200 SMRT bus drivers refuse to go to work over pay issue
Approx $200~$250/pax, share room.
true,most likely 4 persons/room, decking beds. -
Cheval:
Most of the owner who rents out the flat, don't allow 4 persons/room. At most 3 persons/room. Average rental now is around $800 if shared by 3 person.limlim:
true,most likely 4 persons/room, decking beds.
2 persons / room, rental is around $700 - $900 (depend on location, got aircon or not etc.)
MR06:
It would be good if someone can translate this into English for the benefit of those who can't read in Chinese.
If I were to do the translation, the translated script may appears next year..... :siam:google translate:
Reported that the the SMRT events triggered by overtime.
How important overtime foreign labor, why to not give overtime will be able to let foreign workers crazy, why \"overtime\" will be able to not give to foreign labor management smoothly.
Some people say that low wages does not matter much to the point of overtime on every visit home always a little gift to the boss is multi-point overtime.
[b] overtime Why is this important? ? ? [/ B]
The general low culture foreign workers operatives floor ,550 ---- 1200, the working time of 12 hours or 8 hours. & Of course my example is still relatively informal enterprises, some for several months without a break, and also can not get the 1200 monthly garbage company is not in the range.
If 700 basic salary, 12-hour shifts, no overtime, plus shift allowance month also took around 1200
1200 base salary, 8 hours, no overtime, also around 1300. (8 hours is generally no allowance)
The work permit may not concurrently responsible for the rest, there is rest.
The monthly income of 1300 how to spend? ?
Intermediary fees are generally 4000 to $ 10000 new ranges, we have to take the middle number, 6500 new currency, which means that the general contract for two years, then a month need to also 270 agency fee.
Rent if the labor quarters, should the 270 or so people, like SMRT nearly 10 people huddled together, outsiders could not enter, and out may check items. And labor quarters simply can not meet.
Another way, rented HDB flats generally 5 atrioventricular 3000 January. The Government shall not exceed nine people. Signed two-year contract to be attached to the January rent do you charge. One rent and utilities is about $ 400.
3 living expenses, telephone, transportation cards, eating. January, at least 500.
Intermediary fees 270 rent 400 cost of living, 500 total === 1170.
That is not \"overtime\" you two years to waste. Only overtime is earned. Overtime must be depending on the situation of the enterprise,
After reading these, everyone, including Singaporeans, you may understand, how important overtime of the Chinese labor. Why would be stupid enough to go on strike, why HDB will live 20 individuals,
Of course, these are not the worst. I first came to Singapore in a listed company, the basic salary of 550,12 hours. Order high point of the salary, apply to the medicine department, apply for evening, more than 50 subsidies month, added full classes, but also before 1300. You say more overtime against the law what I know. Can you dare to report, you do not money? Why we came.
In fact, Singapore's laws and policies, many of which are very good, foreign labor is responsible for the detailed provisions, but unfortunately misinterpreted by many companies, the unspoken rules.
The of Mr. Li Yeming in microblogging, initiated the discussion, \"When foreign labor is no longer cheap,\" my new years get up from the lowest foreign workers, I can only offer cheap foreign labor status quo. These are the middle level, about 700 basic salary of many Western and Japanese enterprises the Chinese operatives shifts standard, regardless of the other small local enterprises. .
If you ask me to say this strike. I definitely do not support the strike behavior. But I support their voices. Pleaded with the government, businesses, embassies, hear their voices, respect their voices. Curb the strike in the bud stage. To simplify foreign workers and government communication procedures, the popularity of foreign workers basic labor rights protection, the protection of the rights of the most basic complaints of foreign workers. Respect the aspirations the outside Laoti out. Equal pay for equal work is not foreign workers must pursue, do not meet the actual situation of Singapore. In getting equal pay for equal work, the enterprises should respect the employee and explain.
