PSLE 2012 - Results Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    1.5k Posts 357 Posters 478.4k Views 1 Watching
      mummy so kiasu

mrspan:
      my ds scored 257+3

I am thinking of
      1. HCI
      2. ACS(I)
      3. SJI(IP)
      4. CHS(IP)
      5. SJI (O)
      6. CHS (O)
      What is the chance of getting into HCI. Please share your views. Thank you
      This year COP will be higher than last year due to 3000 more kids sat for PSLE. Since his score is +2 compare to last year's COP. He will have 50% of getting into HCI. You can also consider VS if you stay in the east.

php

sanie:
        Dino:

anyone has information on CHIJ Kellock's top scores?

My bil niece got 271. She always top in school. Nobody knows the top scorer coz sch never disclosed.

but they asked each others and compared, so quite confirmed we are referring to the same person that scored 271...

kitty2

kitty2:

My friend's ds scored3A but failed Maths !He needs to retain!!!!!Another friend's dd who is always top in std,scored 220 !!!!! 😞 😞

oh dear...kitty2,
          is your friend's dd from neighbourhood school? or she was not feeling well or brainblock on that day? physical and mental condition plays a very important part during such big exams.
          who say dsa via academic does not make sense.... :nailbite:

Yes,both from neighbourhood school,anything can happen during the exams 😞

Mum101

Dino:

wow jin power..... those kids over there not belonging to this category must be feeling damn stressed and disappointed, even thou they have good scores below 250..... pressuring envirnoment......

some parents like to put their child in this competitive environment.
            Other parents do not.

What I saw:

No one compare scores.
            Parents hugging children.
            Teachers encourage every single child.

Lowest score was not mentioned.
            Names of children scoring 270 and above were called out.
            The highest T-score boy was not singled out.

2 all rounder pupils (above 270, role model for good character and active in CCA) were mentioned.

I didn't feel parents want their children to compete with each other...they just want their children to do their best and they give the support.

Pressure is usually self inflicted. If the child has done his/her best and as parents we give them the encouragement and support, there is nothing to compare against each other.

There are always late boomers. Every child will blossom in their own ways.

As parents, we want our child to be in a conducive learning environment where teachers and parents work together to help the child to reach his/her full potential.

TheHamsterLover

mummy so kiasu:
              zeemimi:

[quote=\"octoberbaby\"]kids used to score A star Maths in primary school, can flung maths in sec sch. Possible meh?

Yes! Possible. I won't hv believed that until I came across such students. They exist.

I don't think A* students can flung Maths in Sec. These are the students who have strong interest in Maths & they are able to handle higher order & non routine questions. However, they might not do as well if they are not good in algebra.[/quote]Not everyone with A* in maths has a strong interest in maths... (For example, um, me :oops: ) Also, in sec school (at least IP idk) there are more projects and stuff, instead of just tests, etc which could cause students to do badly in math...? For example, at my school there's this project thing called Math Modeling and quite a few people fail that even if they're good at math πŸ˜›

HAPPYH

kitty2:

[quote=\"kitty2\"]My friend's ds scored3A but failed Maths !He needs to retain!!!!!Another friend's dd who is always top in std,scored 220 !!!!! 😞 😞

oh dear...kitty2,
                is your friend's dd from neighbourhood school? or she was not feeling well or brainblock on that day? physical and mental condition plays a very important part during such big exams.
                who say dsa via academic does not make sense.... :nailbite:

Yes,both from neighbourhood school,anything can happen during the exams :([/quote]I feel sorry for both the children. Sigh

HAPPYH

Math modelling? πŸ˜“

bupashu

Dino:

wow jin power..... those kids over there not belonging to this category must be feeling damn stressed and disappointed, even thou they have good scores below 250..... pressuring envirnoment......

Other parents do not.

is a free world

bupashu

Mum101:

[quote=\"Dino\"]

Other parents do not.

What I saw:

No one compare scores.
                      Parents hugging children.
                      Teachers encourage every single child.

Lowest score was not mentioned.
                      Names of children scoring 270 and above were called out.
                      The highest T-score boy was not singled out.

2 all rounder pupils (above 270, role model for good character and active in CCA) were mentioned.

I didn't feel parents want their children to compete with each other...they just want their children to do their best and they give the support.

Pressure is usually self inflicted. If the child has done his/her best and as parents we give them the encouragement and support, there is nothing to compare against each other.

There are always late boomers. Every child will blossom in their own ways.

As parents, we want our child to be in a conducive learning environment where teachers and parents work together to help the child to reach his/her full potential.[/quote]well said

bupashu

Models is like \"visualised\" algebra or algebra in pictorial form. You can take a look at Dr. Yeap Ban Har's from model to algebra published by Shinglee to get an idea.

you are right

model method is simply algebra in pictorial form

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 103 / 155