Club 2007 Kiddo
patlsy79:
i got pair of 2007 twins! err...like to check how many of you enrol your kids in My First Skool? mine from this full time cc..they are using Learn thru play method in their teaching. from K1 last yr till now, so far no spelling. I did question the teachers they said they are following MOE syllabus and more holistic aka learn through play method. So stressed whenever i see my frs kids from PCF, every wk come back with ting xie / spelling. twice a week etc?
If you are worried, you can have home spelling and tingxie. -
patlsy79:
i got pair of 2007 twins! err...like to check how many of you enrol your kids in My First Skool? mine from this full time cc..they are using Learn thru play method in their teaching. from K1 last yr till now, so far no spelling. I did question the teachers they said they are following MOE syllabus and more holistic aka learn through play method. So stressed whenever i see my frs kids from PCF, every wk come back with ting xie / spelling. twice a week etc?
Yes, fully agree with SAHM_TAN
better & safer to start your own home spelling and tingxie, esp. tingxie.
if not sure what tingxie to give, buy the P1 Chinese textbook/workbook, let child practise \"bu shou\" bian pang, then start give him spelling according to this page:-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=23761&start=2200
once he can write out the few words from here, he would have gathered P1 momentum, on the way already. -
patlsy79:
You must be worried. I have friends who think that PCF kindergarten has low standard. Most PCF kindergartens have revamped their curriculum and teachers are paid according to qualification. I do know of 2 friends who withdrew their children from other childcare centres {cannot name which childcare but quite near PCF ones lah). When their children enter the new school, it's time my friends wake up. I not so bad to comment about other people's children. Their children could not catch up! Play too much in childcare. Then my friends realise too late. By the way, can parents here share what your child learns in K2 for your child's school? -
For working mom without maid, not easy to teach at hm le. my gals in cc frm 8-630pm. by the time finish dinner, bath almost sleeping time. and for mom, we have to do laundry, pack sch bag for tomorrow, fold clothes & some washing etc. How easy?
patlsy79:
For working mom without maid, not easy to teach at hm le. my gals in cc frm 8-630pm. by the time finish dinner, bath almost sleeping time. and for mom, we have to do laundry, pack sch bag for tomorrow, fold clothes & some washing etc. How easy?
It doesn't take long, can be 10 mins per day. You can buy the cards and words for spelling and tingxie from Popular. For Eng I saw books in Popular that are common use words, sight words, with word cards at the back.
If you are too tired to do the above, which I can totally understand, then just read with them a bedtime story each night, pointing at the Eng words and Chi char as you reach each word and char aloud.
The 3rd option would be to send them for classes during wkends.
After going thru P1 with dd1, I find that P1 is more like bridging. It's not that scary. If the expectation is full marks for every assessment then there might be more stress. But if willing to trust the school and teachers then can relax a bit though still need to monitor and manage expectations accordingly. Home support is still important, no matter how capable the teachers are in school. -
patlsy79:
Maybe you can teach your twins during weekend? I'm a FTWM and can understand what you are going through. Usually when I return home, I put the clothes in washing machine. For clothes that need to hand wash, soak them first. Then have dinner. After dinner, I spend a few mins to guide my child how to do 1 to 2 pages of assessment book. Then, I do washing by hand if I need to. My child would have finish her work by then. Bring the child to toilet bathe and come out teach the child what is expected to do in assessment book, 1 or 2 pages only. Then my turn to bathe, any questions that the child does not know, my child will ask Daddy for help or wait for me finish my bath. After that, my child has free time, can do anything, draw, play toys, read book or watch tv or use electronic gadgets.. When laundry is done, I get my husband to hang clothes. Then I will read books together with my child and very soon it's bedtime. I get a part-time domestic helper to come in during weekends so that I can relax a bit. Weekends teach the child a bit and go out enjoy family bonding time. -
patlsy, yes.. not ez for a wrking mum to teach at home..
I am a FTWM too w no helper of coz
with 3 kids, 1 in P2 this yr.. dd1 is the 2007 kid n dd2 2009, time is nvr enuff.. but well.. i believe, when u got the will to do it, there's aws a way to do it.. 
you may get an exercise book for both your twins and you juz write 2 words every day on it for them to practice from Mon-Thurs then on Friday, you can give them as spelling.. whichever speed you feel comfy, tis is juz an example.. so mayb while u r washing or folding clothes, they do the practice.. so tis way.. they have tings to do n u can do your chores in peace.. how tat sound?
Just a suggestion.. -
hi all mommies really thanks for your kind words & suggestions. Ok will try my best to do it for sake of my kids!

Morning to All..
Ya.. time is never enough with kids going to school, parents working.. and then come home need to do housework.. guide the kids etc...
I am like Pal.. (mintymin).. 3 kids.. staying with my mil... My time is fully focus on time when I reach home after work...
My focus now are on my 2 older kids..
The eldest one, who is P2 this year, ... with his hw, spelling and tingxie..and tropical tests coming.. etc..
The 2007 de.. starts to have spelling and tingxie this year.. but she can learn on her own.. so I just test her.. correct her stroke.. and some of the character as she can mix big and small letters..
My youngest.. her 1st year to attend school.. I am happy that she is adapting well.. come home.. sing the songs that she have learnt.. and I realised too that she can recognise some of the alphabets and numbers...
I am happy with the currect schedule and arrangement with all my kids...
Next year, will need to re-adjust as my 2007 girl will be P1.. so need to divide some of my time for her..
Morning Everyone!!
patlsy79, dun worry.. everyone is here to learn and share with one another how to cope and guide our kiddos..
I am suppose to be like castlehouse(my pal too), to focus on my 2 older kids.. however, due to the difference in their learning capability, my time spent is mainly on my P2 ds.. n like today is dd1's tingxie n spelling.. I only revise with her the night before.. A bit unfair on my part.. but bo bian.. since ds takes longer time to learn while dd1 learns her spelling n tingxie quite fast.. tis soon became a routine.. but i guess dd1 realised the difference n is asking y the time spent wif her is not as much as the time spent for kor kor.. so i muz make up to it..
So you c.. it is not ez.. but i feel.. as long as i try my best to make it work n explain to them y certain tings are not done the way it should in that nothing is fair.. n there's only ONE MUMMY.. so they will understand..
Tis week slowly.. ds starts to learn on his own while i spent time wif dd1.. so now.. for dd1.. tis is FAIR for her..
but i guess.. soon will be dd2 tat is gg to complain.. :slapshead: :evil:
But all is good.. i find myself better at managing them already.. heehee.. :oops:
Till den.. there's still the cooking part.. :faint:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.