PSLE 2012 - Results Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    1.5k Posts 357 Posters 477.9k Views 1 Watching

Posting next Wednesday. After that, I think it is really a closure to PSLE.

Somehow I feel I am still hanging in the air.

• NebbermindN Offline
        Nebbermind

underthesea:

Got pei hwa sec?

Yup, it's at Fernvale, Sengkang.

Oh, just found it...a totally diff entity from pei hwa Presbyterian.

rains

Hi Janet,

I agree with other mummies that you should start the new journey happy.

If you should go and meet the vp or teacher/s, do go with the intention to reconcile. Your boy’s primary school journey has ended. Let it end well and end the confrontation and finger-pointing, becos anymore of those would serve no purpose except to make the teachers more bitter against you and your son. Think about your son in whatever you do/want to do. As mothers, we would lay down our lives for our kids without batting an eyelid. Think about how your meeting with the vp and teachers would impact him, emotionally and psychologically. Would it benefit him? If it does, go ahead. Would it embarrass him? Would it affect him negatively? If it affects him in a not-so-fruitful way, you may want to think if it’s worth it. If you badly need to meet the vp and teachers, please be mindful of your son’s little heart. The position you take, the tone you use, the words you say - make them count towards bringing a closure for your son, not just yourself.

Above all, don’t be defensive. The teachers would become defensive the moment they sense defensiveness. And the whole meetup would become aggressive.

At this moment, I believe your son would want to look forward to his secondary school life rather than dwell on what can’t be changed. He will need alot of your support to help him transit into teenagehood. Whatever you decide to do, don’t use your energy in futile ways. Save your energy for him.

rains:

At this moment, I believe your son would want to look forward to his secondary school life rather than dwell on what can't be changed. He will need alot of your support to help him transit into teenagehood. Whatever you decide to do, don't use your energy in futile ways. Save your energy for him.
            Hi rains,
            I agree with you...you have been most humble, kind and gracious like many other parents. There is no reason to be unpleasant with the VP. She has been utterly apologetic about this and had explained she will act on this only after my child has left the school.
            Moving on is most important...yes, energy should be spent correctly.

• NebbermindN Offline
              Nebbermind

Yeah, resentment and anger are heavy baggage and should not be held on to. :imcool:

no point carrying forward to a new year right?...since i have already escalated the issue to the respective authority, the case is over. my unhappiness earlier was over comments made which i felt rather hurting...in my opinion, they were uncalled for.

Desserts

Hi Janet, I think if you and I were to go to the kopi tiam to talk, we ll talk till the cows come home. Haha…

I do understand how you feel and all the pent up feelings. I would also feedback to the vp about how the tr treated your son. So that the teacher would reflect on herself and be more sensitive.
                  I’ll be going to speak to the p and feedback about my dd s teacher and what the school could have done better. It s good for them to reflect what went wrong. Not pointing a finger and playing the blame game, but as moe always remind us "parents are partners of the education".
                  I did have the kind of yucky feeling when I went to school with dd to collect the cert.
                  Your son and my daughter s psle episode is over, so let’s hope our next child will do better.
                  Hope no one will remember to ask about our child’s psle score this coming cny.

Desserts:

I did have the kind of yucky feeling when I went to school with dd to collect the cert.
                    Your son and my daughter s psle episode is over, so let's hope our next child will do better.
                    Hope no one will remember to ask about our child's psle score this coming cny.
                    Hi Desserts,
                    That yucky feelings sucks right?
                    PSLE episode is over...there is a new syllabus/format for my younger one in 2016. I can't ignore my boy because if he fails English in sec 1, he will be retained. As for CNY 2013, I couldn't be bothered with comparisons.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

PSLE episode is over...there is a new syllabus/format for my younger one in 2016. I can't ignore my boy because if he fails English in sec 1, he will be retained. As for CNY 2013, I couldn't be bothered with comparisons.
                      My sec 1 boy mentioned this - about failing English, should be retained. But his classmates who failed English were not. The whole class was promoted leh. He was wondering why.

mummy so kiasu

My sec 1 boy mentioned this - about failing English, should be retained. But his classmates who failed English were not. The whole class was promoted leh. He was wondering why.
                        Does it apply to other schools too?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 147 / 155