In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      tracytmks

for those staying with MIL, since they made u so piss off do you all sometimes show angry face, tell them off or throw tantrum infront of them? what is their reaction then?

me will do that cause it really made u mad or drive you crazy :x . MIL will sure talk bad behind your back (back stepper hahaha…). yesterday both really made me then piss off. hubby paint the door and it smells right they can’t even take a fan out and blow the smell away. when i came back from work the house smell and i took a small fan out the living room and let it blow. last night when everyone slept oredi, MIL is the last person to go to bed, she can’t even know how to switch off the fan fed up right? little things oso must tell what to do when to do what very frustrating you know… that’s why is always made me so piss off, think my blood pressure shot up very high. got hypertension is because of her…

I’m pissed bcos hubby’s sister has no bloody manners…she thinks she’s some big shot, ordering hubby to run errands for her all the time. What made me FURIOUS is that, she had the nerve to call me an idiot when I have no contact with her at all. Brainless woman, always listening blindly to her ex-husband and present husband…no brain of her own.

Thinks she is so clever to marry angmoh…angmohs also got upmarket and low grade type.

Angelight

The MIL 'commanded' DH and me to come for dinner (at her place) on the SAME day as her other precious son and his family. All along, we come on different days cos I really don't like to watch her play favouritism between her 2 sons and 2 DILs.

But now that she made this request, saying that she wants my DD to mingle with her cousins (only God knows if it's true 😛 ), I am stuck between a brick and a hard wall. Any advice? Anyone with similar experience? Care to share pls?

Angelight:
            The MIL 'commanded' DH and me to come for dinner (at her place) on the SAME day as her other precious son and his family. All along, we come on different days cos I really don't like to watch her play favouritism between her 2 sons and 2 DILs.

But now that she made this request, saying that she wants my DD to mingle with her cousins (only God knows if it's true 😛 ), I am stuck between a brick and a hard wall. Any advice? Anyone with similar experience? Care to share pls?
            Do you realize that the old one always used the kids as excuse for any get together ? The one other cousin my kids have is my eldest BIL's daughter. As for any other cousins, I'm not interested...esp if those kids have a ill-mannered mother ie my hubby's idiotic sister. If she comes back to Singapore one day and MIL tells us to go back, I will demand for an apology first.

Since your MIL commanded you to be there, looks like you don't have a choice. Eat your dinner and then plonk yourself in front of the TV.

tracytmks

:x :x Should understand that working mum had a tired day after work MIL yesterday like act as if i not around like that hack care the 2 kids they fight she oso bo chap. my 2 kids in the room want to sleep have to asked her help me look after them so i can hang my working clothes. :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

asked her look after them in the room she don't even want to go inside my room she stand inside her room what is this men..... %$@#...xaxcb%$##@ 😢 :frustrated:

tracytmks:
                :x :x Should understand that working mum had a tired day after work MIL yesterday like act as if i not around like that hack care the 2 kids they fight she oso bo chap. my 2 kids in the room want to sleep have to asked her help me look after them so i can hang my working clothes. asked her look after them in the room she don't even want to go inside my room she stand inside her room what is this men..... %$@#...xaxcb%$##@ 😢 :frustrated:

This is indeed a good avenue to release frustrations. It's either the old one who gets on my nerves or her precious brainless daughter...who insisted her brother get the cheapest air tickets for the old folks to go to US to HELP her. When hubby told her couldn't make it, she put the blame on him by asking him if he is preventing parents from seeing her kids. I can't believe it...she is the one who needs help and yet so demanding :x :x

carrotz

Seems like in some cases, it’s the mil and her daughters creating the problems. His sisters also like to give him ‘assignments’ or come up with this and that ‘suggestion’ and force it down his throat (‘force’ cos they know husband would be in a difficult position and therefore can’t say no.) Yes, often involves $. Come to think of it, most of the time. One of them had asked him to fix her stuff >20 times within a year. He finally had enough(yah, very high tolerance level for all her nonsense) and put a stop to it. I’ve noticed mil and her daughters are very persistant in fulfilling their objectives, and will do whatever(eg. keep calling him, butter his ego, act the damsel, try to make him feel guilty) to get what they want from him. It’s evident that they don’t give a damn about their son’s/bro’s situation or our family. They are the ones who boast about how well they are doing("I’m thinking of investing in property overseas" said aloud for everyone’s ears/mil’s constant reminders to children) and yet when it comes to $, will squeeze what they can out of you.

