Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 326.5k Views 1 Watching
      sinoboy

JannettLee:
      Singapore is going to be like Dubai soon!

With majority FT and the poor Singkies would have to get handout from government.
      Already they have implemented SGD750 for child care subsidies now for the well to do.

- This is a replica of Dubai!
      FTs can say goodbye when financial times are bad then you get this:
      http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2194633/Luxury-high-performance-cars-left-abandoned-British-expats-fear-jailed-debts.html
      Bottom line is we are still stuck. 🤷

JannettLee

Do not just listen to one side of story from these social workers.

Do listen to both sides of these social workers and the most important group - less well-off group!! You will have a better understanding of the situation!

Logically, I wont buy in the ideas that some less well-off group will not ask or ACCEPT help and talked to may of them

The untold story is NOT the less well-off who strangely DO NOT WANT help!!!
        It’s because of HDB put two families from two different background together and squeezed them into 3 rooms rental HDB flat (with one families in one room in the 3R rental HDB flat). Some of them can’t live together and have no choice but to walk away from a low rent rental flat! Everyone that I talked have told me of his/her side of stories and they are all valid reasons.

Not that they are ashamed, stubborn or do not want to be beholden to the Govt. I talked to some of them, some of them already got trained and have certificates to do simple jobs like secretary, technician, lorry drivers, dish washers, working in coffee/any shops, the jobs are not paid enough for them to support the families as they faced competition from foreigners who are always willing to get a lower pay. I knew some have even 2-3 jobs just to bring in sufficient income and hence can’t afford to work very longer hours as they may not have time for 2-3 jobs.

JannettLee

Also, our law creates excessive bureaucracy or adherence to rules and formalities and this drives those poor nuts! These poor would have to go through each social body to examine their conditions that made their assessment to qualify for help!

limlim

Harlequin:

No, it is never a 100% promise, but at least we try, a good odds at 90%. Now that's a A*

Don't try, ZERO!
            THAT is your belief only.

I believe we can score A* in people happiness index and SG will survive if w/o the country doesn't get overcrowded with indiscriminate influx of foreigners.

And that is my belief.

But I don't say until like if reach 7m pop the country will explode that kind of crap.. similar to some of the comment like no 7m pop the country will collapse kind of fear mongering.. 😆

limlim

Just relax:

So let us not hide behind the self-righteous but hypocritical claim that the gap between rich and poor is widening. People who make such claims do not know and choose not to know the true story but prefer the fantasy that they believe in.
              It is also important to recognise that pple who are against a overcrowded 7m population isn't necessarily complaining about the income gap.

for e.g. If I say rich biz owner supports overpopulation doesn't mean I'm saying something shd be done abt the income gap etc.. that is 2 totally different issue. just a comment.

pirate

WeiHan:
                But the gov isn't saying that we are getting a fully subsidized healthcare system if GST is increased to 10%. There are simply better and fairer avenue for increased tax before increasing GST. Higher tax should be targetted at the higher income group first. Maybe 100k and above (anual) 2% more, 150K and above 3% more, 200K and above 4% more. With this tax structure, we are still way better than many world economies. Increase GST will surely add to further unhappiness.

This one I have to say something about.

Solli hor. Not every problem can be solved by the govt just throwing money at it. Even a $10,000 bill don't know how to stick a needle in a patient. To get the healthcare system Singaporeans want means we must have more nurses. Last I saw, Singaporeans don't really want to do nursing. So, that means more FTs if you want that kind of healthcare. Even if the govt throws more money at it, it's not going to make it unnecessary to have more FT nurses.

Yah. Most of the people online wants to be PME. And they want their children eventually to be able to find a nice PME job. I purposely took out the \"T\" because Singaporeans generally do not want to get their hands dirty, so most do not want to be technicians. Heck, many of our technicians we have now are S-Pass holders. Let's just say \"T\" is not the career path most of us would choose for our kids if we can help it.

As for the \"P\" part - professionals, most professionals do not earn half as much as what people think. Those who do, have to make sacrifices in terms of worklife balance. Why? Because it's very competitive, and only the top of the pile gets to make tons of money. The average \"P\" only earns enough to be middle income. Already, many are complaining that education is too stressful in Singapore. Well... duh. If you aren't at the top of the pile, you cannot be a successful \"P\" because there will always be somebody smarter and hungrier than you to steal your cheese. The sacrifices required to become a \"P\" starts at primary school.

As for \"ME\". Well, in order to be \"ME\" there must be people for you to \"ME\" over, doesn't it? So, should these people that you want to \"ME\" over be FTs or citizens? I don't know. You choose. :scratchhead:

WeiHan

pirate:
                  WeiHan:

But the gov isn't saying that we are getting a fully subsidized healthcare system if GST is increased to 10%. There are simply better and fairer avenue for increased tax before increasing GST. Higher tax should be targetted at the higher income group first. Maybe 100k and above (anual) 2% more, 150K and above 3% more, 200K and above 4% more. With this tax structure, we are still way better than many world economies. Increase GST will surely add to further unhappiness.

