P5 vocabulary list shocks parents

67 Posts 24 Posters 26.5k Views 1 Watching
    • 3 Offline
      3Boys

pirate:

Solli solli, I try harder next time... 😉

You must think me a podgy, piteous navvy whose only tenable claim to eminence lies in such diurnal endeavours as philately. How dare you seek to beguile uninitiated readers into plaudits with such an implicit allegation of temperance on my part? Yarr! Does my scabbard appear empty and does my skull appear to be suffused with osseous matter? I take umbrage at such an unequivocal slight! I hereby challenge you to a duel. Pursuant to Chapter VI of the KSP Code, no proverbial supervening injury resulting therefrom shall give rise to any cause to commit either participant to a bedlam nor shall any fatality be considered cause to indict either participant for manslaughter.
      :nunchuk:

You winz! :faint:

Imami

不愧是吃番薯长大的
        番薯? not 马铃薯 or 地瓜?

pirate

Imami:

不愧是吃番薯长大的

番薯? not 马铃薯 or 地瓜?

Solli. Only got 土豆 😉

limlim

I feel that list is ridiculous…

chim words is fine as challenge… but at least it should be useful words. Why ask them to learn stuff that is rarely encountered? sorry, "rarely" is understatement… some words are practically "useless"… IMO…

Sun_2010

Anyone been intrigued by this list? I was, dunno why, while I was floating off to la-la land. :siao:

So as soon as I could, I saw the list on my way to work and noted down the first thoughts that came when I saw them. I was surprised at the connections or images that poped when i saw some words. It could have been from the book or somehow I associate that word with it....
              And now I have typed them out for you eminent KSPers to analyse/interpert and share what your images/connections ...

Here goes:
              1.\tAnemometer – This image is stuck in my mind is of an anemometer prominent in the background with a brightly coloured rooster crowing in the front. Any one knows what I am talking about?
              2.\tBedlam – Enid Blyton – Naughtiest Girl
              3.\tBeguile – Thorn Bird. Dun even remember the story but the moment I saw this work that is what came to my head. A very strong connection.
              4.\tBuccaneer – image of a pirate with a wicked smile “ho ho ho and a bottle of rum” (Book- Treasure Island). Pretty obvious connection.
              5.\tDiurnal – Nothing specific
              6.\tDomicile – To Kill a Mocking Bird. Again dunno why?
              7.\tEminence – Gone With the wind . Actually a common word but somehow my brain associates it with this book.
              8.\tImplicit – Perry Mason. Pretty obvious connection – and my first lawyer book. ( my first crush too :oops: )
              9.\tIndict – Again Perry Mason.
              10.\tManslaughter – This one is so Perry Mason.
              11.\tNavvy – I plead ignorance . I thought the word was misspelt . :oops:
              12.\tOsseous – I plead ignorance again.
              13.\tPhilately – General. My close friend had this hobby, and in general I guess I knew more about stamps than an average tween today .
              14.\tPiteous – To Kill a Mocking Bird. Another strong connection.
              15.\tPlaudits – Jeffery Archer. I am not sure if it was in his books or in the briefs about him. It somehow links…
              16.\tPodgy – I confused this with pudgy, another Enid Blyton word ( from the Five Findouters - the policeman)
              17.\tPursuant – Nothing specific
              18.\tScabbard - strongly Sherlock Holmes.
              19.\tSuffuse – Sherlock Holmes again.
              20.\tSupervening - Perry Mason
              21.\tTemperance – PG woodhouse. Again another vague connection.
              22.\tTenable – Nothing specific
              23.\tUmbrage - Enid Blyton. Image of a large woman in apron taking “umbrage” …
              24.\tUnequivocal –Pride and Prejudice. Dun know if this word was ever used in the book but “image” of Elizabeth comes to mind.

• mother777M Offline
                mother777

ha ha ha nicely done dear!!

now you have given images to each word…really a colourful world out there…

• 3 Offline
                  3Boys

Sun_2010:

Most definitely Yam Ah Mee 😂

sunflower

Sun_2010:

Sun_2010

sunflower:

[quote=\"Sun_2010\"]

:rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]Right , how did I not remember that \"historic\" opening words 😆

tutormum

http://static.edvantage.com.sg/site/servlet/linkableblob/edvantage/1537776/topImage/Teacher_are_you_kidding_me-topImage.jpg\">

Implicit in the aforementioned word list, suffused with such verbosity and resulting in such bedlam amongst the locally domiciled, is the tenable intent to raise the standard of vocabulary of our 9 year olds to great eminence. It is pursuant to the objective of not having our offspring join the ranks of the navvy, in and of itself, worthy of plaudits. The powers that be, however, are indicted by accusations of intemperance, causing great umbrage amongst the piteous masses, with calls to action bordering on manslaughter! Whilst we should not allow swords-rattling-in-scabbards to beguile into demanding that our podgy administrators with their osseous policies be retired to more suitable pursuits like philately, it is unequivocal that some action be taken to restore our children’s diurnal patterns as opposed to accepting sleep deprivation.
                        Did you mean:
                        The word list which is so deep that makes everybody cry father cry mother is to ensure that the students improve their vocab so that they can join their friends in the branded schools. Pity the ordinary people like us that we can only complain to MOE to request that they reduce the stress so that our children can good good sleep at night or else parents will run to tuition centres before our children got killed by their overzealous teachers.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 7

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo