Birth Control Methods
schellen:
Heyya schellen, i just had to dig this up.sashimi:
Oh one other advantage of the IUS is that you only have to face the cashier once, whereas condoms... wahlao, how many times do you get a male cashier at watsons?
sashimi forget to mention another benefit of \"buying\" IUD/IUS as opposed to condoms; not only do you only face the cashier once, this transaction is done in a place where people already know what you are there for and the cashier is also understanding and discreet.
I was telling hubs how you're preggie &
stuff... then i remembered... :idea: Yah!
What happened to Mirena?
Don't worry. It was a planned pregnancy (like the first one). My Mirena was due to be replaced so we decided to take it out and let my cycle run once before trying. Doc even joked about how fertile I was when I got pregnant immediately after just 1 cycle. :roll: I was surprised too since for DD1, we took 6 months and were feeling rather demoralised since we read that young, healthy couples (back then lah) usually need up to 6 months or else may need to seek help. At my next visit, I'm gonna ask my doc how soon I can get it inserted again after delivery since I hate periods.Heyya schellen, i just had to dig this up.
What happened to Mirena?
Okay, thanks schellen... cos i may seriously
consider it... i honestly hate rubber.
I'll ask the gynae when i go for my follow up
examination @ the hospital soon. Geez... hope
everything will be fine. We (women) hor got so
many woman-problem... :roll:
Menz lah.. ( :roll: )
Preggie lah.. (
)
Birthing lah.. (Ouch)
Birth control lah.. ( :lol: )
Almost like a lot of ailments are for women.
schellen:
Congratulations Schellen and Sashimi! When's EDD?
Don't worry. It was a planned pregnancy (like the first one).buds:
Heyya schellen, i just had to dig this up.
What happened to Mirena?
sashimi and I hated rubber from the very first day we used it. So we were very happy when we could forgo it when planning for DD1. After the delivery, my gynae asked me about birth control and he suggested IUCD before I finally settled on Mirena.Okay, thanks schellen... cos i may seriously
Don't balk at the cost. Just think of how long you can use it for and divide the cost by the no. of days/times Mirena will be useful. Remember to include the monetary and non-monetary benefits of not having periods, washing stains and buying pads for a long, long time. -
Andaiz:
Congratulations Schellen and Sashimi! When's EDD?
Thanks! EDD is mid-Dec. -
schellen:
DH didn't even used rubber since the first day of our marriage. That's how we got DS1 by accident :oops:. Can you imagine we practised withdrawal throughout?
sashimi and I hated rubber from the very first day we used it. So we were very happy when we could forgo it when planning for DD1. After the delivery, my gynae asked me about birth control and he suggested IUCD before I finally settled on Mirena.buds:
Okay, thanks schellen... cos i may seriously
Don't balk at the cost. Just think of how long you can use it for and divide the cost by the no. of days/times Mirena will be useful. Remember to include the monetary and non-monetary benefits of not having periods, washing stains and buying pads for a long, long time.
Mirena is much cheaper considering the benefits. But I really hate the withdrawing and inserting of the thingy. I used to scream throughout the ordeal that the mummies outside the clinic could hear me loud and clear (they must have thot I was giving birth without anaesthetic). I really hated this part. It's so.... sensitive, imagine my gynae a male, got to sit on a tilted chair (except that the legs are on top, face bottom) with legs up wide facing gynae, and a huge light flashing on that part while he does the inserting of the mirena. It's a total nightmare for me.
But schellen, didn't your gynae told you to stay away from the act after withdrawal of the Mirena and let your womb 'rest' before getting preggy? Mine told me that I needed at least 3 months of 'rest'. -
winth:
DH didn't even used rubber since the first day of our marriage. That's how we got DS1 by accident :oops:. Can you imagine we practised withdrawal throughout?
Hubs decided on rubber only after DD1 was about a few months old.
We honestly thought that we'd work on raising one well enough 1st
before getting another... plus both of us were trying to climb the
corporate ladder... To top it off, i was studying as well. Wuah, never
use rubber but practise withdrawal? Where got shiok like that...
It's like coming in warm and left out in the cold.
After one nite
of aaahh... to heck with rubber... pop goes the weasel, boy! :lol:
Never play truant with Durex. Mwahahaa! :rotflmao:winth:
Can someone share how much the Mirena is? Thanks in advance...Mirena is much cheaper considering the benefits.
winth:
:!: WINTH!!! Wah lao, you're scaring the ghost in me leh!But I really hate the withdrawing and inserting of the thingy. I used to scream throughout the ordeal that the mummies outside the clinic could hear me loud and clear (they must have thot I was giving birth without anaesthetic). I really hated this part. It's so.... sensitive, imagine my gynae a male, got to sit on a tilted chair (except that the legs are on top, face bottom) with legs up wide facing gynae, and a huge light flashing on that part while he does the inserting of the mirena. It's a total nightmare for me.
