Me Time!

36.2k Posts 331 Posters 3.2m Views 2 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

kids_r_innocent:
      MrsKiasu:

made charsiewbao. better than previous time but still have lots of room for improvement. luckily I followed recipe on sugar so taste wise can pass i think. next, looking at big bao/ramen/broth/egg etc :rahrah:

Woah MK!! Can I go over to ur place?? So many things to eat.

:rotflmao: but still has a long way to go before can share it with others lei kri. can only for own consumption πŸ˜† was looking at youtube for bone broth and came across the lamian, by hand twist and hit the dough looks so interesting. if only i can do it, want to try πŸ˜‚

wow MKS,

so you have been busy experimenting in the kitchen. no wonder no posts from you. wow, your girls have lots of 口福.

• Imp75I Offline
          Imp75

Sun_2010:
          Imp75:

So I went to both top girl schools open houses recently. It is my first time doing so although I have been to one of the girl school several times by now. Culturally I realized both schools are very different. I wonder how many girls are actually like that in that school or is the open house more a faΓ§ade than reality? I try to match my kids to the school's culture by looking at the behavior displayed at the open house. Is that realistic?

For me ,
          I like to talk to the students about their experience , personalise the questions- what do they like the most in sec school , how is sec school diff from pri, what they found tough to adjust, which subject they like, how is that teacher , how do the teachers help if a student is on mc, or goes to attend competition, CCAs experience and commitment, what time they sleep, ... Talk to a few , do remember that experience is dependent more on the personality of the child than just the school. I just like to know if the children are really liking their school, is there a joy , enthu when they talk about things they say they like, are they at home ...

Thanks. Going to more OH this weekend be sure to stop the girls and ask questions.
          Most of all, I would like to find out how much community involvement the girls have in their school or otherwise, I can't seem to find a good answer......I believe in giving back to the community and I hope the school preach that too....this dept seems to be a bit lacking I feel, in the OH as parents are busy asking other typical questions that everyone already knows.

• Imp75I Offline
            Imp75

Sun_2010:
            Imp75:

So I went to both top girl schools open houses recently. It is my first time doing so although I have been to one of the girl school several times by now. Culturally I realized both schools are very different. I wonder how many girls are actually like that in that school or is the open house more a faΓ§ade than reality? I try to match my kids to the school's culture by looking at the behavior displayed at the open house. Is that realistic?

For me ,
            I like to talk to the students about their experience , personalise the questions- what do they like the most in sec school , how is sec school diff from pri, what they found tough to adjust, which subject they like, how is that teacher , how do the teachers help if a student is on mc, or goes to attend competition, CCAs experience and commitment, what time they sleep, ... Talk to a few , do remember that experience is dependent more on the personality of the child than just the school. I just like to know if the children are really liking their school, is there a joy , enthu when they talk about things they say they like, are they at home ...

Thanks. Going to more OH this weekend be sure to stop the girls and ask questions.
            Most of all, I would like to find out how much community involvement the girls have in their school or otherwise, I can't seem to find a good answer......I believe in giving back to the community and I hope the school preaches that too....this dept seems to be a bit lacking I feel, in the OH as parents are busy asking other typical questions that everyone already knows.

kids_r_innocent

MrsKiasu:
              kids_r_innocent:

[quote=\"MrsKiasu\"]made charsiewbao. better than previous time but still have lots of room for improvement. luckily I followed recipe on sugar so taste wise can pass i think. next, looking at big bao/ramen/broth/egg etc :rahrah:

:rotflmao: but still has a long way to go before can share it with others lei kri. can only for own consumption πŸ˜† was looking at youtube for bone broth and came across the lamian, by hand twist and hit the dough looks so interesting. if only i can do it, want to try πŸ˜‚[/quote]I will be waiting :drool:

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                MrsKiasu

janet88:
                wow MKS,

so you have been busy experimenting in the kitchen. no wonder no posts from you. wow, your girls have lots of 口福.
                Ya lor, seems to got bitten by cooking/baking bug. .I do feel guilty ..but but never mind la I don't watch TV I kept telling myself πŸ˜‚

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                  MrsKiasu

kids_r_innocent:
                  MrsKiasu:

[quote=\"kids_r_innocent\"]

:rotflmao: but still has a long way to go before can share it with others lei kri. can only for own consumption πŸ˜† was looking at youtube for bone broth and came across the lamian, by hand twist and hit the dough looks so interesting. if only i can do it, want to try πŸ˜‚

I will be waiting :drool:[/quote]I asked dd, the Pau not fluffy hor abit hard right..Dd been so supportive. told me she once ate the yam Pau from canteen..told me theirs also hard leh πŸ˜‚ my dd is not a picky eater btw πŸ˜†

• MyPillowM Offline
                    MyPillow

MrsKiasu:
                    janet88:

wow MKS,

Ya lor, seems to got bitten by cooking/baking bug. .I do feel guilty ..but but never mind la I don't watch TV I kept telling myself πŸ˜‚

Nothing to be guilty about , even watching tv is not a guilt crime la.
                    Just b careful dun let your girls over eat n grow fat fat lei :p.
                    Make so much food , can finish ?

MyPillow:

mummy's cooking is healthy. as long as kids enjoy, putting on a little weight during the holidays is fine.

ammonite

janet88:
                        MyPillow:

mummy's cooking is healthy. as long as kids enjoy, putting on a little weight during the holidays is fine.

Not always! I am making bacon fried rice for my boys - i don't think that is very healthy at all πŸ˜“ just maybe less unhealthy than a commercial version.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 875 / 3616