed even on daily classroom participation?

Is there a daily assessment ? I have not heard of that from my ds leh. šŸ˜‰

I think the daily assessment mentioned was referring to OP (oral participation). Subject teachers will take note of the students oral participation during lessons and give a grade (1 to 10) at the end of term. There is a certain way to count OP towards Oral Communication grade (I can't remember the details, but the Sec 1 parents will be briefed about this). Oral Communication and Independent Studies (this includes the projects they do) are counted towards scholastics MSG, not the academic MSG.

Otah is right, don't need to worry about this, this daily assessment is just to encourage the boys to speak up and be participative in class.

wonderm

yukilei:

I'm still pretty confuse on the subjects that account for MSG. For a start, for Sec 1, am I right to say that those core subj like English, Math, Science, Higher Chinese, History, Geography, Literature will account for MSG right? Btw, do they have CL for HCI?
              ProteX gave a good explanation here http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=5901&start=2300

Just to summarize for you. For Lower Sec, 6 subjects are counted for academic MSG for most kids:

Lang Art (includes Eng and Lit)
              HCL (no CL, all the boys take HCL)
              Maths
              Science
              Integrated Humanities (includes Geog and Hist)
              InfoComm Studies

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                PiggyLalala

wonderm:
                yukilei:

ProteX gave a good explanation here http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=5901&start=2300

Just to summarize for you. For Lower Sec, 6 subjects are counted for academic MSG for most kids:

Maths
                Science
                InfoComm Studies

Hi wonderm,
                There is also something I would like to ask regarding integrated Humanities. Does it mean tt the pupils sit for one integrated humanities paper in the exam that comprises of 2 sections geog and hist respectively or is it first semester = history paper and the next semester = geog?

Thank you very much.

wonderm

PiggyLalala:
                  wonderm:

[quote=\"yukilei\"]

Maths
                  Science
                  InfoComm Studies

Hi wonderm,
                  There is also something I would like to ask regarding integrated Humanities. Does it mean tt the pupils sit for one integrated humanities paper in the exam that comprises of 2 sections geog and hist respectively or is it first semester = history paper and the next semester = geog?

Thank you very much.[/quote]Good question. They did it in a few ways in the past:
                  1. students take separate Hist and Geo papers, marks are added to reflect term results 50%+50%
                  2. students take one paper which includes sections on Hist and Geog
                  3. students take Hist paper only in one term, and Geog paper only in next term.

It is hard to say which way they will do next year, for your DS' level. So need to wait and see.

• Y Offline
                    yukilei

wonderm:
                    yukilei:

Maths
                    Science
                    InfoComm Studies

Thank you wonderm!!!! Not sure why I've missed ProteX explanation on page 231. Maybe because I read it from the phone while travelling.. tat's why didn't register in my mind. Old liao.. šŸ˜‚

Btw, what is AEP & LEP?

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                      PiggyLalala

wonderm:
                      PiggyLalala:

Hi wonderm,

Thank you very much.

Good question. They did it in a few ways in the past:
                      1. students take separate Hist and Geo papers, marks are added to reflect term results 50%+50%
                      2. students take one paper which includes sections on Hist and Geog
                      3. students take Hist paper only in one term, and Geog paper only in next term.

It is hard to say which way they will do next year, for your DS' level. So need to wait and see.

Thank you. May I know if there is only one paper for the integrated humanities, can I assume that the questions on Hist and Geo are placed in 2 different sections, ie, section A - History and section B - Geog. That is to say, students just need to use the history knowledge to answer the questions in section A and geog knowledge in section B respectively.

The term 'Integrated Humanities' sounds very intimidating and demanding to me. I hope it will not be a interdisciplinary exam where the pupils are expected to use and apply both history and geog knowledge to answer the same question.

wonderm

yukilei:
                        Btw, what is AEP & LEP?

AEP - Art Elective Program
                        LEP - Lang Elective Program (this is essentially Chinese, see promo video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x3xcj19rtDo)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 232 / 595

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        PinkfluffP
                        Pinkfluff