Schellen... wud you mind give your account? I'm beginning
to have pre-Mirena jitters now...
:scared: :faint:winth:
But schellen, didn't your gynae told you to stay away from the act after withdrawal of the Mirena and let your womb 'rest' before getting preggy? Mine told me that I needed at least 3 months of 'rest'.
Wow, 3 mths is a heck of a long time not getting laid, boy..
If I remember correctly, think it cost between 300-500 for IUCD/Mirena (got different versions). I'm currently on the the one which was slightly cheaper, which also lasted 5 years but normal menz flow.winth:
Mirena is much cheaper considering the benefits.
Can someone share how much the Mirena is? Thanks in advance...
After DS1, I chose the most expensive one, to last 5 years with little menz flow. I wonder if that birth control did anything to my hormones, I totally hated intercourse cos it was very 'dry'. But I must say, I only needed panty liners throughout the menstrual cycle.
4 years later, after DS2, I chose this current birth control (I think the gynae calls it IUCD, actually I still can't tell the difference between Mirena and IUCD :oops:) and though menz flow was back to normal, intercourse was much more enjoyable.buds:
Don't worry lar, not all gynaes use the 'scary chair'. I changed a gynae under my ex-coll's recommendation for my yearly check-up. And she only ask me to lie on a normal, non-reclining bed. There was no strong light shining on 'it' to make 'it' hot and stiff. My coll told me that even with insertion of birth control, there was no 'scary chair' either. I kinda regretted going for my old gynae and endured that 'scary chair' for so many years.
:!: WINTH!!! Wah lao, you're scaring the ghost in me leh!winth:
But I really hate the withdrawing and inserting of the thingy. I used to scream throughout the ordeal that the mummies outside the clinic could hear me loud and clear (they must have thot I was giving birth without anaesthetic). I really hated this part. It's so.... sensitive, imagine my gynae a male, got to sit on a tilted chair (except that the legs are on top, face bottom) with legs up wide facing gynae, and a huge light flashing on that part while he does the inserting of the mirena. It's a total nightmare for me.
Schellen... wud you mind give your account? I'm beginning
to have pre-Mirena jitters now...
:scared: :faint:buds:
We took the safety route - 6 months ah!winth:
But schellen, didn't your gynae told you to stay away from the act after withdrawal of the Mirena and let your womb 'rest' before getting preggy? Mine told me that I needed at least 3 months of 'rest'.
Wow, 3 mths is a heck of a long time not getting laid, boy..

My whole pregnancy was very drama one cos DH was so worried about 'hurting' my womb or cause a deformed 'egg' due to the birth control. Then when I preggy, DH was worried about hurting the unborn. So all in all, it's a 6 months of 'resting' + 9 months of pregnancy 'resting'. -
buds, my "ordeal" was only when I was using the IUCD. It worsened my periods. I already had heavy flow, averaging a week and with severe cramps and nausea/vomiting on the first few days. So when I used IUCD, my flow got even heavier (dunno how my body did that but it sure did!), my period lasted more than a week and my cramps lasted more days! I even got severe back pain. I got so irritable, sashimi and I agreed to give it up after 6 months. (Doc said most womenβs bodies take about 3-4 months to "stabilise" after insertion of IUCD.) By then, we had found out about Mirena so I asked for it instead. I think it costs at least $500 (5 years ago), and it lasted for at least 5 years.
Unlike winth, my period slowly trickled until there was nothing left within 2-3 months. No cramps or back pain either. I passed all my pads to my sis. During insertion, there was no fear at all. The only discomfort (no actual sharp pain) was during the actual insertion and slight crampy feeling afterwards for a number of hours. I also wore a pantyliner for that day. Then, just follow up with another visit to the doc about a week later to check that the thing is still in place since expulsion or any other signs of rejection by your body will occur within a week or so of insertion. After insertion, my doc didnβt dare to cut the string too short so I could still feel it there. So one week later, I asked him to trim it so that I wouldnβt feel it at all.
I read that the benefit of Mirena is that your cycle will return immediately once you remove it. My doc only told me to wait for one cycle to confirm that my "system" is up and running again before trying for DD2. So I only waited for a month. Iβve never heard of waiting for 3 months.
Removal is easier since the doc just needs to check that it is still there, and the position is appropriate for easy removal. My doc just nudged it about to loosen it before pulling. Again, only discomfort that he warned me about just before I felt it, and the thing was out. I just felt crampy for a while and used a pantyliner for a day, just in case.
P.S. My doc did offer me the pill since he felt that rubber wasnβt for me cos I told him that we werenβt even sure if we would have another child back then. I declined cos I read about the side effects and knew that there was no way I could escape them. So he offered me the mini pill. I tried it for about a month and gave up. I was still having my period side effects and on top of that, I had headaches and was super grouchy.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.