Their voices ------
We come to China over the same stream with Chinese blood. We pay high intermediation costs Dongnuexijie. We are far behind, leaving the beloved family leave infirm parents. Leave on each other's husband. Leave the mother of the child is required. Everything Nanyang desire with your ancestors had floated sea, home to live like a family, so that our future generations are no longer poor. We have to. We work for their diligence. We uncomplainingly. We sweat the whole sprinkled in here. We hope here we afford to lose, we are entrusted with a variety of similar pain, many of us for two years to go back once the mouth waiting for our hands of the whole family, whenever the child to the phone when my mother called. Whenever the mother said, children suffering come back, you may be the same as a parent. But you realize that less than this feeling. Only hide in the toilet of the tears flowing, we can only choking back tears, the mother said, all right, all Chinese, very good for us all. Sometimes, however. We always due to various reasons, dismissed. Try to restrain him, cheated, and so on, we have to leave, when we connected the East rub the West borrowed capital not compete back is necessary are forced to go. Although force but no knife. But stab wounds just skin, which has hurt our hearts;
Sometimes, whenever I hear compatriots lying to extremely low salary, I heart pulling sad, pro, the black heart intermediaries, greedy boss. You believe in Buddhism, you believe retribution. You may believe that Jesus do? Do you believe punishment. If you have a little consonance, you will feel our hearts bleed. You must see that the children into the phone and call my mother filled with expectant eyes. You must see that poor home for the elderly. . . Of course, we do not need pity and charity. Nanyang predecessors break with the past because we have the same backbone, because I am Chinese. We are not afraid of suffering, I make money with industrious hands.
Please give us a little more dignity, respect, Chinese people do not three word cool aside. We look forward to \"integrate into the Lion City\"
Note, the text if wrong, illegal related laws, or data discrepancies, told me. That is correct. For Cite this article, please notify me.
:rotflmao: , translators won't be replaced by machines. Still gotta thank you for the gist of the message is there.....
Reliance on foreign bus drivers in sharp focus
http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story/A1Story20121127-386059.html -
MR06:
It would be good if someone can translate this into English for the benefit of those who can't read in Chinese.
If I were to do the translation, the translated script may appears next year..... :siam:google translate:
Reported that the the SMRT events triggered by overtime.
How important overtime foreign labor, why to not give overtime will be able to let foreign workers crazy, why \"overtime\" will be able to not give to foreign labor management smoothly.
Some people say that low wages does not matter much to the point of overtime on every visit home always a little gift to the boss is multi-point overtime.
[B] overtime Why is this important? ? ? [/ B]
The general low culture foreign workers operatives floor ,550 ---- 1200, the working time of 12 hours or 8 hours. & Of course my example is still relatively informal enterprises, some for several months without a break, and also can not get the 1200 monthly garbage company is not in the range.
If 700 basic salary, 12-hour shifts, no overtime, plus shift allowance month also took around 1200
1200 base salary, 8 hours, no overtime, also around 1300. (8 hours is generally no allowance)
The work permit may not concurrently responsible for the rest, there is rest.
The monthly income of 1300 how to spend? ?
Intermediary fees are generally 4000 to $ 10000 new ranges, we have to take the middle number, 6500 new currency, which means that the general contract for two years, then a month need to also 270 agency fee.
Rent if the labor quarters, should the 270 or so people, like SMRT nearly 10 people huddled together, outsiders could not enter, and out may check items. And labor quarters simply can not meet.
Another way, rented HDB flats generally 5 atrioventricular 3000 January. The Government shall not exceed nine people. Signed two-year contract to be attached to the January rent do you charge. One rent and utilities is about $ 400.
3 living expenses, telephone, transportation cards, eating. January, at least 500.
Intermediary fees 270 rent 400 cost of living, 500 total === 1170.
That is not \"overtime\" you two years to waste. Only overtime is earned. Overtime must be depending on the situation of the enterprise,
After reading these, everyone, including Singaporeans, you may understand, how important overtime of the Chinese labor. Why would be stupid enough to go on strike, why HDB will live 20 individuals,
Of course, these are not the worst. I first came to Singapore in a listed company, the basic salary of 550,12 hours. Order high point of the salary, apply to the medicine department, apply for evening, more than 50 subsidies month, added full classes, but also before 1300. You say more overtime against the law what I know. Can you dare to report, you do not money? Why we came.
In fact, Singapore's laws and policies, many of which are very good, foreign labor is responsible for the detailed provisions, but unfortunately misinterpreted by many companies, the unspoken rules.
The of Mr. Li Yeming in microblogging, initiated the discussion, \"When foreign labor is no longer cheap,\" my new years get up from the lowest foreign workers, I can only offer cheap foreign labor status quo. These are the middle level, about 700 basic salary of many Western and Japanese enterprises the Chinese operatives shifts standard, regardless of the other small local enterprises. .
