In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      duriz

Hey duriz... sometimes I dont understand why the guys are like that :stupid:

Why cant they think even we as the mom's have some rights and some dreams about our own kids :?

Just everything can let others decide :stupid:
      I KNOW!
      He's a guy, he has his limitations, so I can empathise.
      But she is a woman.
      She has her children, her hopes and her dreams. But why trample on mine?
      I'd just gone into the ladies to let out a soft scream then wash my face.
      I still need to go home to them.
      And hug my DD very very tight.

hapydino

hi duriz

yes, i can understand, as a mum, of cuz we wan to order the special cake… wat is trivial in IL/DH’s eyes might be a big deal to us mummies…

to make u feel beta…

my DD is 1st grandchild of both sides… my MIL said no big celebration for DD’s full month as her side siblings won’t attend so she conclude since her relatives dun wan to attend, we dun need to order buffet etc but what about fil’s side of relatives?? she dun care…

not to mention she nv remember’s DD’s birthday for 3 yrs running…

this yr, we turned up at her place with DD’s birthday cake and she goes oh i forget again, sorry sorry… :x

hapydino

duriz:

I KNOW!

He's a guy, he has his limitations, so I can empathise.
          But she is a woman.
          She has her children, her hopes and her dreams. But why trample on mine?
          I'd just gone into the ladies to let out a soft scream then wash my face.I still need to go home to them.
          And hug my DD very very tight.

Dont be so sad dear... u can do it :hugs:

yeah, jia you!!!

duriz

Dear LKVM and hapydino,

Thank you both.
            It's just that this morning DD cut her upper lip when she fell.
            Two weeks ago she fell from the bed and had a baluku.
            All under MIL's care (?).
            She'd apologise profusely to me and I'd let both incidents go.
            Children learning how to walk will have many accidents, I give.
            Until that fated phone call from DH.
            $@#$%@%@^@&*

I'm sad to feel so angry.
            When I think of Mummy buds 😞

Haiz, motherhood really isn't for sissies.

duriz

hapydino:
              my DD is 1st grandchild of both sides.. my MIL said no big celebration for DD's full month as her side siblings won't attend so she conclude since her relatives dun wan to attend, we dun need to order buffet etc but what about fil's side of relatives?? she dun care..

not to mention she nv remember's DD's birthday for 3 yrs running..

this yr, we turned up at her place with DD's birthday cake and she goes oh i forget again, sorry sorry.. :x
              Sorry to hear.
              And yet you're a hapydino.
              Kudos to you :celebrate:

duriz:
                DH just called to say his mom doesn't want a big celebration but only a dinner at home among ourselves, no guests, just like dinner everyday. He also added that they are at the cake shop, can they go ahead and order the cake.

The only I said to him was:\"If you are the mother of the child, would you like to see how the cake looks like before ordering it?\"
                Don't mean to rub salt in, but how come your daughter's birthday is a normal dinner with no guests ? Are your parents attending ?

duriz

Don't mean to rub salt in, but how come your daughter's birthday is a normal dinner with no guests ? Are your parents attending ?

No problem.
                  And no.
                  Just the people living under the same roof.
                  PILs, BIL (if he's around) and the three of us.

MIL prefers to keep it simple.
                  I beg to differ.
                  I'm not thinking of a big birthday bash with 500 guests.
                  But I'm not agreeable to her idea either.

Duriz,

Your MIL funny ah…birthday dinner for just the people under the same roof. It’s not like you’re having a dinner with 5 tables.
                    Mine here is the bochap type…she wants others to remember her birthday and not the other way. When SIL invited her for daughter’s birthday party, she arrived late and wants transport to/fro. She will also have that damn buay shiok look.

auntieM

duriz:

No problem.
                      And no.
                      Just the people living under the same roof.
                      PILs, BIL (if he's around) and the three of us.

MIL prefers to keep it simple.
                      I beg to differ.
                      I'm not thinking of a big birthday bash with 500 guests.
                      But I'm not agreeable to her idea either.

If she gets it done her way, it will be more difficult to 'handle' in future..
                      Drop her strong hints can?

Hi Duriz,

I think you have every right to decide, since you are mummy.
                        This reminds me of the time when my son was born. Told me she didn’t like the name SIL gave to her daughter. I asked her if she was the one who named her 4 kids…and she said YES. So I asked her, ‘why can’t the mother name her own kid ?’

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 159 / 529

AyeeshaA
                        Ayeesha