GEP Preparatory Program

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    229 Posts 61 Posters 208.4k Views 1 Watching
    • NebbermindN Offline
      Nebbermind

Fairyprincess:

Sure- not much analysis can be done on the info- I am just wondering why parents/ kids opt out for GEP...

Fanren- sure, going back to mainstream is an option as well...
      What did the parents of the child(is it a girl) who opt out say? Is the child in the 2013 p4 cohort?

arowana

For parents who come into this thread to find out more about GEP/prep courses, I can tell you that based on the information I get, going through GEP prep courses will greatly enhance the chance of your child getting into GEP. Obviously, this is not a guarantee, but it does greatly enhance your kids' chance if they can do well for the GEP prep courses.

For those parents coming in to enquire about whether their kids should join GEP if given a chance, my opinion is why not? The fact that govt give so much priority, privilege, etc and you don't want? :siao:

Gentle reminder to everyone that this is the GEP section, meaning that it is intended for parents with children who are already in or about to be in the GEP. In other words, it serves no purpose for anyone to post arguments about the fairness of the GEP program in this specific sub-Forum.

If this discussion continues in its current mode, we will be moving the thread into the Rants sub-Forum, which is probably more suited given the rather consistent combative nature of debators.

Please stick to the title of the thread by the original thread starter, which is a discussion on GEP Preparatory Programs. Even though I am personally appalled by the thought that parents would try to make their kids go through such programmes to increase their chance of being identified as "gifted", I cannot deny that such services do exist, and banning discussions would only amount to information asymmetry, which goes against our grain as an independent portal. It is better for us to understand what we are dealing with, rather to shut our eyes and make believe that the problem doesn’t exist.

Fairyprincess

Back to GEP Prep Progs- let me give you 2 different views:

1. As a GEP parent, I attended the GEP briefing in Nov 2012- I asked the question of how many GEP students eventually opt out and go back to mainstream. The Principal of one of the GEP Sch’s reply was "if your child got in due to GEP prep prog, he may face difficulty remaining in GEP"

2. I also called one GEP Prep Prog Ctr named Dr XXXXX- Dr XXXXX told me "what?! you mean your child got into GEP without any help/ enrichment- I have never heard of that before!"(I believe it is a marketing or scare tactic)

So parents- you can make your own conclusion from these comments.

Meanwhile- if more parents know of friends whose child got into GEP but opt out/ did not join- pls share how many and the reasons why…

Firefly38- why your 3 friends turn down GEP? What were their reasons?

Thank you.

CayennePepper

BeContented:
              CayennePepper:

In my ds's school, 20%-25% opted out. They had various reasons for doing so: they love the school so did not want to transfer out, they didn't feel they can cope with the programme (no tuition/enrichment), and also some parents felt that GEP will disadvantage the kids at PSLE 🙂

Maybe would be good to know in terms of absolute numbers as well? Some Schs have a much larger number who quality, some are rather small.
              During DD year, 100% took up GEP but that's cos only 1 kid clear the selection 😉

You're right, percentage can be misleading :rotflmao:
              My 20%-25% is at least 3 whom i know and can verify, but i'm hearing there're 1 or 2 more. Plus i don't know the exact number who got in, rumoured to be 12 or 13 or 14 or 15...

iFirefly

Fairyprincess:

1. As a GEP parent, I attended the GEP briefing in Nov 2012- I asked the question of how many GEP students eventually opt out and go back to mainstream. The Principal of one of the GEP Sch's reply was \"if your child got in due to GEP prep prog, he may face difficulty remaining in GEP\"

2. I also called one GEP Prep Prog Ctr named Dr XXXXX- Dr XXXXX told me \"what?! you mean your child got into GEP without any help/ enrichment- I have never heard of that before!\"(I believe it is a marketing or scare tactic)

Meanwhile- if more parents know of friends whose child got into GEP but
                opt out/ did not join- pls share how many and the reasons why...

Thank you.
                Wa, this DR XXX is quite 'mountain tortoise' hor (or act blur).. Never heard of a single kid who got into GEP without attending any GEP Prep Course.. Maybe he should come out of his 山洞 to see the real world outside..

My DS1 is one who got into GEP without attending any tuition in any subject.. And I know none of his classesmates did too (2008 have GEP Prep Course or not?)..

As for the 3 kids who turned down GEP, 2 are siblings.. Same reasons, they don't want to change school lor.. 😄

sunflower

Fairyprincess:

1. As a GEP parent, I attended the GEP briefing in Nov 2012- I asked the question of how many GEP students eventually opt out and go back to mainstream. The Principal of one of the GEP Sch's reply was \"if your child got in due to GEP prep prog, he may face difficulty remaining in GEP\"

2. I also called one GEP Prep Prog Ctr named Dr XXXXX- Dr XXXXX told me \"what?! you mean your child got into GEP without any help/ enrichment- I have never heard of that before!\"(I believe it is a marketing or scare tactic)

Just to share another point of view. A friend whose daughter is taking maths enrichment at a certain maths enrichment centre told me that many parents had requested this centre to open a GEP prep class. Heard this centre is not doing that because the founder, a Dr XXXX does not believe in preparing children for the GEP tests.

