Working Parents - How much quality time do you get weekdays?
tamarind:
The truth is that for full time working mothers who have kids, a maid is essential.
Kekekeke, tamarind, I get my kids to do the housework instead!
Savings for me + training for them... 一举两得
clarabella:
How about since birth to 2 years old ? I have 2 kids age only one year apart. I do admire those mommies who can manage without any help. However, for myself, I prefer to have some time so that I can live my own life.tamarind:
The truth is that for full time working mothers who have kids, a maid is essential.
Kekekeke, tamarind, I get my kids to do the housework instead!
Savings for me + training for them... 一举两得
My mother told me, even if we devote our entire life to the kids, there is no guarantee that they will look after you at the end. -
tamarind:
How about since birth to 2 years old ?
DH and I struggled to do everything ourselves lor. It was tough as we were overseas when our older kids were just a toddler and an infant; both of us were working and/or studying. -
I can identify with the woes of working moms. I have been a FTWM all this while but now with my 2nd child entering P1 next year I am considering whether to go part-time.
My 2 girls are in morning session, that leaves me with little time in the evenings because they need to sleep early. Managing my elder daughter was ok last year but with 2 its going to be tough. I estimate that I have around 1 to 1.5 hrs with them on weeknights the most. Have asked hubby if he is willing to help with 1 of them
As for the weekday afternoons, I have tried to make a list of things that need to be done before I get home & train them to read the list and complete it - such as homework, assessments & piano practise. I put the list on the board and allow them to tick off once completed..to give them some sense of ownership.So far it has been quite successful abt 70% of the time but there are days when they do not complete the list. I remind them by calling home in the afternoons and I tell them if they finish their work before I come back, we will have extra time to play games or doing fun stuff instead of work.
But its tough balancing work and kids, many of my daughter's friends mums do not work so occasionally I get a bit of the guilt trip from my daughter. -
I’m also considering applying to work part-time when DS1 starts P1 (that’s another 2 more years) as I don’t see how I can split my time between the two of them. Right now I’m already deprived of time with them. As things are really hectic at work these two months, I have not really been able to take leave to spend time with them.
In the meantime, I just continue spending on whatever kids stuff that catches my eye. Will have to be more careful about spending if I eventually work part-time. -
clarabella:
tamarind:
How about since birth to 2 years old ?
DH and I struggled to do everything ourselves lor. It was tough as we were overseas when our older kids were just a toddler and an infant; both of us were working and/or studying.
If the hubby can help out with most of the housework, then it should be manageable without maids.
But many working mommies do not have hubbys who can help, and the mommies end up doing everything themselves.
My hubby was raised by servants, he does not even know how to wash his own cup. He always say that he wants to help, but after he mop the floor, the floor is still dirty
For SAHM with 2 or more children, do you actually have domestic helper while that release you to have more time teaching your children? I feel if there is no helper how do you do all by yourself at home? Or do your DH still help up while you are not working or expect you to bao-ga-liao ?
I'm a SAHM with 3 children. I have part-time maid help for 3 years. Next year, I am going back to foreign domestic maid help again as 2 children are in the morning session and 1 going to P1 in the afternoon session. Fetching them to and from school plu one of the children need special care will already tire me out. I don't know if I coud still have energy to help them with their school work at home.
The children have no tuition except the younger two who have chinese tuition. -
I know of a few types of husbands.
Type 1:
He comes back from work, do everything including cooking, bathing the kids, mopping the floor, wash toilet, wash clothes, etc. Wife does not need to do anything, she only needs to teach the kids. (I know both SAHMs and FTWMs who have this type of hubby, lucky women)
Type 2:
He is able to help out with at least 50% of the housework.
Type 3:
His heart wants to help out, but he really does not have the skills to do housework. He said he mopped the floor already but still so dirty. He does not even know how to fold clothes properly. But at least he does not object to wife employing a full time maid.
Type 4:
He does not do any housework at all, because he thinks that wife should do everything. He does not allow wife to employ a maid because he wants his privacy.
Type 5:
He works very long hours, not possible to help out with housework. No one at home, so not safe to employ a maid.
My hubby is Type 3. What type of hubby is yours ?
If your hubby is type 1, then definitely don't need maid lah. -
haha, do u have a type 5 for my hubby? he works very long hours so not possible to help with housework nor the kid. with no one at home for long hours, we also dun think its good idea to leave a maid at home plus also no privacy.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.