RI or HCI

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    333 Posts 62 Posters 288.7k Views 1 Watching

HCI is the centre for humanities studies under MOE, from the old days of promsho scholarship…so, moving over to HCI is to be expected, not only from RI/JC but also from other JC…once they are selected for humanities, they have to move

only recently SAJC started to offer scholarhsip for their own humanities program, and retain some students

• E Offline
        EthanEthan

firefly38:
        EthanEthan:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
        Intake size : 15 classes x 30 = 450

GEP class : 7 class x 30 = 210 (include in each class some mainstream high scorers, 3 or 4 or 5 per class)

the rest = mainstream pupils

DSA allocation = 50% = max 225 places; does not mean they will fill up to 225 at DSA; they may fill up to eg 150, if not enough deserving candidates, and the balance goes to S1 pool for S1 posting

DSA places are not governed by supply and demand; and there is no rule to fill up all the allocated places for DSA; and RI has 100% full discretion to decide how places to give out during DSA.

Only S1 posting is based on \"supply & demand\" in determining the lowest entry point (t-score cut off point)

Since RI have so many more classes of GEPers ( 😎 than HCI (3), so does it means that it would be more difficult to get into RI than HCI via DSA or S1 posting ?

Presumably the GEPers would have gone in via DSA route and that will limit the number of spaces available to mainstream.

Never realise that getting a space in RI is so tough leh. Really 佩服 those parents who got their kids into RI. 虎父无犬子!

how about the 虎母? any credit? :rotflmao:[/quote]
        Your kid in RI ? Then i must really call you 虎母!

51 President's Scholars

Hwa Chong has produced 51 President Scholars to date, the highest number amongst all JCs.

The President's Scholarship is awarded annually to students who, beyond academic ability and excellence in co-curricular activities, are demonstrated to be individuals who uphold a strong ethos of public service, who possess unwavering dedication to improving the lives of Singaporeans, and who have shown a soundness of character and the potential to lead.

http://www.hci.edu.sg/ContentPage.asp?TID=42

The Raffles Scholar is strong because of the educational experiences they have had as well as their diet of critical thinking and wide reading. The Rafflesian is provided with an array of electives and enrichment programmes and CCAs that can be pursued. The Rafflesian is resilient because they persist in spite of the numerous demands on their time. What goes into the making of the scholar is the insatiable thirst for knowledge and a deep sense of curiosity. These are the distinctive traits of the Rafflesian Scholar.

President's Scholars
            2011\tFong Jie Ming Nigel, Xiao Yifei, Yoong Ren Yan
            2010\tSharon Tan Xin Hui
            2009\tAlexander Joseph Woon Wei-Ming, Au Yong Kok Kong Jonathan
            2008\tDavid Chan Tar Wei , Daniel Ong Chin Hao, Lim Shin Bin
            2007\tKaan Hung Leng, Liu Chen, Wat Zhiwen Sergius
            2006\tAng Chun Hou Bertram, Hong Wenxian
            2005\tLim Ming Jing, Lee Shan Yin Audry
            2004\tHe Ruijie
            2003\tWong Shi Ming, Ronald Tong Zibang, Ervin Yeo Chin Fu
            2002\tPau Pei Yu, Siew Zhi-Xiang Kevin, Teo Shiyi
            2001\tLiu Feng-Yuan
            2000\tHe Rui Min
            1998\tGan Hwee Chun Lisa, Teo Tse Hsiang
            1997\tKoh Li Ming Gillian
            1996\tChor Han Ping Davin, Cheng Tai Heng
            1995\tChin Chuan Fei, Ho Chui Ping Tracey, Pang Sze Kim
            1994\tOng Tze Ch'in, Tan Yau Boon Barrie
            1992\tLai Chung Han
            1991\tPerry Lim Cheng Yeow, Eugenia Tan Yun Chin
            1989\tLee Seow Hiang, Lynette Shek Pei-Chi, Ng Chee Peng
            1988\tChan Chun Sing
            1987\tLow Pat Chin
            1986\tWong Ann Chai
            1985\tTan Kai Hoe
            1983\tGoh Kok Huat
            1982\tTham Chiew Kit
            1981\tChua Chwee Koh
            1980\tChew Sung Hock, Ruth Kam Ming Li, Jenson Lum Hon Fye, Keson Tan Beng Choon
            1979\tBenny H H Goh
            1978\tBenedict Cheong T B
            1977\tLee Wai Mun
            1976\tLee Tong Heng, Khoo Boo Cheong, Lim Hoon Geok
            1975\tBelinda Murugasu, Belita Ong Soon Hua, Lee Hon Sun, Tham Kui Seng
            1974\tLim Kian Guan
            1973\tChew Leng Hock, Ko Kheng Hwa
            1972\tLee Wei Ling, A Richard Lelah, Lim Hng Kiang
            1971\tChiang Shao Soong
            1970\tKhoo Teng Chye
            1969\tHsieh Tsun Yan, Lee Cheok Yew
            1968\tJ Chan Wah Teck, Mak Kum Thong, Tan Chin Nam
            1967\tC J Catherasoo, Mohd Ismail B Ibrahim
            1966\tPeter Chan Jer Hing, Su Guaning
            1965\tKoh Cher Siang, Lee Choon Huat, Tan Leng Cheo, Leong Yu Kiang, Lee Yock Suan, Mark Hong Tat Soon
            Please note: We express our sincerest apologies if any scholar's name is inadvertently left out from the above list. Corrections and queries may be sent to [email protected]
            http://www.ri.edu.sg/main/achievements/rollofhonour

anyone has the listing prior to 1965 ?

I hope I have not ignited another round of fireworks !

Chill, guys !

Daddy D

I hope I have not ignited another round of fireworks !

Chill, guys !
                  I'm cool... RI does have many scholars... not going to dispute that... kudos to them.
                  I believe RI does prep their students well for scholarship interviews.

iFirefly

Since RI have so many more classes of GEPers ( 😎 than HCI (3), so does it mean that it would be more difficult to get into RI than HCI via DSA or S1 posting ?

Presumably the GEPers would have gone in via DSA route and that will limit the number of spaces available to mainstream.

Never realise that getting a space in RI is so tough leh. Really 佩服 those parents who got their kids into RI. 虎父无犬子![/quote]

how about the 虎母? any credit? :rotflmao:[/quote]

Your kid in RI ? Then i must really call you 虎母![/quote]

hi ethan, my kid is in p6 this year and.. yes, he got a confirmed offer (CO) from RI just recently! 😄 but i am far from a tigeress lah, just a meek doe, haha! 😂

• E Offline
                      EthanEthan

firefly38:

hi ethan, my kid is in p6 this year and.. yes, he got a confirmed offer (CO) from RI just recently! 😄 but i am far from a tigeress lah, just a meek doe, haha! 😂

Congrats :rahrah:

It's way much better than striking TOTO !

Daddy D

What can Class Monitor do to the Notti boy?

Ask him go stand in the Notti Corner?
                        :lovesite:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 34