This one I have to say something about.

Solli hor. Not every problem can be solved by the govt just throwing money at it. Even a $10,000 bill don't know how to stick a needle in a patient. To get the healthcare system Singaporeans want means we must have more nurses. Last I saw, Singaporeans don't really want to do nursing. So, that means more FTs if you want that kind of healthcare. Even if the govt throws more money at it, it's not going to make it unnecessary to have more FT nurses.

Yah. Most of the people online wants to be PME. And they want their children eventually to be able to find a nice PME job. I purposely took out the \"T\" because Singaporeans generally do not want to get their hands dirty, so most do not want to be technicians. Heck, many of our technicians we have now are S-Pass holders. Let's just say \"T\" is not the career path most of us would choose for our kids if we can help it.

As for the \"P\" part - professionals, most professionals do not earn half as much as what people think. Those who do, have to make sacrifices in terms of worklife balance. Why? Because it's very competitive, and only the top of the pile gets to make tons of money. The average \"P\" only earns enough to be middle income. Already, many are complaining that education is too stressful in Singapore. Well... duh. If you aren't at the top of the pile, you cannot be a successful \"P\" because there will always be somebody smarter and hungrier than you to steal your cheese. The sacrifices required to become a \"P\" starts at primary school.

As for \"ME\". Well, in order to be \"ME\" there must be people for you to \"ME\" over, doesn't it? So, should these people that you want to \"ME\" over be FTs or citizens? I don't know. You choose. :scratchhead:

Not all problem can be solved by throwing money at it...This may be true but it was not what I was driving at. Universal health care was just an example that I cited. The main gist of my point was that why the need to increase tax while no social welfare program will be implemented? The nurse problem that you bring up...FW/FTs quota should be considered in a industry by industry basis. More work for gov? yes....we live a complicated world so more work is necessary get work done correctly.

About PMEs...yes...I am curious. according to the white paper, by 2030, 70% of the citizens/PRs will be PMEs. So, how are there so many people for you to \"me\" over? 70% 'me\" over 30%?

• O Offline
                    octoberbaby

Enough land for cemetery? Will CCK cemetery be expanded as well? How abt columbarium? May be will have to build 101 storey high.

sunflower

Irrelevant:
                      I think it is embarrassing for him to announce that he is a PhD student.

But then again, standards in Australia aren't that vigorous wor......
                      sunflower:

[quote]Dear All,

I am PhD research student majoring in Economics and finance.

I am writing this as simply as I can. I am writing to all Singaporeans, as a Singaporean myself not to fall for this utterly disgraceful and poorly written amateurish script called the Population Growth 2030 White Paper released by Singapore Govt...........

http://therealsingapore.com/content/it%E2%80%99s-propaganda-paper-disguised-white-paper

Actually, I concur with the writer that the white paper is actually propaganda to convince us.

[/quote]Ha ha, incidentally, me somehow have similar sentiments as you regarding the writer, was a bit :scratchhead: with the “analysis”, but didn’t want to say anything lah. Whatever it is, to me, white paper is propaganda.

sunflower

sunflower:
                        sleepy:

[quote=\"Harlequin\"]Relax, pals... it's not like the whole world of people is locking their migration target at Singapore, or there are no other attractive countries to accommodate them.

Yes there may be other attractive targets, perhaps even more attractive than Singapore. However Singapore is an easy migration target with wide open arms :frustrated:

You’re right, many treat this as a stepping stone to other “western” countries. My hubby encountered quite a number at his workplace, when after they’ve got the PR or have gained relevant trainings/experience, jump ship to other countries. They were unsuccessful in getting jobs or residency in the “western” countries initially, due to higher expectations/requirements, so come to Singapore first.[/quote]Think I better elaborate a little more before people start making assumptions and generalisations. Due to job nature, employees need to be proficient in English and possess certain job skills, so there aren’t any PRC people at hubby’s workplace so far.

What I’ve described is what’s happening at my hubby’s workplace, I do not know what’s the situation like in other companies. Ok, what irks is that these people, after company spent money, time and resources to train them, once got permit/PR, ran off at the first opportunity! Time, money and effort wasted because they did not stay on (or stayed long enough) to contribute. Company found it frustrating because need to look for people and train them all over again.

OK, share another story. Many years back, DD1 Childcare centre (CCC) got a teacher from PRC. The CCC arranged for her to go for courses and gave all relevant trainings, also helped her with the application for some kind of permit. Anyway, yah, as you guessed it, she wanted to leave once everything was settled. However, her colleagues advised her not to be so ungrateful, so she stayed on for one more year before she left. The main reason being she was staying at the other side of the island.

She was my DD1 N1 childcare Chinese teacher, who shared with me her story personally. BTW, she was a nice and dedicated teacher, so felt a bit sad at that time that she decided to leave.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 43 / 150

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring