桃花谈
my centres don't have either one of these.since your childcare centres deal with many young children everyday -
do your childcare centre teach pre-school kids \"Di Zi Gui\" or \"San Zi Jin\" ?
if not these method, can share with us what method you teach toddlers / pre-school kids - how to sow a good seed in their hearts ?
children this age can only memorise the words and not so much of the meanings. The meanings will come if they are being reinforced along the years and when continue to mature.
a large % of children don't have this luck of having this reinforcement at home and in their pr and sec schools and so most of these recitations may remain as 'sounds' if they still manage to remember else most if not all will be gone by the time they hit upper primary.
that's the main problem of Chinese standard is declining in Singapore with many parents cannot cope with more advance Chinese itself (like Chief and Funz?) and therefore, little hope can be pinned on the subsequent generations to really pick up the real solid 忠孝仁爱、礼义廉耻.
home environment is still the best if want to inculcate all these values.
when di zi gui and san zi jin are taught to preschoolers, to me the main purpose is more for them to 'exercise' the fine muscles in their mouths for better articulation of Chinese speech (Eng and Chinese speech use different areas of fine muscles in the mouth. If don't 'loosen' the 'Chinese fine muscles' in the mouth, then the child may speak Mandarin like English). They are more like 'rhymes' for preschoolers, similar to reciting 'Humpty Dumpty'...
This thing requires a lot of follow up via applications in daily life in order to internalise, else will be quite futile...
PS:
Small thing as 'innocent' as like playing Angry Birds...this is a terrible game for kids to play coz it 'teaches' all the wrong values. How to teach Di Zi Gui while playing Angry Birds at the same time? Just cannot gel coz words and actions cannot match...
Actually don't need to teach kids San Zi Jin, parents have to learn it first, then right themselves as examples, then the kids will have more hope.
PS2:
I am against all these 'innocent' games that really rob our kids of their innocence and to see kids start playing at around 2+, I really feel very sad in a way... -
mummy of 2:
If the angle is from \"take advantage\", of course it is 不孝. It will be 超级不孝 to make use of parents' love or anyone else's love to accomplish selfish needs.Insider
If someone takes advantage of her parents love to get money from them in order to be sahm, and the parents agree willingly, is it considered 不孝? Just to add on, the parents are no longer working and are not super rich type.
Thanks.
But if the child is in financial difficulties and really needs money and parents provide willingly, then it's ok.
The 'intent' is always very important... -
For Di Zi Gui, I have heard cases of kids questioning the parents’ sincerity in trying to model the teachings to them.
insider:
Thanks for your reply. The person I'm referring to is actually my sil aka hubby's sister. I guess it's impossible to say for sure but I would she is not in financial difficulty as in she can choose to continue working rather than be sahm. Her children are not special needs and she is not 'required' to look after them herself. Or she can choose to spend less on a single income. Initially she wanted to buy over ils flat at less than half the market price. Mil was agreeable and DH did not object also. I was the only one who felt it was wrong. I finally let DH see that it wasn't fair to his parents. Eventually she rented out her own flat at market price and moved into ils flat. She gave ils a token rental every month and used the extra for her own family expenses. Ils are living with us and had been renting out the flat at market rate previously. I always felt it was terrible of her for trying to get ils to sell their flat to her for so little. Initially DH even felt I was wrong to want to interfere since it was between his parents and sis. Now I see her planning to spend her money on things I deem as unnecessary such as $400+ per month playgroup. I feel quite upset by that.
If the angle is from \"take advantage\", of course it is 不孝. It will be 超级不孝 to make use of parents' love or anyone else's love to accomplish selfish needs.mummy of 2:
Insider
If someone takes advantage of her parents love to get money from them in order to be sahm, and the parents agree willingly, is it considered 不孝? Just to add on, the parents are no longer working and are not super rich type.
Thanks.
But if the child is in financial difficulties and really needs money and parents provide willingly, then it's ok.
The 'intent' is always very important... -
insider:
I Kaisu...Master is teaching me to get ready for Food Crisis...So must train to eat 2 meals a day...if possible... :evil: :evil:PART 2 – dolphinsiah
Emmm… if you are taking two meals per day is because you want to stay fit, then it’s ok. BUT if you do that coz you want to save money,you may have sown very very bad seeding in your kids. We would never want to make another person, esp someone whom we love, to feel 内疚 coz 内疚 is very negative energy and you may have set him/her up for unnecessary obstacles ahead with these feelings (心有内疚 = 业障 = 不顺利). Please go eat well if your intention is not to stay fit.
The whole thing therefore still boils down to your own well being.
You need to eat well, dress well, mingle well with friends, and live well.
You need to be ENJOYING LIFE and SHINE. (oh, come on, you CAN!)
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8iJ69Z0O9o][/youtube] -
dolphinsiah:
净空法师回答:出家人会看风水吗?
:thankyou: insider -reading what you are sharing in this thread is a good learning journey for me....insider:
Fengshui is true but this 'Truth' can be misleading, like Macbeth and the Witches...
Fengshui can be used to change the Qi of a place to help a person.
As I said before, we are embedded with positive and negative seeds in us. By using Fengshui, we are trying to use the Qi that Fengshui manages to change to activate the good seeds in us so that good things can happen. Hopefully by activating the good seeds (such as family will have lesser quarrels, get more $$$, etc), the family can be more peaceful and more bad seeds will not be sown. This is the positive part of REAL fengshui.
However, by doing so will not get rid of any of the inherent bad seeds already embedded in us.
We take a simple example of someone having the below embedded seeds in him – 10 good and 10 bad:
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
With the help of a GOOD Fengshui Master (not 骗吃 type huh), someone may experience the sequence of events as below:
++++++++++ ----------
That person may feel life to be very smooth. Spouse and kids guai guai, career smooth, money comes easy. Please note that that person needs to have these original good seeds in order for the Qi of Fengshui to activate. If no such good seeds, then fengshui is not useful. So, basically, one is just using fengshui to ‘realise’ the ‘maturity’ of good seeds earlier.
But then if this someone does not go on to cultivate more good seeds, then the good seeds will slowly diminish. Or, if the Qi of fengshui is suddenly ‘broken’ due to whatsoever reasons, then the ‘suppressed’ negative seeds will start to show up in consecutive manner and this can be a very scary thing.
For example, someone may experience a very smooth life by using Fengshui, then for a certain period in his life, he suddenly loses his job, loses his child, goes into bankruptcy, enters into divorce, etc, at about the same time. Coz these things happen one by one, this person may not be able to take the blows one after another. If he is not strong, he may die.
Bad things happen now and then for good purposes. If they happen sporadically, it builds strength into us to face more and more challenges coming ahead of everyone of us. If one’s life has always been smooth is not actually a good thing over the long run. Bad things actually let us appreciate good things more instead of having the tendency of taking things for granted...(阴 vs 阳 concept that these two are always relative and balanced).
So in summary, Fengshui activates good seeds but do nothing to the bad seeds. These bad seeds can only delay their maturity time but they will mature sooner or later if the carrier doesn’t want to do anything kind to counter the effects of these bad seeds when they mature……
So, it’s still must do good deeds to cultivate good seeds coz of really you reap what you sow. ..
PS:
I am not against Fengshui per se. I use little items in my office to create money Qi. However, I will not go for full scale fengshui in my house coz I know I can create the Qi myself and to engage other family members to create the Qi to activate our own good seeds naturally. I welcome problems for everyone in my house – coz that builds strength while getting rid of some negative seeds at the same time. Therefore, my strong belief of nothing can kill me. If problems want to come, come lor. See one, solve one…
For those who are using small little things to change the Qi of a house (such as using 文昌塔), those are OK. Just don't attempt to change too much. There's really nothing better than Nature and we know how powerful Nature is...
Always 可信不可迷......
PS2 as add on:
I go back to my Money Bowl Theory that each of us comes to this world with a Bowl Size more or less fixed (changable by the good and bad things we continue to do).
For example (very simple one), someone's Money Bowl needs to go through the below cycle:
---++++-++-++++++- = net 7 pluses in life
By using Fengshui, one maybe able to activate all the money to come in first:
++++++++++++ ----- = net 7 pluses in life
So this person will have the following probable 下场:
1. got money when young but poor when old.
2. got money throughout his life but all his negatives he has to bring to his next life (or leave to his offsprings to settle).
So, you still can hope to get Money by using small fengshui items but should never go into 强求 extent with a massive 风水阵......
I fully agree with you on thoughts about Fengshui.....
I do not know whether Fengshui Masters will share the side effects about Fengshui....
But what you have pointed out the cons of FengShui ... has happened to my family...
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KtHn_bb05uA][/youtube] -
mummy so kiasu:
What about scolding kids out of anger but don't really mean what we say? Will we end up hurting them unintentionally (beside emotionally)? Quite tough to change our habit or character within a short period of time.
Yes, it's really very difficult to change our habit or character. I tried to control but failed last week. Out of 5 days, I shouted at the kids for 3 days. Sigh.... My DS2 still so cute leh, told me that I can shout if I'm scared, don't control. -
Giggler1:
ya lor...difficult to control esp knowing that they purposely do it to go against u....But really really try.....mummy so kiasu:
What about scolding kids out of anger but don't really mean what we say? Will we end up hurting them unintentionally (beside emotionally)? Quite tough to change our habit or character within a short period of time.
Yes, it's really very difficult to change our habit or character. I tried to control but failed last week. Out of 5 days, I shouted at the kids for 3 days. Sigh.... My DS2 still so cute leh, told me that I can shout if I'm scared, don't control.
I always told my boy pls don't do things to agitate mummy...U r good boy,right? Can I trust that u'll be obedient today?Sometx,do work if i give him a bit of reward....I find giving stern look wf deep voice warning work \"sometx\", -
I don’t think they really do it purposely to atangonise us the parents. Heehee
:thankyou: dolphinsiah for the video clips.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.