Teeth Grinding
hi usiak
May I know how old is your son? I just wonder how come little kids will under stressed-induced? my one only 4 yr. -
Stress in kids can be quite simple - if for some reason the child has been upset before bedtime, eg. got scolded for being naughty, threw tantrums, etc. then she'll go to bed stressed.
When my DD is stressed like this, there would be a very good chance she'll wake up in the middle of the night crying (i.e. bad dream).
When she was younger, I'm pretty sure it contributed to her teeth grinding.
So try not to upset the kids just before bedtime. If they do, calm them down before they go to sleep.
Also, at least in the case of my DD, if she's fooling around noisily, playing boisterously, screaming away, running around, just before bedtime - 80% chance of a bad dream/night terror.
It's very accurate, like clockwork - my DW and I can predict when she'll have them. So, we do our best to shush her up before bedtime.
Anyway, as far as teeth grinding is concerned, my DD, now 7, has grown out of it.
She ground her teeth around age 4-5 IIRC.
So, probably no need to worry too much about it. Kids will grow out of it.insider:
My friend's hubby went dentist today to check on his teeth (his grinds a lot at night). He has to crown three of them at the cost of.... S$1,200 PER TOOTH!!! (and after that must wear a guard when sleeping).
insider - your friend's hubby should've tried my technique (verbally tell him to stop grinding even if he's sound asleep). I charge only $100 for this advice, can save your friend $3500. . .
Addoil:
Too much Wii Rayman Raving Rabbids? Too much sugar? Too much Yue Niang (or whatever she's called)? Reasons a plentyhi usiak
May I know how old is your son? I just wonder how come little kids will under stressed-induced? my one only 4 yr.
ya! yesterday night he was grinded his teeth and keep shouted " No NO No!" This morning I ask him what inside his dream yesterday nite, he said xx hit him (one of his schoolmate), the teacher told me b4, these 2 boy like to play "fighting" during the class.
Ooooooh…
This is so new to me.
None of us ever had this thing
called teeth grinding before…
Mebbe i shud double check with
my folks and write in again…
Its a good thing, right?
That we dun have it? -
\"We\" as in your family or \"we\" as in our generation? Cos I had this problem from waaay back but becos I slept alone, no one told me I was grinding my teeth in my sleep. My dentist only briefly mentioned that my molars were rather worn out when I was a teen. Back then, I thought it was due to me liking chewy sweets and chewing gum and teeth grinding wasn't much of an issue with dentists too.Ooooooh....
This is so new to me.
None of us ever had this thing
called teeth grinding before..
Mebbe i shud double check with
my folks and write in again..
Its a good thing, right?
That we dun have it?
Only after I got married did my DH complain about it. And as you can read from his (sashimi's) post on the previous page, his method seems to have worked. Or maybe I'm just less stressed now. (Not no stress, just less.
)
Heyya schellen,
Its "we" as in my 2 kiddies, my hubs and I.
Oh, this teeth grinding thingy is hereditary? -
There's a Q&A in the newspaper (Mind and Body or sth like that) today on teeth grinding.

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]
Anyone encounter with young kids having teeth grinding??
Recently noticed that my ds is grinding his teeth during his sleep. Not really bad, but the grinding sound can be heard. Told my dh about son having this problem, he told me \"not first time liao lor\" :rant: As if no bother him at all!
Is it ok/harmful for young kid to have this problem? Could he be under too much stress (for preparation SA)? Any cure to this? Or just leave it?
So far i noticed ds teeth grinding once only, cos i am a deep sleeper. In fact on that night, i can't even get myself out of the bed to look at him. Me simply :love: being with ZHOU GONG...... -
grind teeth still ok. my boy sleepwalk. quite dangerous I feel.
some said teeth grinding is due to heatiness in the body. some said due to stress or teeth alignment. to be sure it doesn’t cause any problem, bring him see a dentist.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.