If you ask me to say this strike. I definitely do not support the strike behavior. But I support their voices. Pleaded with the government, businesses, embassies, hear their voices, respect their voices. Curb the strike in the bud stage. To simplify foreign workers and government communication procedures, the popularity of foreign workers basic labor rights protection, the protection of the rights of the most basic complaints of foreign workers. Respect the aspirations the outside Laoti out. Equal pay for equal work is not foreign workers must pursue, do not meet the actual situation of Singapore. In getting equal pay for equal work, the enterprises should respect the employee and explain.
Their voices ------
We come to China over the same stream with Chinese blood. We pay high intermediation costs Dongnuexijie. We are far behind, leaving the beloved family leave infirm parents. Leave on each other's husband. Leave the mother of the child is required. Everything Nanyang desire with your ancestors had floated sea, home to live like a family, so that our future generations are no longer poor. We have to. We work for their diligence. We uncomplainingly. We sweat the whole sprinkled in here. We hope here we afford to lose, we are entrusted with a variety of similar pain, many of us for two years to go back once the mouth waiting for our hands of the whole family, whenever the child to the phone when my mother called. Whenever the mother said, children suffering come back, you may be the same as a parent. But you realize that less than this feeling. Only hide in the toilet of the tears flowing, we can only choking back tears, the mother said, all right, all Chinese, very good for us all. Sometimes, however. We always due to various reasons, dismissed. Try to restrain him, cheated, and so on, we have to leave, when we connected the East rub the West borrowed capital not compete back is necessary are forced to go. Although force but no knife. But stab wounds just skin, which has hurt our hearts;
Sometimes, whenever I hear compatriots lying to extremely low salary, I heart pulling sad, pro, the black heart intermediaries, greedy boss. You believe in Buddhism, you believe retribution. You may believe that Jesus do? Do you believe punishment. If you have a little consonance, you will feel our hearts bleed. You must see that the children into the phone and call my mother filled with expectant eyes. You must see that poor home for the elderly. . . Of course, we do not need pity and charity. Nanyang predecessors break with the past because we have the same backbone, because I am Chinese. We are not afraid of suffering, I make money with industrious hands.
Please give us a little more dignity, respect, Chinese people do not three word cool aside. We look forward to \"integrate into the Lion City\"
Note, the text if wrong, illegal related laws, or data discrepancies, told me. That is correct. For Cite this article, please notify me.
After reading this, my engrish all gone liao -
Sun_2010:
After reading this, my engrish all gone liao
because if computer software translate, english become like this.
i read until ... blur, but roughly can make out what is trying to say.
basically, the gist is to survive, must do OT (overtime)
btw, how much salary does a bus driver earn in China, if those 29 repatriated workers return back home China, work as public bus drivers again ?
if is low over there, then means everyday they must drive OT a few buses, in order to make up to our SG equivalent bus driver pay. -
JJ1111:
Most of the owner who rents out the flat, don't allow 4 persons/room. At most 3 persons/room. Average rental now is around $800 if shared by 3 person.Cheval:
[quote=\"limlim\"]Approx $200~$250/pax, share room.
true,most likely 4 persons/room, decking beds.
2 persons / room, rental is around $700 - $900 (depend on location, got aircon or not etc.)
My mom rents out the spare room in her 3-rm flat for S$400+ and it's near MRT and big mall, so very convenient. But yes, no aircon, no internet, no heater. So if 2 persons share that room, each one around S$200-S$250, lor. -
My bil’s 4-room flat is fetching about $3000 a month.
Sun_2010:
In the first place, the original Chinese sentence structure in some part of the article already problematic.. quite difficult to read..
After reading this, my engrish all gone liao -
MR06:
“Veteran unionist and MP Halimah Yacob said this was probably because of SMRT's differing cost structures for the two groups of drivers.
Reliance on foreign bus drivers in sharp focus
http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story/A1Story20121127-386059.html
For instance, SMRT has to pay for lodging for Chinese drivers, but not Malaysians, who typically commute to and from their homes across the Causeway.”
This is foolish. The lodging cost can only explain the difference in starting pay, not the that in pay increment! But that is exactly what SMRT management tries to make ppl believe. I hate elite fools ppl.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.