200 SMRT bus drivers refuse to go to work over pay issue

436 Posts 66 Posters 102.6k Views 1 Watching
    • iRabbitI Offline
      iRabbit

bupashu:

if the contract was in chinese, then surely the chinese drivers would be able to read clauses. they are provided with accomodation and transport everyday...it's ridiculous to compare with malaysians who have to ride motorbikes home after a long tiring day...根本不可以比.

just the same as some kiasuparents comparing school facilities, comparing children's grades and want to get better, and complaining about schools and teachers different from others

same mind set, different items

same attitude, different nationalities

the pot telling the kettle : why u so black ah ?

That certainly put the mirror firmly in front of us, hahaha. 😆

pirate

FQW:

Not quite yet. I wonder how much of these negative sentiments against the Chinese bus drivers arise from a sense of \"true blueness\". It's ok to treat people shabbily. So long as they are not true blue Singaporeans. That's what we are teaching our children now, right?

Me? I am angry with this episode. Once again SMRT management says it's a learning experience. They seem to be doing a lot of \"learning\" at the expense of commuters and workers. Whenever something goes horribly wrong, just chock it down to another \"learning experience\". Is this the culture at SMRT? Or is it at its majority shareholder, Temasek, that appoints SMRT's board? Or does it go higher to the people who appoint Temasek's board? Where is the chain of accountability so far as SMRT is concerned? Is there even one?

bupashu

pirate:
          FQW:

Not quite yet. I wonder how much of these negative sentiments against the Chinese bus drivers arise from a sense of \"true blueness\". It's ok to treat people shabbily. So long as they are not true blue Singaporeans. That's what we are teaching our children now, right?

Me? I am angry with this episode. Once again SMRT management says it's a learning experience. They seem to be doing a lot of \"learning\" at the expense of commuters and workers. Whenever something goes horribly wrong, just chock it down to another \"learning experience\". Is this the culture at SMRT? Or is it at its majority shareholder, Temasek, that appoints SMRT's board? Or does it go higher to the people who appoint Temasek's board? Where is the chain of accountability so far as SMRT is concerned? Is there even one?

*LOL* is surely a learning experience for Mdm Ho Ching

how much is she aware of what is happening at the operating entities level ? Does the Temasek board need to be involved at such 'low' level? all the CEOs hired for what and need some one to hold their hands ?

just my personal opinion that an army guy is not a good fit to run a commercial outfit providing a public service with shareholders as his boss. this is not running an army reporting only to Minister of Defence

One thing for sure - when u have different nationalities of drastic differences in background & culture doing the same job at the same place - you need very savvy HR people to communicate and balance the expectations in an internet linked world, you need to act fairly and to be seen to act fairly

same for SIA under an army guy...it has been under a great mess recently with all the cock-ups in IT etc etc..one and a half years liao, the system still *no word to describe*

So whose head on chopping board with this learning experience?

Who will be next to resign?
            Will it be from HR?

How many more heads must roll before there’s accountability of some form from SMRT?

limlim

bupashu:

so far, seem like China embassy had not educated her people. Otherwise, this SMRT strike incident won't have happened ! All along, our country had peace for many years. When was the last time we heard about an SMRT strike in Singapore ?

do you seriously expect China Embassy in Singapore to inform them ?

do you expect Singapore embassies overseas to educate you on each country you are visiting ?

duh !

true true...

😆 :evil:

limlim

bupashu:

One thing for sure - when u have different nationalities of drastic differences in background & culture doing the same job at the same place - you need very savvy HR people to communicate and balance the expectations in an internet linked world, you need to act fairly and to be seen to act fairly
                Same job.. same pay.. what is so difficult.

As for the additional costs for the PRC, just deduct from the salaries.. everything hence is transparent and self explanatory.. why create an opportunity for troublemakers to cook up a storm..?

kamom

I didn't know that there is such a thing as \"legal strike\" in SG as long 14 days notice is given :?

Worker : \"Boss, I am going on a strike in 14 days\"
                  Boss : Oh, ok.
                  (13th day)
                  Boss : This is your pay, tomorrow no need to strike already! 😂

limlim

I’m not aware fof the 14 days notice requirement. Maybe only for critical operations like transport etc… may not apply to retail etc…?

From what I’m aware, only union can initiate a strike. And, the union will have to get approval from the union chief. If the union chief approve, they can go on strike legally. Of coz, before that, the union will neg with the company first.

HopeandSorrows

the authorities did a good job to send the troublemakers home. cannot let these PRC foreign workers set precedent lah! otherwise, every few days foreign workers strik strike protest. My hubby said earlier that this is not the first time PRC workers strike. His friends in the construction industry witnessed minor ones. but no big issue. but this time involved a public transport service.

i only believe half of what those PRC drivers say because usually when ppl want to act victim, they only say 50% truth…

but the new smrt CEO is lousy. why can’t he cancel his overseas leave to fly home settle the issue?

HopeandSorrows:
                        i only believe half of what those PRC drivers say because usually when ppl want to act victim, they only say 50% truth...

but the new smrt CEO is lousy. why can't he cancel his overseas leave to fly home settle the issue?
                        new ceo was missing during those critical days...and the ministers had to stand in for him...seems to me he doesn't know how to prioritize.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 44