The MIL and her daughter(s) will make demands. My hubby is always the one who gets targeted bcos he doesn’t know how to turn down his bossy sister…like telling him to go home bcos it was already 10pm when we were dating. She havoc all night outside…or else fetch her here and there bcos she woke up late. Latest now is telling him to sniff out the cheapest airtickets at Natas last Sunday and blaming him when he told her he wasn’t free. All the idiotic demands.

She made it seem like only she has a family and not her brothers.

• angelaA Offline
                      angela

Last Tuesday was my birthday so my husband got a chalet to celebrate for me and invited both sides of family. He thought that chalet would be big enough to have more people.

When my parents came to chalet, my FIL still quite friendly, still talked to my parents but my MIL just gave a cold shoulder. When my mum greeted her, she no responded. I was very angry but just kept quiet.

During bbq session, when my hb cooked some food for her, she could tell him that she did not like to eat. She just ate her precious daughter’s fried mee hoon. I asked my mum to cook some curry chicken, my FIL said that it was very spicy and nice but my MIL did not eat any. So what is she doing? My mum knew that she treated me badly but she should not treat my parents like that mah. My parents did not owe her anything. :x

Even when they sang birthday song and cut the cake, she also did not eat. When she saw her precious daughter came to the chalet together with her grandchildren, she would play with them and went out with them. As if my hb is not her son and my gal is not her granddaughter. Really wanted to scold her but my hb always asks me to tahan her. :x

Even my SIL also like that. They came to the chalet like the queen. We must serve them. We never expect to ask them to share the bill of the chalet or food but at least dun act like my MIL, like queen. I was busy preparing the food for the guests, then my baby gal cried for milk. Neither of them willing to feed her. No one to feed her, carry her for what. So angry that I carried my gal to my mum to feed her.

Many of my friends told me that so good can stay with MIL. What so good abt it. She did not help me to look after my gals. After the chalet, my baby gal not feeling well, me and my hb felt so guilty for not able to look after her as me worked quite late these few days and my hb not able to bring both gals home so have to leave the baby gal with my mum. If only, my MIL willing to look after my baby gal, we can look after her when we back home.

MIL not working at all, just stay at home watching tv but everyday gives u ‘black face’. Dunno what wrong with her.

tracytmks:
                        ....... should understand that working mum had a tired day after work MIL yesterday like act as if i not around like that hack care the 2 kids they fight she oso bo chap.

My mumsie has never worked a day in her life... so we never could \"really\"
                        blame her for not understanding the role of a working mom... she doesn't know the
                        workload... the politics we hafta deal with... the boss' expectations... (etc)

Has your MIL worked before?

As for the non-intervention when the children are fighting, it could be that
                        she may think as the mother, you have more right over your children to
                        scold them or attend to them since you are around... you know... in case
                        if she disciplines them, you may not be happy with how she does it?
                        tracytmks:
                        my 2 kids in the room want to sleep have to asked her help me look after them so i can hang my working clothes. :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
                        In my case, my MIL was never tasked to look after my children. Even if
                        she offered, i would not want it. Even when i was working i never asked
                        her to help me out with my children, my chores or the cooking. I settle
                        my chores after the children go to bed like airing the work clothes and
                        all the uniforms plus prepare the following day's lunch & dinner ingredients.
                        tracytmks:
                        ....... asked her look after them in the room she don't even want to go inside my room she stand inside her room what is this men..... %$@#...xaxcb%$##@ 😢 :frustrated:
                        Did you and your husband have an arrangement with her for her to be
                        in-charge of the house and the children while you both work?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 529