MOE to stop publishing names of top students?
Maybe not publishing the name/sch of top students will somewhat reduce the stress on P1 registration the following year for that particular sch?
Stop publishing the names of the top students would be able to "balance the over-emphasis on academic results" ?
How come no option for those sitting on the fence - doesn’t matter whether publish or not?
Whatever happens, we just have to learn from it. There's a cycle to everything.[/quote]That's assuming we will have the will to learn from it. That everything is cyclical is alas, too true. Our leadership had already stated it, the life span of small nation states is usually pretty short, no matter how brightly they shone.
Till its too late.....3Boys:
[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]
Then we will wait.........
It's too bad, I did like Singapore to be a home for my kids and beyond..... -
KSP:
will it backfire if this year's top PSLE student is from a neighbourhood school? i guess this move is not to let the public focus too much on the top few pri schs which most of the years produced top PSLE students.... perhaps this is one of the moves to convince the public that \"all schs are good schs\".....
Qifa produced a top PSLE too and several students with good scores but the P1 registration take-up rate is still pretty normal. Rulang on the other hand has been popular before the top student last yr. There are many factors that parents consider. -
That's assuming we will have the will to learn from it. That everything is cyclical is alas, too true. Our leadership had already stated it, the life span of small nation states is usually pretty short, no matter how brightly they shone.
Whatever happens, we just have to learn from it. There's a cycle to everything.SAHM_TAN:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
Till its too late.....
It's too bad, I did like Singapore to be a home for my kids and beyond.....[/quote]Me too, I love it here. I was a willing soldier leh.
Let's not lose hope. -
I don't view top scorers as you do, as inspiration. What others can or cannot do doesn't affect my expectations of my kids.
No pity involved nor is it about unfairness to them.Sun_2010:
[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]Was watching a jap cartoon. Suddenly I thought so strange of us adults to feel pity for the top scorers, their name not published this year. But what if the top scorers don't care :rotflmao: of course not knowing that they are the national top scorers, assuming no one investigate and then with absolute certainty told them that they are, they might not feel it's unfair to them that now MOE don't announce their name.
Heehee
Its not just about the topscorers. Just knowing the top scorers is a kind of boost to all Primary school kids. It tells the aspiring students - this is within you, strive for it , reach out for the stars , even if you dont quite reach them , you will definitely reach higher than where you are.
If we take the view that ultimately we do our best, what does it matter how good we are in comparison with others, then why olympics , why the nobel prize, why the oscars, why the grammys?
The best may not always be honoured, but these awards inspire millions and so even though only a handful receive them , the awards serve the purpose of pushing the the millions to go the extra mile.
So glorifying these few toppers is not about academics , its about (wo)man's quest for excellence, to rise above ourselves and shine.
I view academic competition such as maths olympiads, as extra fr education Kids go for those if they wish to DSA, develop a particular academic niche/ talent or to build portfolio for whatever ends.
I do not view education and learning as competition like sports competition, arts competition or other types of competiton. I have nothing against competition. I just don't think that education and learning is a form of competition.
As for Oscars, I'm a cynic liao, I view it as a mechanic to generate revenue.
Noble prize, I don't know much abt it really. There's an objective I guess for it's set up. Do great pple set out to do great things to be recognised by the committee ? I dunno. But I will feel sad if that's their primary motivation.
I'm ok either way, to publish or not to.[/quote]You are right education is not a competition.
So is sports. Many play soccer . Few get to the stage of playing in the world cup , even fewer the chance of winning it. Yet itis competitions like th world cup that makes thousands kick the ball, to play harder and train better.
Every winner , puts in effort not just for the name. To think that really insults many worthy people.
The oscars is not for me or you but for those in the movie who dream big and create those on screen for us.
Honoring the top few is not only for them but for the thousands , for the sport , it's a celebration.
Yeah the world of competition is not rosy , many under hand tactics, all loopholes exploited, the unpleasant side of human side. Even with all these warts , awards, IMHO, are a celebration . Let's not throw the rose because it has some thorns. -
Totally agree, remember Lim Jeck who was mentioned by PM in his fb after he won World Individual 1st in Mathematics Olympiad ?I have different views from most of you. I am agreeable to not publishing the top scorers or top schools. I wrote some time ago that it is important what we glorify in the media. We glorify sports, artistic excellence, and other fields etc., and we should not glorify exam excellence, esp those like PSLE exam, because it does not add value to a holistic learning environment. Ultimately, if the goal has been set on making PSLE an exam to distribute children into secondary schools, there is really no point in naming who are the ultimate best. Just my opinion.
I am agreeable to glorify the more 'academic subjects' like Math Olympiads, abacus and internation chess competitions - in fact, I think these should be strongly encouraged, and I see these forms of 'academic competitions' as healthy competition, although i would prefer to name them 'specialized skills' competitions, like in sports and the arts.
Comparing PSLE with Olympic game and Nobel Prize? It is of different league and for different age groups. If a true blue Singaporean wins an Olympic award or Nobel Prize, please by all means let's glorify him or her using every form of media. Not glorifying means standard dumping down ? Then I am curious to know which countries used the method of naming their top primary school kids over a national examination to attain high standard in education or to boost the country's GDP.
And yes, I am happy to know that some tuition agencies will not be able to take the entire list and says more than half of the kids are from their tuition centers.
I know of a parent whose kid will highly be one of the top scorers tomorrow and he said it doesn't matter if they name or not cos in his heart, his daughter is the best in Singapore. I hope we celebrate for every kid who collects their results tomorrow and thank all the teachers and parents who have taught and supported them through their primary school journey and wish them all the best when they go to another important phase of their lives. -
The only way we can survive as a small state with no natural resources is to constantly punch above our weight.
Me too, I love it here. I was a willing soldier leh.3Boys:
That's assuming we will have the will to learn from it. That everything is cyclical is alas, too true. Our leadership had already stated it, the life span of small nation states is usually pretty short, no matter how brightly they shone.
It's too bad, I did like Singapore to be a home for my kids and beyond.....
Let's not lose hope.
The moment we collectively lose our will to strive, compete, be the best, we are on the way out.
We kid ourselves into thinking that we are somehow much more academically stressed than kids or parents in other countries.
Nothing can be further from the truth.
I have acquaintances in North America, the academic achievement level in some of the top high schools (not the very top top, just in the top 10-20%), is actually very high! Let alone in our Asian neighbours.
We switch off and de-stress at our own peril.
To whom is this going to be disservice?
In my view, the very people who are clamouring for a 'stress less' society.
Those who don't really care, already have a game plan. -
pirate:
So now we suddenly have a strawberry generation that cannot tahan that somebody else scored higher than them?
:goodpost: Jealousy is indeed a strong emotion.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.