Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
WeiHan:
Yah lor hor, I bet Singaporeans are more interested in movements in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) than they are about future crowding in our own country!
Pink dot is probably 15,000.sleepy:
Just realized today's turn up at hong lim is fewer than pink dot event
http://pinkdot.sg/more-than-15000-singaporeans-at-pink-dot-2012/ -
well, we're certainly not alone... so deja vu...
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2247258/Immigration-Labours-unforgivable-betrayal-British-people.html
[quote]The 2011 census figures for England and Wales broadly confirm what we already knew. Since the previous census in 2001 there was an unprecedented surge in the number of immigrants coming to this country.
Nearly four million arrived in a very short space of time. There are now 7.5 million people living in England and Wales who were born abroad. In London, the transformation has been so rapid that less than half the population now describe themselves as white British.
This is the way I see it. We supposedly live in a democracy. That means we should have a say in the way our country develops. Of course, we are not all going to agree. But, in fact, immigration is one area in which most people do see eye to eye. They are in favour of it, but want it to be controlled.[/quote] -
pirate:
WeiHan:
the most puzzling part is that using population increase to achieve growth has already been a strategy for the past 15 years, and so, why is there a need to a White Paper? Aren't they just continuing with an old idea?
Because they are shifting to a strategy to slow down the population increase, which is likely to result in lower growth in the future. This is a new idea, so they don't want Singaporeans to kpkb if they do as you guys want and the slower growth results in fewer good jobs for those aspiring to be PMETs - which is what 'slower growth' usually means.
Haha, this pirate has sailed the seven seas!
We have to be careful of what we wish for. -
\"When it comes to what qualities immigrants should have to be considered Singaporean, 69% of Singapore-born citizens said they should send their male children to serve NS.
However, only 43% of foreign-born citizens thought so.\"
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Singaporeans ask for it! Foreigners didn't! -
A friend of mine, Singaporean, hated NS. Hated how people say it is for good of the nation, hated how it slowed him down in his advancement in education, hated how people like to say how NS makes "boys to men" (incidentally, he’s an ardent PAP supporter, but this isn’t my main point).
He did not think NS should be compulsory, and wished that his children need not do NS. Looking at his FB, I realized that his wish had been granted - he has 2 girls, no boys, and have no plans to have more children. Interesting. -
Sun_2010:
Oh no, no…of course we need to plan and prepare. We can’t wait for solutions to manifest themselves. We need, however, to PURSUE the solutions with the right motive. It seems to me though, that the brainstorming might have been constrained or limited.
Definitely.sunflower:
I feel that we should not possess only one-way-track thinking that increasing population is the ONLY way to achieve desired growth. With re-structuring, re-engineering, creative innovations etc, who knows, (and may Singapore be the first to be able to prove it), we may be able to overcome the problem of population dilemma after all!
There must be a different way. It probably needs a totally different minset to think of it. The Govt more than others must be desparate to find solutions too. Till then what? We dont plan, we dont have a road map? We dont prepare ?
Hmmm… how should I put it, let’s just say that I did not have the impression that exhaustive and thorough thought process had gone into producing the White Paper. -
pirate:
There is no evidence that the liberal population of the past 15 years have gave SCs more PMET jobs. In fact, wages were depressed because of foreign workers. Structural unemployment in the PMET section remains unsolved due to cheap PMET foreign workers displacing those above 40s. What you say is almost like pouring milk into a upside down cup.WeiHan:
the most puzzling part is that using population increase to achieve growth has already been a strategy for the past 15 years, and so, why is there a need to a White Paper? Aren't they just continuing with an old idea?
Because they are shifting to a strategy to slow down the population increase, which is likely to result in lower growth in the future. This is a new idea, so they don't want Singaporeans to kpkb if they do as you guys want and the slower growth results in fewer good jobs for those aspiring to be PMETs - which is what 'slower growth' usually means. -
There is this thing circulating around:
Did you ever wonder why they use 6.9M as the population estimate and not
7.0M? After all it's only an estimate.
Why did they use the figure of 6.9 M instead of a round figure of 7M?
Please take your calculator:
Since the population will grow from 5,300,000 to 6,900,000 from 2013
until 2030 ( 18 years )
6,900,000 minus 5,300,000 = 1,600,000
Divide it by 18 years and see what you get!!
------>88,888
But, if you use 7,000,000 minus 5,300,000 = 1,700,000
Divide by 18 years will give 94,444.44444 .... that will be to die
forever!...
There is no evidence that the liberal population of the past 15 years have gave SCs more PMET jobs. In fact, wages were depressed because of foreign workers. Structural unemployment in the PMET section remains unsolved due to cheap PMET foreign workers displacing those above 40s. What you say is almost like pouring milk into a upside down cup.
Says you. Maybe PMET salaries are inflated because companies can get cheap foreign production, operation and service workers? :evil:
The current requirement for a Q1 employment pass is \"at least\" $3,000 a month (for a young graduate \"from good quality institutions\"; \"older applicants would have to command higher salaries to qualify\"). A P2 EP is $4,500. So, which do you think the gov's priority should be from here onwards? The PMETs priced out at $3,000/$4,500 or the workers at $700-$2,000?
Without frontline production, operation and service workers, who are we supposed to \"PMET\" over? -
Do we have real statistics to show how many jobs were lost to cheap PMETs? With a low unemployment rate of 2% (2012), i cannot understand where did the job loss happened?
In my company, we always want to hire Singaporeans first…however, we often could not find Singaporeans who want to take up the job…citing low pay lah (in my humble opinion I think the pay is decent), distance too far lah…etc. And we have no choice but to go for foreigners…
It is the same situations that we see in F&B…singaporeans just doesn’t want to take on these "tough" jobs…hence we have to look elsewhere to find the labour…
Again my own philosophy is why did we even allow ourselves to be in a situation where we are displaced by cheap PMET? We need to manage our own career and look at the ever changing environment and be smart enough to aniticipate any changes that comes along…and we are talking about PMET here…smarter people who should know what they need to do to protect themselves…why wait for the government to come protect you?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.