All Schools are GOOD Schools

942 Posts 120 Posters 219.5k Views 1 Watching
    • doodbugD Offline
      doodbug

$6000 a month? That's a holiday every month hohoho. :idea:

More than enough to send a child to international school for sec school, and child may have a saner and more fun life. Plus a ton of extra leftover to pursue interests and hobbies.

Hmm maybe only lazy mamas like me think this way.

LOLMum

i have heard of such things but didnt know the rate is soooooooooooo good. šŸ˜‰

come to think of it, it is cheating right?

some of these work are graded, so by getting some1 else to do it, it is not the work of the student. wow, maybe that is why some students managed to get into the best class but are struggling to float in there. 🤷

Strparent

This is becoming even more a WARPED society here, with freaking crezy parents like these, throwing this kind of money on 'enrichments'. There are far worthier causes they can contribute to in society.

As long as these brand schools and banding persist and becoming more emphasized, we will see more and more siao ppl joining in the kiasu bandwagon.
          we already have to bear high healthcare on our own, are we now trending towards footing high education cost as well ? sounds like passing the bucket down the chain, in a systematic manner. But if you have gullibles, ...........who to blame ? :siao:

Chenonceau

come to think of it, it is cheating right?
            It IS cheating! But the payback will come much later. This is like over carrying a baby. When a baby is small, you can still carry him... then comes a time when the baby wants to try and walk. If the parent insists on carrying that child at that time, the baby will NEVER learn to walk because the developmental window of learning to walk will come and go... and when the baby grows to 15kg and hasn't learnt to walk... well good luck to the parents because it is a VERY heavy load.

This system that tests HARD without teaching enough acclimatises children to tuition. This kind of reliance cannot be good for their character and does not build resilience and self-reliance.

This parent is in for a RUDE shock when her child gets to his 20s... Sounds like Emperor Pu Yi. Everything was done for him since young. Even in his old age, he had no idea how to wash his underwear!! He was deposed after the developmental window of self-reliance... and he never could learn. Secondary school is the developmental window of self-reliance. Every child is programmed to pull away psychologically and try his/her clumsy steps at psychological self-reliance. We must ready our children before secondary school for self-reliance because we MUST let them go.

Or else, we'll have to bear them as burdens when we are old. I would MUCH rather BE a burden than bear one. šŸ˜„ Kekekekekeke!!

Can you imagine if this parent's child becomes a scholar? We would have an admin service full of Pu Yi's!! Maybe scholarship boards should only give scholarships out to those WITHOUT tuition.

Champion

In reality, a large proportion of parents (many here in this forum) are against tuition, and wouldn't spend on it if schools...

(1) had better textbooks
              (2) marked students' work more conscientiously
              (3) gave enough skills practice
              (4) shared their resources across the nation
              (1) had better textbooks
              This is a BIG concern! :skeptical: I wrote to DD1's subject teacher (SCIENCE) and then to the HOD and this is her reply to me,\" I understand your concern regarding MPAL Science textbooks. These textbooks are approved books by MOE, basically the textbooks cover the essential concepts pupils are expected to know for each theme and topic. The intention of having less written text in the textbooks is to allow pupils to learn Science in an inquiry way, thus in class, teachers do focus a lot on hands-on activities such as experiments conducted using the workbook.\" 🤷 🤷

I have my reservation regarding this - on one hand I have DD1's one subject T who marked their work consistently and even wrote remarks on the mistakes to hight light key words but on the other hand, there is this subject T who got the class to mark each other's work during supplementary lessons :slapshead:

regarding practices, I only seen past year school exam papers being dished out to the kids 7~10 days before the exam. While probably this happens only to my DD1's school but somehow the reason given for not enough skills practice is \"Oh, we have not enough period for this & that subject!\" 🤷

4) shared their resources across the nation
              Hahaha...for this happens...something or someone must start the ball rolling šŸ˜‰

Chenonceau

In reality, a large proportion of parents (many here in this forum) are against tuition, and wouldn't spend on it if schools...

(1) had better textbooks
                (4) shared their resources across the nation

(1) had better textbooks
                This is a BIG concern! :skeptical: I wrote to DD1's subject teacher (SCIENCE) and then to the HOD and this is her reply to me,\" I understand your concern regarding MPAL Science textbooks. These textbooks are approved books by MOE, basically the textbooks cover the essential concepts pupils are expected to know for each theme and topic. The intention of having less written text in the textbooks is to allow pupils to learn Science in an inquiry way, thus in class, teachers do focus a lot on hands-on activities such as experiments conducted using the workbook.\" 🤷 🤷

I have my reservation regarding this - on one hand I have DD1's one subject T who marked their work consistently and even wrote remarks on the mistakes to hight light key words but on the other hand, there is this subject T who got the class to mark each other's work during supplementary lessons :slapshead:

regarding practices, I only seen past year school exam papers being dished out to the kids 7~10 days before the exam. While probably this happens only to my DD1's school but somehow the reason given for not enough skills practice is \"Oh, we have not enough period for this & that subject!\" 🤷

4) shared their resources across the nation
                Hahaha...for this happens...something or someone must start the ball rolling šŸ˜‰

:goodpost:

Chenonceau

Strparent:
                  This is becoming even more a WARPED society here, with freaking crezy parents like these, throwing this kind of money on 'enrichments'. There are far worthier causes they can contribute to in society.

As long as these brand schools and banding persist and becoming more emphasized, we will see more and more siao ppl joining in the kiasu bandwagon.
                  we already have to bear high healthcare on our own, are we now trending towards footing high education cost as well ? sounds like passing the bucket down the chain, in a systematic manner. But if you have gullibles, ...........who to blame ? :siao:
                  If it gets really bad, I will look for alternatives. Migration is one... another country where the syllabus is less difficult and achievements not so world class but allows my kid a fighting chance to survive by relying on himself. Learning self-reliance is far more important than mastering quantum physics at an early age.

Another option is homeschooling or international schools.

so if the school mark the work of this Sec 3 boy in a branded TOP Sec school and grade him an excellent high score, it is not fair to rest of the classmates ... because the work wasn't done by him, but by an expensive hired tutor at $200 / $250 per hour. Compared to his classmate who is honest have integrity, did everything on his own.

But then there is no way to check who actually did the work, since the work is brought back home to do. How to resolve this type of cheating case ?

REVOKE all the Pu Yi scholarship !!! :yikes:

Strparent

so if the school mark the work of this Sec 3 boy in a branded TOP Sec school and grade him a high score, it is not fair to rest of the classmates ... because the work wasn't done by him, but by an expensive hired tutor at $200 / $250 per hour. Compared to his classmate who is honest, did everything on his own.

But then there is no way to check who actually did the work, since the work is brought back home to do. How to resolve this type of cheating case ?
                      imho, it doesn't matter what others do. There's no point comparing and feeling 'cheated' by all these incidents. As long as we teach our kids morally right and simply do the best of their own natural abilities, I am contented.

as Chen said earlier, the payback will/may come later..... either way. :oops:

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

so if the school mark the work of this Sec 3 boy in a branded TOP Sec school and grade him a high score, it is not fair to rest of the classmates ... because the work wasn't done by him, but by an expensive hired tutor at $200 / $250 per hour. Compared to his classmate who is honest, did everything on his own.

REVOKE all the Pu Yi scholarship !!! :yikes:
                        Nebbermind lah!

They are only doing themselves a disservice coz when they r in the workforce, it'll be a different ballgame. Why let this bother us?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 35 / 95

Monstermummy79M
                        Monstermummy79