Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 415.1k Views 1 Watching
      rains

I’m not ungrateful. Neither am I disgruntled. I just want the miws to mean what they say. Don’t shove what they treat as dirt to the people and say "Look! You’re getting the best!" when they themselves don’t even want it. I’m disgusted at how they boast about what they have done for Singapore. Gimme all the money. I’ll show you how everything can be solved using endless supply of money. And where does this endless supply of monies come from? If they had earned it from other countries, they are good. But we all know these monies come from the people’s pockets that are dug deep and big.

I’m disgusted when I learnt of how many connections there are in there. What meritocracy?

I’m simply disgusted by their fat pay while asking the people to be contented with what they are getting.

I have no fantasy or imagination about the opposition parties. If you realize, I have not mentioned anything about them.

Pap used to be a people government. But now whatever they do is clearly for their own interest. Why do you think they want to bring in millions of people in such a short span of time? Why do you think they want so many cheap labour?

I’m posting these not becos I’m uncontented with what I get in my life. You sound like I’m griping becos I don’t get this and that. Don’t be too quick to assume that people only speak up when they don’t get what they want. Perhaps you yourself are like this and so you judge others by the same measure. I just get the feeling that you are a pap supporter in disguise of an opposition voter and trying to propagate pap in the forum bcos you can be so surprisingly blind to the many injustices they have done to the people.

Continue to worship your civil masters.

Eons ago when I was in a GP class, the topic of bill Clinton being unfaithful came up and my teacher asked us,"How many of you think that a leader’s private life has nothing to do with his public life?" the majority of the class raised their hands and my teacher expressed great shock,"If the moral of a leader is not important to you, what kind of leaders are you going to choose?!!"

You know about their dirty politics, yet you support them. Now I know why my teacher expressed such concern.

• cool_hiC Offline
        cool_hi

Good post! Rains!!!i totally agree!

For eg,when the mrt breaks down…govt just punish smrt by how!?
        Fine them!!where the $ goes to?
        Govt!!
        But who were the ones inconvenienced & wasted their time+mayb also $ to take cab to rush to work?we citizens…
        Are we compensated for our inconvenience & time wasted?no…
        Can’t the govt instead of fine smrt,should make them reduce bus fares & mrt fares by say 20-30cts per trip,for say 3-6mths,instead of fine smrt?
        At least then I feel govt is thinking of their people!!
        But now…no…govt fattening their own pockets…
        Same goes for maid levy!!

• G Offline
          GLORYmum

cool_hi:
          Good post! Rains!!!i totally agree!

For eg,when the mrt breaks down..govt just punish smrt by how!?
          Fine them!!where the $ goes to?
          Govt!!
          But who were the ones inconvenienced & wasted their time+mayb also $ to take cab to rush to work?we citizens..
          Are we compensated for our inconvenience & time wasted?no..
          Can't the govt instead of fine smrt,should make them reduce bus fares & mrt fares by say 20-30cts per trip,for say 3-6mths,instead of fine smrt?
          At least then I feel govt is thinking of their people!!
          But now..no..govt fattening their own pockets..
          Same goes for maid levy!!

Wow! Exactly the same thot. :celebrate:

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

rains:
            I'm not ungrateful. Neither am I disgruntled. I just want the miws to mean what they say. Don't shove what they treat as dirt to the people and say \"Look! You're getting the best!\" when they themselves don't even want it. I'm disgusted at how they boast about what they have done for Singapore. Gimme all the money. I'll show you how everything can be solved using endless supply of money. And where does this endless supply of monies come from? If they had earned it from other countries, they are good. But we all know these monies come from the people's pockets that are dug deep and big.

I'm disgusted when I learnt of how many connections there are in there. What meritocracy?

I'm simply disgusted by their fat pay while asking the people to be contented with what they are getting.

I have no fantasy or imagination about the opposition parties. If you realize, I have not mentioned anything about them.

Pap used to be a people government. But now whatever they do is clearly for their own interest. Why do you think they want to bring in millions of people in such a short span of time? Why do you think they want so many cheap labour?

I'm posting these not becos I'm uncontented with what I get in my life. You sound like I'm griping becos I don't get this and that. Don't be too quick to assume that people only speak up when they don't get what they want. Perhaps you yourself are like this and so you judge others by the same measure. I just get the feeling that you are a pap supporter in disguise of an opposition voter and trying to propagate pap in the forum bcos you can be so surprisingly blind to the many injustices they have done to the people.

