Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
pirate:
No lah. Sky parks on top of the water tanks, which will also serve as ponds and water features in the sky park. Then wind turbines on top of sky parks. Solar panels on side walls facing afternoon sun. Swimming pool goes in the basement. Suntan use ultraviolet lamps. But HDB blocks have swimming pool quite an improvement from current ones liao.
No space on top of HDB. Got water tanks and sometimes double up as pool and jacuzzi for swimming and suntan. But nowsadays suntan might be a problem after they plan to install solar panels.sinoboy:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
Can put wind turbines on top of each HDB block in the future. Very the windy up there. :rotflmao:
[/quote] :rotflmao: might as well say with all the added humans, there should be a sizeable pool of bio-waste to collect and use as fuels
Effective meh? I remembered someone went pass that at airport, then develop symptoms AFTER she got home, during the SARS period. Anyway, better have something than nothing, right?
Thermal scanners at MRT Stations? :evil:Dora1:
I think most people in SG is not aware that flu can be deadly. The Spainish Flu was one of the most deadly epidemic in man kind history. And to control epidemics, it's not just hospitals, it's also containment etc. Luckily Sars hit SG before the influx of immigrants, if not I'm seriously not sure how we are going to control the situation. Imagine 1 SARS super spreader on mrt in the morning :scared:
ponyo:
:rotflmao: might as well say with all the added humans, there should be a sizeable pool of bio-waste to collect and use as fuels
No lah. Sky parks on top of the water tanks, which will also serve as ponds and water features in the sky park. Then wind turbines on top of sky parks. Solar panels on side walls facing afternoon sun. Swimming pool goes in the basement. Suntan use ultraviolet lamps. But HDB blocks have swimming pool quite an improvement from current ones liao.pirate:
[quote=\"sinoboy\"]
No space on top of HDB. Got water tanks and sometimes double up as pool and jacuzzi for swimming and suntan. But nowsadays suntan might be a problem after they plan to install solar panels.

[/quote] :rotflmao: Aiyoh, you all very the imaginative! :rotflmao:
sunflower:
:rotflmao: Aiyoh, you all very the imaginative! :rotflmao:[/quote]http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110608-282986.html :scared:
:rotflmao: might as well say with all the added humans, there should be a sizeable pool of bio-waste to collect and use as fuelsponyo:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
No lah. Sky parks on top of the water tanks, which will also serve as ponds and water features in the sky park. Then wind turbines on top of sky parks. Solar panels on side walls facing afternoon sun. Swimming pool goes in the basement. Suntan use ultraviolet lamps. But HDB blocks have swimming pool quite an improvement from current ones liao.

Moderation has been taken to embargo irrelevant side discussion regarding WWII scenarios.
[quote] THE Workers' Party opposes the Government's Population White Paper , said party chairman Sylvia Lim in Parliament today.
It believes that the Government, in expanding the population to reach its economic growth targets, has gotten its priorities the wrong way around, she said.
Ms Lim laid out the WP's stance on the first day of the parliamentary debate, setting the agenda for her party's nine MPs.
It proposes an alternative population projection of about 5.9 million by 2030, and a greater tradeoff between economic growth and population expansion.
Singapore should work towards a more modest Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth rate of 2.5 to 3 per cent to 2020, and 1.5 per cent to 2 per cent from 2020 to 2030.
This is about half a percentage point lower than the White Paper's projections.
Ms Lim also said that senior citizens \"are not as much of a burden\" as the Government is making them out to be.
A key plank of the White Paper's argument is that by 2030, there will only be 2.1 working citizens to support every person 65 years old and above, down from 5.9 now.
This assumes that senior citizens do not have economic resources of their own and will not be able to contribute to the economy, said Ms Lim. The WP believes they should be seen as resources, not burdens, she added.
Ms Lim also took aim at the Government's \"half-hearted\" attempts to boost the total fertility rate (TFR), which stems from the fact that immigration remains its key approach to augment the population. The Government seems \"resigned\" that the TFR will not improve greatly, and has not invested as much resources or tackled the issue as thoroughly as other counties like South Korea have done, she said.
In a parting shot, Ms Lim charged that the Population White Paper's title - \"A Sustainable Population for a Dynamic Singapore\" - illustrated the Government's muddled priorities. Rather, it should be titled \"A Dynamic Population for a Sustainable Singapore,\" she said. [/quote] -
Harlequin:
Harlequin's reply to another forum member just caught my eyes and would like to comment on the highlighted portion....Yap! It same like saying my tax is paying for this that this that thus I have a say....
nobody actually knows what goes to what... Do you?!
If you care to know, our taxes, duties, levies, etc; barely enough to pay xxx% of our yearly Budget, nia nia...
By the very humble way, a lowly construction worker with stinky armpits are paying quite a lot of levy compares to big group of minimal-income-group aka, tax-exempted-group.
:idea: Govt wants lots of FT to generate revenue from levy? Sooo...the more the merrier? :scratchhead: -
sunflower:
:yikes:
Harlequin's reply to another forum member just caught my eyes and would like to comment on the highlighted portion....Harlequin:
Yap! It same like saying my tax is paying for this that this that thus I have a say....
nobody actually knows what goes to what... Do you?!
If you care to know, our taxes, duties, levies, etc; barely enough to pay xxx% of our yearly Budget, nia nia...
By the very humble way, a lowly construction worker with stinky armpits are paying quite a lot of levy compares to big group of minimal-income-group aka, tax-exempted-group.
:idea: Govt wants lots of FT to generate revenue from levy? Sooo...the more the merrier? :scratchhead:
That is really eye-opening :moneyflies: -
sleepy:
:? I am also trying to see how could be possible greater good when being squeezed threefold?Dora1:
:siao: Hmmm now all the MIWs are busy explaining that we have ALL misinterpreted, the 6.9 million is worst case for their planning purposes and they are hoping that we wil NOT reach 6.9 million? Oh really? The entire SG and even the MSM all thought the same thing?If what PM Lee said is correct, then the whole panel of ministers led by TCH who held the press conference should be sacked, cannot even get the right message across. Why suddenly they can get the message across so clearly in 1 clarification?

I find it rather entertaining to watch the news nowadays - watch them nervously flipping their words
Obviously an urgent meeting was being held to synchronise sales pitch for white paper after causing such a hugh uproar
However, I'm most puzzled why do they want to commit political suicide :scratchhead: for the 'greater good' of Singapore's future :scratchhead:
Or they genuinely believe Singaporean will simply quietly embrace the white paper :scratchhead:
Their combined IQ way too high till commoners like me catch no ball le :siam: -
I do not think we are being squeezed. Look even the DPP another opposition party has apparently done its own number crunching and has a population projection figure even higher than White Paper :yikes:
Their projections released at the same time as announcing new members who happen to be architects with at least 1 of the architects a former Govt. scholar with URA. These architects appear to have been involved in the number crunching of the DPP position paper.
So come on people let us not get worked up over numbers and look beyond that to see what actually Singapore needs to do.
The White Paper has spurred debate which is good and now let us put on our thinking caps :idea: and examine the various proposals and come up with what will work for Singapore.
I think KSPs should read the position papers of the NSP, WP, DPP and compare those with White Paper. Let us not :spank: the White Paper just because it was issued by the Govt. and communicated poorly to the citizens :slapshead:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.