Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down
Just want to share my 2 cents worth.
81:6, no matter what good alternatives WP comes up with, it will be shot down flat. How to pass in Parliament?
The men/women on the street will not remember what have been discussed in Parliament but they will always remember what have been done for them on ground level. People will not remember, 3 years ago, so and so said this and that in Parliament but people will remember, 5 years ago, so and so helped me to get a job.
Seriously, I don't need WP to come up with some wonderful alternatives, I just need them to do the much needed check and balance. It is never safe to have just one person to look after the golden nest.
If it was a straight walk over in GE2011, I seriously don't think there will be a ministers' pay review, SG conversation (which I still have no faith in it), control in FT's flow, cooling measures and the latest baby perks which is such a great coincidence that it was announced days before PE BE :?
I will vote for any credible oppo, be it WP or NSP or even RP if they proved themselves. To me, having oppo is about check, check and more check
Let the incumbent worry about that. Meanwhile GIC and Tamasak doing a good job buying up banks and Olum.
Please read my post again. The poorer off MUST be looked after. But what is the more effective way of spending the precious dollars? Subsidise public transport for all, including the bank CEO on his way from his Orchard Road condo to his office in Raffles City? Or charge a recoverable rate in fares, affordable to the majority, but GIVE money back to the poor that will cover the fares and MORE?hypergatak:
3boys, in case you have forgotten, the traffic congestion, high COE problems are partly (maybe substantailly) caused by PAP. LHL promised to make car ownership affordable and to tax on usage, hence the ERP. Look what happen now, double whammy - car owners are penalised by high cost of car ownership and car usage. High costs of HDB - Singapore is one country which could have a better control over housing prices as 80% of our population live in public flats. But sadly, the PAP has let public housing be turned into private apartments and allow HDB prices to hike to today's level and are difficult to be reined in. This is always my pet peeves, why allow PRs to buy public flats and be able to rent it out somemore!
You have exactly the same elitist thinking of the PAP, who think that public transport fares are affordable, that's why it's ok to increase a few cents! To the poors, every cents count. That's the reason for my support of the WP, at least they served with passion and their hearts. -
sinoboy:
Let the incumbent worry about that. Meanwhile GIC and Tamasak doing a good job buying up banks and Olum.[/quote]You confuse sovereign fund performance with economic policy.
Please read my post again. The poorer off MUST be looked after. But what is the more effective way of spending the precious dollars? Subsidise public transport for all, including the bank CEO on his way from his Orchard Road condo to his office in Raffles City? Or charge a recoverable rate in fares, affordable to the majority, but GIVE money back to the poor that will cover the fares and MORE?3Boys:
[quote=\"hypergatak\"]
3boys, in case you have forgotten, the traffic congestion, high COE problems are partly (maybe substantailly) caused by PAP. LHL promised to make car ownership affordable and to tax on usage, hence the ERP. Look what happen now, double whammy - car owners are penalised by high cost of car ownership and car usage. High costs of HDB - Singapore is one country which could have a better control over housing prices as 80% of our population live in public flats. But sadly, the PAP has let public housing be turned into private apartments and allow HDB prices to hike to today's level and are difficult to be reined in. This is always my pet peeves, why allow PRs to buy public flats and be able to rent it out somemore!
You have exactly the same elitist thinking of the PAP, who think that public transport fares are affordable, that's why it's ok to increase a few cents! To the poors, every cents count. That's the reason for my support of the WP, at least they served with passion and their hearts. -
I almost missed dis - but chanced upon it in ST when I caught a gilmpse of DPM TCH's sending out a message to discourage tactical voting.
Why?
SG practices d First past the post (FPTP) voting system which means, for those who do not oredi understand FPTP system,
d candidate with just one vote more than d next highest candidate will be declared d winner of d electoral contest.
Dis essentially means dat a vote for any candidate other than d two front runners will favour d eventual winner.
Thus d choice of who to vote for come Saturday can be reduced to a simpler decision of whether one wants more of d PAP or alternative voices in Parliament by narrowing d choices down to just one of d two top choices.
Ponder n vote wisely.
pirate:
It is interesting that of the few things I reproduced, you zoomed in on the one most general item, and overlooked the specific proposals that now appear in one form or another in Baby Bonus 2013. These proposals were published waaaaaay back in 2011 by WP before the GE. But, I suppose that's how some segment of the electorate will react.3Boys:
Generalities that my MIL can cook up in the kitchen, or the Ah Pek in the coffee shop.
\"More research on improving the success rate and lowering the cost of assisted reproduction...\"
So WP is now a biomed incubator? Dun make me laugh...
Talk is cheap.
Anyway, you have just proven the point, it took 3 pages of posts and 5 hours for someone to dig up anything of substance.
The opposition or the supporters, which to be feared? You tell me.
The PAP manifesto is even thinner on specifics. Specifics on implementation are drawn up by civil servants. I don't elect somebody to be a civil servant. I leave that to the civil service. I elect somebody for vision and concepts. Lately, the PAP is getting a bit thin in this department. Not for nothing is the lament that the PAP does not appear to have another Goh Keng Swee.
Having a good heart is not enough. Having the right intellect is crutial for a good governance. WP has yet to show its vision backed by some concrete ideas.
Recent measures by the PAP government appear to me to be firefighting measures. Does it even have a vision anymore?
What worries me even more is , a lot of policies are getting more and more populist. It is hard for most of us to think long term for a nation. Our views are mostly selfish ( for a specific group like parents worried about kids edu, ) or short sighted and often both. So to fulfil my demands may likely be in the long term detrimental to me or atleast for a larger part of the country.
At home DH is more popular than me. The reason he can be \"the good guy\" is because I dont mind being the \"bad guy\". He knows that too. But if he were to continue to be the \"good guy\" full time without me adding the balance , the kids and he would be in real trouble.
Even the idea to give HDB priority to families with children has to come from online forums. I know, because I was the first one to plant that seed at Yahoo! before anybody else mentioned it.
Why you never do b4 ? :spank:
It used to be that given a choice between a PAP and an opposition candidate, the choice was a no brainer because the PAP candidate is far superior. Now? In some cases, there is nothing between the two. In a few other cases, the non-PAP candidate is actually stronger. In fact, some of the candidates (who shall remain nameless) they have put forth in the last GE leaves one with the impression that they are really scraping the bottom of the barrel. The SAF, NTUC, civil service, doctors, and relatives of the above. Is the PAP recruitment circle becoming so small? Something is seriously wrong somewhere.
This is one of my concerns. successio Planning was one of its strenghts, it doesnt seem that good now
Even PAP stalwarts have gotten fed up enough to come forward. One even ran against their preferred presidential candidate. I suspect if he does that again in the next presidential elections, he will win.
I miss TCB too. When I see him occasionally on my morning jog, his smile makes my day. While my heart says he might have been a better president, My mind just says \"Maybe...\"
I am not firmly in the opposition camp. Heck, I voted PAP the last time. If this continues, I may not do so come next GE. And my constituency has an NCMP...
Right, a good opposition is valuable. But one breathing doen the neck and waiting for an opportunity to strike doesnt help. But practically, who is noble enough to be just that - an opposition who prides in raising genuine issues .
Its easier to poke holes , far too easy but highly damaging to the fabric. -
raysusan:
It might had been crafted into a nail, it will be the last nail to seal the coffin.I am wondering why aim saga is not mentioned during the rally?
With more opp I believe more cans of worms will be open up -
Sun_2010:
I'll soldier on
:goodpost:3Boys:
Heck, I voted opposition last time.
When was your yahoo thingy? I had heard a discussion back in 1998 about priority for wedded couples with children for HDB flats, so it's been floating around in ether for over 2 decades.
You are right that the PAP has deviated from its strategic directions. In my view, that has a lot to do with Singaporeans having less of a stomach to deal with tough policies.
There are 2 parts to what the government needs to do.
1) Grow the economy and tax base and make money for the country.
2) Spend that money to help its citizens have a better life.
In order to do 2), we first need to do 1). And the PAP g'ment is pretty good at 1), but less good at 2).
What's in the WP manifesto?
2), 2), 2).......mostly.
Show me some more of 1), how you make the tough trade offs, maybe they'd have more cred. Speak publicly about how you will RAISE the tax base, tell it to your supporters, we will raise GST, we will raise income tax. You will have my vote tomorrow, WP, instantly.
Am I entrenched? Sorta, in that I am wedded to fiscal responsibility, to 1) before 2).
Which is why I am dismissive of manifestos that have spend spend spend mostly. I reiterate any Ah Pek can cook up a spend policy, and I have heard many more creative ones that have been bandied about.
So the WP take credit for coming out first with a spend idea? Well, did they suggest a way to make the money in the first place? The PAP bears the brunt of the brickbats due to tough economic policy, and the WP wins credit for spending it?
Funny, isn't it?
Quite the one-man army 3B ?
My kids also know how to spend money what....they spend all their time thinking about how to. New iPad, long holidays, remote control cars, plenty of creative ideas.
Me and DW need to consider how to make the money in the first place, that where we spend our energies.
Very easy to ride on the coat tails of a strong economy, hor? Get credit for creativity some more, what's not to like?
Edit: reply to your other post, we are certainly getting more populist, and it such a dangerous thing. The PAP are still trying to find that new equilibrium of successful disciplined economic policy with social policies. What they really needed was for MP to have kept his pants on. :mad: -
MR06:
Because the WP are complicit and they know its not a big deal. I'll bet you it gets minimum airtime this bye election.
It might had been crafted into a nail, it will be the last nail to seal the coffin.raysusan:
I am wondering why aim saga is not mentioned during the rally?
With more opp I believe more cans of worms will be open up -
Me too. Just like kamon, when I think about the lack of checks and balances and the potential abuses of power, the logical conclusion is to have more opposition in the parliament.
Heck, I voted opposition last time.3Boys:
My sentiments exactly! Not just WP, any other party is guilty of the same. Unfortunately, the impact of having more opposition appears to be a race to the bottom, i.e. the opposition and ruling party will out-compete each other to \"buy\" more votes.What's in the WP manifesto?
2), 2), 2).......mostly.
Do I vote for higher taxes and more largesse?
You confuse sovereign fund performance with economic policy.[/quote]Don't shoot me down just like that lah. Since you seem to know the difference, do you think our CPF money is involved or not huh?
Let the incumbent worry about that. Meanwhile GIC and Tamasak doing a good job buying up banks and Olum.sinoboy:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
Please read my post again. The poorer off MUST be looked after. But what is the more effective way of spending the precious dollars? Subsidise public transport for all, including the bank CEO on his way from his Orchard Road condo to his office in Raffles City? Or charge a recoverable rate in fares, affordable to the majority, but GIVE money back to the poor that will cover the fares and MORE?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.