Teeth Grinding

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    70 Posts 39 Posters 27.4k Views 1 Watching
      Luvkid

smurf:
      grind teeth still ok. my boy sleepwalk. quite dangerous I feel.

some said teeth grinding is due to heatiness in the body. some said due to stress or teeth alignment. to be sure it doesn't cause any problem, bring him see a dentist. šŸ˜Ž
      Sleepwalking is really dangerous. U can't sleep deeply, i guess?

Thanks to yr suggestion, will try to monitor ds more often since now has been free from stress. Problem lies on me, :love: :love: sleep soooooo much....

Luvkid:

Anyone encounter with young kids having teeth grinding??
        Hi Luvkid,
        You must have missed http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1185&start=0... šŸ˜‰

smurf

no problem. I presume he is 7 year old? by then, shouldn't be because of baby teeth bah, as wat some dentists said (they said because baby teeth are not proper teeth, so grind teeth is normal). more likely is teeth misalignment or some other issues.

hmm, for my boy, I cant't sleep very tight, cos worry for him. once he sleepwalk, came out from the room, and push the wall like pushing door. he continued doing that until I intervented and stopped him. brought him back to his mattress. šŸ™

smurf

so far he sleepwalked twice only (as far as I know la). once was the above incident, the other I can't remember. but it's only like in the recent months, so I didn't really seek medical help yet. will continue to monitor lor. if problem persists, will bring him see dr. but I see improvement in his behaviour recently after changing the way I talk to him (*cross finger*). šŸ˜‰

Luvkid

Hi Luvkid,

You must have missed http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1185&start=0... šŸ˜‰
              Ya, was searching for this issue last nite, didn't really search well. Will read thru the previous post.

Thanks, chief for merging with the previous thread.

Luvkid

smurf:
                no problem. I presume he is 7 year old? by then, shouldn't be because of baby teeth bah, as wat some dentists said (they said because baby teeth are not proper teeth, so grind teeth is normal). more likely is teeth misalignment or some other issues.

Ya, my boy at 7. His 6 to 7 baby tooth has been replacing by his permanent tooth, though 1 or 2 are yet to erupted.

smurf, u ought to watch closely for your boy's case.

hairuliza

So if my hubby grinds his teeth when he sleeps, can I safely assume that it's because of his misaligned teeth instead of some other health-related issue? šŸ˜‰

Maybe can coax him to wear braces now...

smurf

for adult, it may be stress or other issues or heatiness as some old people may say. best is to see a dentist or doctor.

• tankeeT Offline
                      tankee

sashimi:
                      My wife and daughter do it occasionally. Used to be more often. I also think it's because of stress.

On a hunch, since it could have psychological reasons, I tried an experiment. Whenever my wife did it (and woke me up) I would tell her not to do it - she's still asleep but I know her brain is listening. Curiously this seems to work. Unless it's just coincidental.

Since otherwise there is no direct/active solution to this, no harm trying. šŸ™‚

wouldn't telling her not to do it give her more stress?

schellen

tonypang:
                        wouldn't telling her not to do it give her more stress?

No leh. Now I don't grind my teeth and if I do (which was recently), I will examine case-by-case to see if I'm stressed over something (which I usually am!). I also hate grinding my teeth when I sleep cos when I wake up, my jaws will feel sore.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 7