Haha!

I have never disguised the fact that I am PAP supporter, or that I propagate a pro g'ment position. Whether or not I voted for the opposition in the past does not change that. And I have. Believe it or not, it's up to you, my credibility does not lie with your approval.

Anyway, don't make a pretence of knowing my intentions, if you've read my posts you'd know I support tax rises on the wealthy to fund programmes, but in your world view, it's impossible for any supporter of the PAP to have a heart for people.

Continue in your delusion then.

• 3 Offline
              3Boys

rains:

Eons ago when I was in a GP class, the topic of bill Clinton being unfaithful came up and my teacher asked us,\"How many of you think that a leader's private life has nothing to do with his public life?\" the majority of the class raised their hands and my teacher expressed great shock,\"If the moral of a leader is not important to you, what kind of leaders are you going to choose?!!\"

You know about their dirty politics, yet you support them. Now I know why my teacher expressed such concern.
              Sheesh, do you even read what I post before you rain away? Why did I vote against them last GE?

Only supporters of the opposition like you are moral people.

Insufferable arrogance.

raysusan

Rain I like your post 😄

But be cool...3boys posts are interesting to read too.
                Maybe just need to stand by dictionary

rains:
                  ... I just get the feeling that you are a pap supporter in disguise of an opposition voter and trying to propagate pap in the forum bcos you can be so surprisingly blind to the many injustices they have done to the people.

rains, as a follower of 3boys' posts all these years, I can assure you that he is neither a WP or PAP supporter. He supports rationality, and abhors what he thinks is irrational, self-righteous or ignorant scare-mongering. He cuts straight and cuts deep, which is why he seems blunt as he doesn't mince his words.

Dora1

3boys

I totally agree that we are very fortunate and SG is indeed a lot better than many other countries. However, we are where we are because of the hardwork if the old PAP in the 70s and 80s, and of course our grandparents and parents. The PAP of today cannot take the credit for what we have today. In the stat board that I’m working now, I have the privilege to work with an ex super scale civil servant who was still mentoring us until he passed away at 81 years old. According to the stories that he shared, the emphasis was always about the people, think of ways to save tax payers money. Also, the senior civil servants were rises from the bottom so they can make sound decisions very fast. But the senior civil servants of today are scholars, dun dare to make decisions as they are not familiar. Also, there is always the cost recovery that we have to bear in mind so all the stat board and ministries have to find ways to increase income to meet the cost recovery KPI.
                    So yes, we should be grateful to PAP for making SG as successful as it is today, but dun misplace the gratitude. It’s not the current office holders.
                    And the reason ppl are in favour of WP is exactly that, we can see that the new PAP is going downhill and is bringing SG with it. That’s why we need and opp like WP to slap them and put them back on track. And I agree with LTK, WP dun have the resources to replace pap so this is our best way out now

limlim

rains:

The bottom line is: they should walk the talk.
                      说一套,做一套。

This is also one of the things that I dislike about them..

JannettLee

In General, I think these are the major reasons why PAP failed to garner supports:

On Hot topic: Property
                        - Rich fed up with all these cooling off measures as these have affected their property investments. What on earth of cooling off properties got to do with the majority who are currently complaining about high HDB prices and they have to wait for so long for the new HDB? PAP just wanted to take a cut in their profits from private properties sale transaction.
                        - Some middle group fed up with their cooling off measures too because cooling off measures are obstacles that make it difficult for them to upgrade to private property.
                        - People who does not even own a HDB are the angry people as HDB prices has gone up very high and they reckoned that they have to work for the rest of their life to service their HDB loan and also they have to wait for so long to get their new HDB.

In short, MND/MAS (cooling off measures) is barking up the wrong tree la. Instead of tackling the problem of high HDB prices due to low supply of HDB resulted from poor planning of HDB supply, MND/MAS spent times to help Govn to generate more incomes from all these cooling off measures la (e.g.ABSD). With many phrases of cooling off measures in place, have they managed to cool off the HDB prices? They controlled HDB supply but come up something to cooling off 2nd properties but kept selling lands for private property development (contradicting with each other). :siao:

Indeed, 说一套,做一套。

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 171 / 198