In-law problems?
No lah. Click at your own risks thoughjanet_lee88:
That old granny on TV is exactly like my grandmother...fussy, sensitive, finds fault with others on slightest thing.
The current channel 8 drama @ 9pm issit... the Precious Babes show?
Where the MIL faults the elder DIL for almost everything? :faint:
Think emotional blackmail. It's here => http://www.thinkfamily.com.sg/web/general/homepage.asp
Emotional blackmail? May i even ask why? :evil:
This is exactly the same question my DD1 ever asked me.
\"Mummy, gramma doesn't seem to like the things you do &
at times doesn't even appreciate that you cook & share with
her food so that she doesn't need to tire herself out to prepare..
Why do you still give her then? You're still nice to her and remind
us to be nice to her as well.. why? You even take care of her when
she falls ill.\"
I try not to dwell on such things anymore so i try my best to be as
diplomatic as possible without feeling the hurt when answering them
as and when they ask. It's usually a .... \"Old people have their own
way of doing things and mebbe i did it differently. Think positive ok.
If she comes out with the plate all clean, it goes to show that it
proably was cos she enjoyed the meal we shared.\"
DD2 once quipped, \"Or mebbe cos they're very hungry already, mummy..\"
Then she adds, \"But we love your cooking.. so that's what matters
right, mummy? You're the best cook ever. In fact i think you should
have your own cooking show on TV.\" My DD2... sigh.. always the
little angel.
Children have eyes, markfch... even when we don't specifically tell
them stuff. Children always observe and listen even though we think
they don't. So, i agree with what the video shared... AND THE NEXT
GENERATION LEARNS.
Have you read this? > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/magic-children -
Buds,
U really r an angel, if you can overlook, the family politics and do ur \"duty\" . Really takes a large heart to do that. :udawoman:buds:
If only i knew that b4 becoming a mom, sigh! I would have trained and trained to be the purfect me and in the end probably would not have succeeded so would never have had kids.
Children have eyes, markfch... even when we don't specifically tell
them stuff. Children always observe and listen even though we think
they don't.
Angel is a bit much for me. So paiseh now. :siam:
Nah, i try to live and let live. While i try to fathom
why i'm always ill-treated and seemed to be on her
verbal abuse favourites, i can't come to much x-cept
for the fact that she thought i stole her son from her
which after that i think again... eh.. can't be oso wat,
cos her son is still here with her regardless of the fact
the DIL is suffering the first few years. She robbed me
of what should be the first few years of a blissful
marriage by coming btwn hubs and i a lot, on top of all
the intrusions as to how we or rather how \"I\" raise the
children.
But i refuse to allow these instances to ruin my life so
i try to find happiness in any way i can. It doesn't help
that i do not get to leave the house for full time work
outside, but through the years of n-service i guess the
toughening up was kinda good for me. I dun think i can
fall deeper into the pit more than what i have already
gone through.. the life she gave me only made me even
stronger.
I suppose i'd be seen as an angel by her and FIL when i
can finally give birth to a boy for my #3. This is the sole
reason why i don't think a gender scan halfway through
the pregnancy (est.. 5-6mths) is a good idea. I'm all for
the 'surprise' factor this time round... or else i think i'd
be quite stressed.
... if it weren't a boy. :faint: -
haha! That's exactly what I said to DH. Too bad for MIL, we have three girls! But they are wonderful enough for me! :celebrate:
be quite stressed.
... if it weren't a boy. :faint:
Don't fret, buds, BABY's a life and a precious gift...boy or girl, eh? -
Actually which gender depends on the dad's chromosome mah. Nothing to do with mummies. Pity those woman of olden times who were prejudiced by ILs cos didn't give birth to male heir. :roll:
be quite stressed.
... if it weren't a boy. :faint:
Buds, now that you've ds, you are awarded the å ę»éē from ILs, so now talk also louder lor, see whether got difference in treatment or not
My ILs got 4 girls and no son. So when ds (their one and only extremely precious grandchild) came, they were so happy with my 'performance'. Appraisal that year was A+, got special PB wan ok. Buy things also give to me only. My other BILs (who are childless) just pretend not to notice. Mum also got this mindset that boys can do no wrong. *faint*
Luckily ds didn't turn out too pampered. Otherwise I will :stupid: -
Andaiz:
haha! That's exactly what I said to DH. Too bad for MIL, we have three girls! But they are wonderful enough for me! :celebrate:
You can't be more right, Andaiz sista! :celebrate:
I cannot imagine life without my two angels.. i even bought them both a
tee that said, \"Girls are better than boys!\" much to the :roll: of my ILs. :lol:Andaiz:
Yes. Definitely that wor.. :hugs:Don't fret, buds, BABY's a life and a precious gift...boy or girl, eh?
Being an old mommy now, i'm quite freaked out by horror stories of ya know..
So for me ultimately, a normal healthy baby is the ONLY thing i pray for
this #3. I cannot imagine being such an old mommy really... kinda :oops:
really... -
Your dd2 is simply wonderful. Wah, this type of DIL cannot be too bad wan. Want to matchmake or not :rotflmao: My ds not bad you know. Is very well trained since young, got piano, got swimming, got learn fractions (the one that I got from you lor), got this and that (and I cannot stop laughing already) :laugh:
Have you read this? > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/magic-children -
No prob, no prob. For the sake of having a good DIL, anything also can. Btw, this grandpa very modern thinking wan. Grandson or daughter also nevermind but at least try to have one lahwah wat a matchmaking markfch :shock:
btw is it ok with u cause ur DS is younger to the buds DD2
markfch, try telling that to a Western educated MIL who BTW is a certified nurse down under as well. :stupid: :stupid:Actually which gender depends on the dad's chromosome mah. Nothing to do with mummies. Pity those woman of olden times who were prejudiced by ILs cos didn't give birth to male heir. :roll:
After DD1 arrived (oso horror stories AFTER we told her gender - check my previous threads), she started cooking strange stuff - hoping that my pH scale would be more alkaline - and then the grandSON she hopes for would materialize...same thing for DD3!
It's nothing to do with the education of the MIL, it's every thing to do with deepseated prejudice.
Recently at CHurch she made a comment \"oh, their Sunday school class only 3 girls!?\" To which I answered in my most angelic voice \"yeah, mum....our girls are really precious hoh?\"
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.