BeContented

CayennePepper:
                    BeContented:

[quote=\"CayennePepper\"]

In my ds's school, 20%-25% opted out. They had various reasons for doing so: they love the school so did not want to transfer out, they didn't feel they can cope with the programme (no tuition/enrichment), and also some parents felt that GEP will disadvantage the kids at PSLE 🙂

Maybe would be good to know in terms of absolute numbers as well? Some Schs have a much larger number who quality, some are rather small.
                    During DD year, 100% took up GEP but that's cos only 1 kid clear the selection 😉

You're right, percentage can be misleading :rotflmao:
                    My 20%-25% is at least 3 whom i know and can verify, but i'm hearing there're 1 or 2 more. Plus i don't know the exact number who got in, rumoured to be 12 or 13 or 14 or 15...[/quote]No lah. You are also talking facts. Based on the sample you experienced. 😉

KSmom8

Fairyprincess:
                      What I like to know is:

How many actual students do parents here know, who got into the GEP programme but choose to opt out??

I only heard of one case so far, and the child's parents are both teachers.

My gal started P4 GEP prog this year- we did not prepare her and she did not attend any GEP prep prog/ enrichment classes (apart from help in HCL).
                      (I am a FTWM too, so nope, do not qualify all points shared by arowana)

I come to understand from the GEP teachers in her school- that the GEP prog teaches thinking processes; stimulate and stretches the child; helps build emotional maturity of such kids. In fact, my gal's GEP head said to us parents- \"if you want your child to be drilled and fully prepared for PSLE- do NOT go into the GEP prog. Choose the GEP prog for a longer term gain for the child- which is to teach the child thinking processes and concepts that will come in handy beyond pri sch- i.e. into sec sch and beyond...\"

I remain concerned if GEP is the right route for my child- I believe in drilling and preparing well for PSLE- cos if the child does not do well, it affects the type of sec sch she can go to...I am not counting on getting in via DSA route, although GEP kids can be offered this route if they pass all the interivews/ tests etc...

What do parents here think? Pls share. Thank you.
                      For the record, my DC did not attend GEP prep course. We are not an affluent family, just plain middle class .... unfortunately. As far as I know, none of DC's GE classmates attended a GEP prep course and most are not from affluent families.

Just to share:

In my DC's 1st primary school (not a GEP centre), 3 were selected but 1 opted out. Of the 3 children, the one who opted out and remained in mainstream had the highest t-score. All 3 made it to their secondary school vide DSA, and had t-scores above the cut-off point.

Another example, DC's ex-classmate did not get selected for GEP, even though he was always within top 3 positions in class. This child also applied for DSA to secondary school (I heard he was given interview but don't know whether successful) and he is now in same secondary school. His PSLE t-score also many points above the cut off point.

No GE materials? No problem! These 2 kids still did very well. There are a lot of revision books available nowadays for the advanced learner and I believe that the primary school did a very good job drilling and preparing them fully for PSLE. They didn't need to be in GEP to apply for DSA and still ended in secondary school of their choice. 😄

I agree with your DD's GEP Head. I remember panicking in August, just less than 2 months to PSLE, because DC did not have the correct answering technique to score the marks for the PSLE type of question. I remember his GE teacher teaching the class to use the correct keyword and correct phrases in August. In spite of boredom, DC worked hard to be in tune to PSLE type questions. So, if your DD likes the GE program, it's indeed possible (in my opinion) to retune, drill and be almost fully prepared for PSLE in term 3 of P6. It was tough work for DC but I know some of his classmates breezed through effortlessly.

FireflyMom

Fairyprincess:

Meanwhile- if more parents know of friends whose child got into GEP but opt out/ did not join- pls share how many and the reasons why...

Thank you.
                        Back to thread topic. Personally, I believe the Prep classes can help one clear round1 but I do not believe that one (not talking about those who are gifted and still have prep classes) can simpy clear round2 by just attending these classes. Some things (esp in GATs), 你看得见就是看得见,看不见就是看不见。How to train or force? Having said that, my stand is : it is the parents' decision whether or not to send their kids to such classes. Much as I do not believe that the classes work, I think I'm also in no position to condemn/criticise these parents. One man's meat is another's poison. It's their money, their children. Not mine to comment. 😉

To : Fairyprincess
                        My DC2 is also in P4 GEP this year. I almost missed the dateline as my DH and I were undecided at first. My DC1 is currently doing SBGE programme in a Sec sch and she's doing well. At first, I was thinking there is really no rush in putting DC2 through all the stress at such a young age. If she's good, she'll end up like her older sibling and do SBGE programme then. We did not have to hold our DC1's hands at all. True, she struggled at Sec1 but within half a year, she was coping well with the curriculum.
                        Well, now you'll ask me how come my DC2 is in the programme? At the eleventh hour when we wanted to tell her she should remain in the mainstream, she simply said, \"Nothing you say is going to change my mind about going into the programme.\" So, there she is. Nowadays, parents don't have much say anymore 😆

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 23

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring